×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Sky Is Everywhere
     

The Sky Is Everywhere

4.6 168
by Jandy Nelson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Adrift after her sister Bailey's sudden death, Lennie finds herself torn between quiet, seductive Toby—Bailey's boyfriend who shares her grief—and Joe, the new boy in town who bursts with life and musical genius. Each offers Lennie something she desperately needs... though she knows if the two of them collide her whole world will explode.

Join Lennie

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Sky Is Everywhere 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 169 reviews.
Scarls17 More than 1 year ago
This book is breathtakingly good. Jandy Nelson's first novel is a tender, beautifully written book about grief, love, family, and self-realization. Lennie is just 17 when her beloved older sister Bailey dies abruptly and the after affects of the loss are almost catastrophic. Once a talented clarinet player, Lennie stops playing and begins to hide from everything she once knew. The sadness that comes through in the words of this book was almost overwhelming. At times I didn't think I could finish The Sky Is Everywhere because the thought of dealing with a similar loss was just too much. There is more to the story than just grief, though. Lennie has to begin dealing with being the main player in the story of her own life..something she is not used to. She becomes close to two boys and both affect her in different ways. One is a comfort to the life she remembers, when her sister was still alive, and the other breaths a new life into her and inspires her to live, love, and revisit music. This book reads like poetry and I absolutely can not wait until Jandy Nelson writes something else. A fantastic first novel and I hope other readers enjoy it as much as I did. The Sky Is Everywhere XO
Nikkayme More than 1 year ago
When Lennie's sister Bailey dies, she doesn't know how to go on. How do you live when someone so important to you is gone? Nelson took the difficult subject of grief and all the emotion that accompanies it and turned it into a story that will leave you reeling. Grief can be a difficult subject for any author to tackle, but Nelson takes the feeling of isolation, of sheer loneliness and despair and makes it palpable. Telepathically, I tell her I'm sorry. I tell her I just can't confide in her right now, tell her the three feet between us feels like three light-years to me and I don't know how to bridge it. Telepathically, she tells me back that I'm breaking her broken heart. The honesty of each and every character explodes off the page and the heartbreak will tear you in two. The grief instantly pulled me in. That's the thing that held me to Lennie, to Gram, to Big, and to Toby. It was the grief that hung over each of them like a cloud. Nelson takes this tortuous grief and transforms it into a despairing, realistic, and breathtaking story that will charm your soul and leave a mark on your heart. To my astonishment, time didn't stop with her heart.For days and days, the rain beat its fists on the roof of our house - evidence of the terrible mistake God had made. I was instantly attached to each of the characters and mourned Bailey as if she were my own sister/granddaughter/niece/girlfriend. Even without ever truly experiencing the Bailey that Lennie remembers, I felt her in each and every sentence, in each and every moment. The love story that just happens to unfold among the grief will have you clinging to life, to the life that Lennie wants, but feels she doesn't deserve. I don't believe time heals. I don't want it to. If I heal, doesn't that mean I've accepted the world without her? Toby, Bailey's boyfriend, broke my heart again and again. I wanted to reach through the pages and hold him and I understood the connection that Lennie develops with him. It's almost natural. Their love for the same girl pushes them together. On the flip side, Joe, the soulful, charming, and always smiling new boy, will make you yearn for the happiness and joy he radiates. Without ever knowing Bailey, he anchors Lennie to the world she lives in now. He is the sun on a cloudy day and his smile will warm you from the inside out. Somehow, Nelson takes a story of infinite, unending grief, and transforms it into a story of living, loving, and remembering. I read it into the wee hours of the morning and forced myself to put it down to sleep. It is absolutely addicting and unforgettable. The hilarity surprised me, yet seemed right. The notes that don the beginning of many chapters are a quirk that feels just so Lennie. My favorite being one that begins: Grief is a house where the chairs have forgotten how to hold us the mirrors how to reflect us the walls how to contain us... There are no negative thoughts that come to mind with this story and I couldn't imagine it any other way. The Sky is Everywhere is imbued with love and loss and will make you roll with laughter, cry out with despair, and smile so much it hurts. Opening line: Gram is worried about me. Favorite line(s): My sister will die over and over again for the rest of my life. Grief is forever. It doesn't go away; it becomes a part of you, step for step, breath for breath. This book is perfection and I do not say that lightly.
Aliciapaige More than 1 year ago
I don't know what to say...this book is simply amazing. I laid in my bed after finishing this book and I could not stop thinking about it! I felt the characters feelings and emotions. This book is a must read! You wouldn't be sorry.
Jesslyin More than 1 year ago
I truly learned a life lesson in this book. It's such an amazing, beautifully written book! I recommend this book to anyone who wants a romantic and life learning experience (in a book) haha :)Hope you all read it!!
AndAnythingBookish More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to read this book before it's released. This is a wonderful YA debut. While there were times when I wanted to slap Lennie for her stupid decisions, I couldn't help but grow to love her by the end of the book. I mean her sister's dead, but she's fooling around with her sister's boyfriend. As bad as that sounds, there was a reason to it. I was completely a Lennie-Joe shipper throughout this book because I liked where this relationship was going. Forget the blurb on the back of this book because it is so much more than Lennie just juggling with two boys. It talks about her mother who has gone missing for a reason she doesn't know why. Loss, grief, love, and hope--they are all present in this wonderful novel along with many surprises, wove together in a beautiful, poetic, and heartbreaking way. One aspect I really enjoyed from this book were the short poems Lennie wrote. Each time I saw them, I saw more of Lennie's world and life with her sister. If you have have a warmer heart than me, they might even be sad enough to make you shed some tears. The title for this novel and the pacing fit the book perfectly. Jandy Nelson is a wonderful author, and if her debut is this amazing, I can't wait for what she has in stores for us next. This book comes out March 2010. Everyone should think about purchasing this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I could not put it down! I highly recomend this book to teens! LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!! Worth the buy and was sohappy my friend read it to recomend it to me!!!!!!!! Read it!!!!!!!
Hazel_Bookworm More than 1 year ago
This book is Exceptional! I have read it about 8 times and still can't get enough of it. It was so powerful and very moving. I would recommend it to all teens. The book is deep and an amazing well written book. It's one of my favorite books. Thanks
Genni More than 1 year ago
To tell the truth, this is the best book I have ever read or come across. I always felt like I could relate to Lennie. This is because we are so alike. She is a bookworm, band geek, 2nd clarinet chair, and has an older sister, just like me. The whole entire story I felt like I was living it, like I was one of the people in the community that had an inside look to the truth of Lennie's life that all started to fall apart slowly once her mom just dissapeared. This book does not, at any time, feel fake. In fact, it is just like the opposite. Like you are actually Lennie, and you are going through this horrible situation she is in. Jandy Nelson does not hold back and it makes this book really shine, and it shows because of how high the rating is, how I could not put this book down, and finished it in one day never getting up off of the couch for the 3 hours it took me to read this. I must say, this is the book I have cried the most in because the emotion is so raw and real. To me, there are no flaws in this book. Nothing, and I mean nothing, is wrong with this book, I will continue to love this book like Lennie continues to love and grieve her late older sister, Bailey. The romance in this book transcends others I have read. This is an amazing book, and I highly recommend this to anyone, an only child, one with eight siblings, a seventy year old. Anyone could fall in this book. I cannot wait for Nelson's next book! This book is the best I have ever read and you should start reading it right now. I bet you will fall in love with this book just like I did.
thebookscoop More than 1 year ago
The Sky is Everywhere is one intense book! I was so caught up in what was happening to Lennie, our heroine, that I had to put the book down a few times and take a break. I was almost tempted to read the ending to put an end to all the suspense - and I never do that! Our story opens up one month after the death of Bailey, Lennie's older sister. She's still reeling from Bailey's sudden death and isolating herself from friends and family. Lennie is also trying to deal with the fact that ever since Bailey passed, she's been one huge ball of raging hormones - noticing guys when they've never even been a blip on her radar before. One guy that totally rocks her world is Parisian transplant, Joe Fontaine, musician extraordinaire. The other guy, unfortunately, is Bailey's boyfriend, Toby. Joe brightens up Lennie's life but Toby keeps her memories of Bailey alive. He gets her in a way no one else does. Lennie was such an amazing character for someone so young. What got me was her relationship with her sister. Imagine a race horse - there's a companion pony leading that race horse to the starting gate. Lennie thinks of herself as that companion pony to the star. She's trying to find her way without her sister to lead the way. Their relationship also had an effect on Lennie's musical aspirations. Lennie gave up her dream of going to Juilliard because Bailey, an aspiring actress, didn't get accepted to that prestigious school. As you can see, Bailey had a very important impact on Lennie's life. The secondary characters were interesting as well. There's Lennie's absent mother, she plays a big role in Lennie's life even though she isn't there. There's Joe and Toby. Then there's Gram and Uncle Big. Gram has a way with flowers and Big is the town Lothario. A richer cast of characters you won't find in another young adult novel. I loved everyone. Music also plays an important role in Lennie's story. She plays the clarinet, she's 2nd seat in band. She's allowed a less talented girl to get first seat. And her connection with Joe is also through music. Another thing I really loved was Lennie's writing. She writes her thoughts and poems on little scraps of paper and leaves them around town, she doesn't actually commit anything to a notebook. She lets her words loose into the world, and those words were powerful. The Sky is Everywhere is an intense and enjoyable debut novel. I highly recommend it. A
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did highly enjoy this book, mostly because of the writing itself. If you love poetry, then I would recommend this for you. At times I was caught so off guard by a sentence or a line, and I would actually sit there, rereading it, thinking about it, for several minutes. The story itself may have been a bit cliché - family member dies, main character is depressed, main character finds way to deal with depression, main character meets boy, etc., etc. - but the wording is lovely, and the emotions come through well. A satisfying read.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Lennie and Bailey are sisters, best friends, everything to each other. Their mother took off when they were just babies, which Gram has always attributed to the "restless gene" that runs in the family. When Bailey, vivacious and fiery Bailey, dies of a heart arrhythmia while rehearsing for Romeo & Juliet, Lennie is utterly lost. Without Bailey's guidance, smothering affection, and her untameable spirit, Lennie doesn't know what to do. She has always stood at the sidelines, content to catch just a few rays of Bailey's endless radiance. Though Lennie can't help but wallow in her grief, the rest of the world carries on, and ultimately, so must she. On her first day back to school she meets the most enchanting boy on earth - fabulously multi-talented musician, Joey Fontaine. Complicating the situation is Bailey's boyfriend, Toby, who turns to Lennie for comfort. In sharing their despair, seeds of attraction manifest and Lennie must struggle to sort through a tumult of emotions roaring inside her. Forced to come out of her shell, Lennie starts to see how absolutely beautiful yet wondrously confusing life can be. In her contemplation of life and death, Lennie must completely reconsider what it means to truly live. For the first time in her life, Lennie is all alone - center stage. Whether she is ready or not, it is time for her solo. Jandy Nelson's debut novel is a heart-wrenching tale of love and forgiveness that will make you laugh and cry all in the same sentence. THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE ties themes of wanderlust, betrayal, and forgiveness in a love story more complex than most young adult authors dare to concoct.
SaraBOOKblogger14 6 days ago
MAJOR SPOILERS From the author of I'll give you the sun comes a beautiful novel that will hook you and have you finishing the book in one read. The Sky is everywhere is about Lennie a music loving, poem writing, Wuthering Heights obsessing girl who loses her sister and in the process a part of her own heart. Follow Lennie as she tries her best to move past the tragedy that changed her forever while falling in love. But nothing is simple and love always has its complications. Feeling the guilt of betraying her sister Lennie must try and step out of the shadows and find herself. PLOT POINTS The story is about Lennie who loses her sister in a terrible, unavoidable tragedy. Trying to deal with the loss Lennie shuts herself away for the most part until she starts having feelings for two boys. One is the new guy in town and the other well let's just say he's totally off limits. Can she balance her feelings for both boys and chose or will she lose them both forever? At first I was a bit unsure about Lennie having a feelings for Bailey's boyfriend Toby, it felt wrong and I couldn't understand it. But as the story develops you start to realise that it isn't romantic feelings they share and they are just confused by grief and the shock of Bailey's death. I did like the relationship between Joe and Lennie however as they were very similar and worked brilliantly together. They seemed to understand each other and he was a comfort to her after Bailey. I think the reason Joe and Bailey work so well is because he didn't know her before Bailey he only knows the after like she says herself in the book. He doesn't know the Lennie who hid in the shadows or her sister. Nelson explores romance and grief in this novel. I think it shows how hard it can be moving past such a tragic loss but not impossible. Lennie will always have Bailey in her heart but is able to find a way forward which I really liked. I think at the start of the book Lennie feels guilty for the way she is acting but slowly starts to forgive herself and start getting back to her life. WHO I RECOMMEND FOR If you liked I'll give you the sun you'll love this book, it's brilliant with romance and twists and turns throughout. YA romance lovers this is a must buy for you all. CHARACTERS -Lennie is a band geek and book worm who heart is broken by a terrible loss. But can it be mended? -Grams is Lennie and Bailey's Grandmother who's looked after them since they were younger after their mother left. -Big is Lennie and Bailey's uncle known for his many relationships Big is caring and compassionate. -Toby is Bailey's boyfriend and is heartbroken by her loss. He confuses his grief with feelings for Lennie. He is the father of Baileys child (she is pregnant when she dies) -Bailey is a character we don't get to meet in the book but she is Lennie's world and she is broken without her. -Joe is the new guy in town, he plays in band and so naturally Lennie's attracted to him. Lennie is a very emotional and intelligent character. I think you can tell this from the way she leaves notes about Bailey over town, writing is her outlet and she shares everything she's feeling or thinking through these notes rather than bottling it up. She does however close herself of in the real world and struggles to explain her feelings in real life. FINAL THOUGHTS This book is a great read and is really enjoyable. I would read again and look forward to reading more of Nelson's work. It's heartfelt, humorous and gripping
bookbruin More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was perfection. It hooked me from the start and I did not want to put it down. The characters and story flowed together so effortlessly and the writing was just beautiful. Lennon (Lennie) was a wonderful MC. The pain and grief that she is experiencing is palpable and I mourned Bailey right along with her (and Toby). The use of poems and notes scattered around was so emotionally gut wrenching at times. It was such a clever and profound way to both tell the story and relay the aftermath of this terrible event. I imagined how cathartic it must be for Lennie to scream out these truths to the world without holding anything back. I loved that it brought the story full circle as well and played a crucial role in helping heal all the heartache. Even though I am not a huge fan of love triangles, this one really worked because it wasn't truly a love triangle. I could definitely understand what drove and motivated Lennie to make the decisions she did, but I can't begrudge her for seeking comfort from the one person she felt was just as crippled by the loss as she was. Everyone handles grief differently and I loved that the author showed this in a realistic and relatable way. I'm not trying to excuse what happened, but I'm trying to keep an open mind that sometimes in grief, people do crazy things without thinking about the aftermath. Lennie's actions didn't make me hate her. Instead they made her a flawed and realistic teenager navigating life, love, family, and death. What can I say about Joe? He is the stuff book boyfriends are made of. I loved him and all his swoony moments. I ached and hurt for him when things got turned upside down. I felt his frustration and confusion as the truths came spilling forward. Was he perfect? No. But he was pretty damn close. I loved him (and his brothers!) individually and also when he was with Lennie. Honestly, I couldn't get enough of him. Although this book is about first loves, it's also about the love between family and who/what makes up your tribe. It is about forgiveness and acceptance. It is about cause and effect and everything in between. Do yourself a favor and just read this beautiful book.
Lisa-LostInLiterature More than 1 year ago
I was so intimidated about reading this story. A book with this kind of hype never ceases to make me a ball of nerves. I kept putting it off and putting it off… that is until two of my bookstagram buddies wanted to buddy read it together. That was the push I desperately needed to finally dive in! I loved these characters, how much they were struggling with grief, and I completely understand and related to how they flocked to each other and held on tightly to someone that understood what they were going through. This was an emotional read, packed full to the brim with the feels. Can we all just take a minute to acknowledge the elephant in the room? Cheating. Yes, there’s cheating. I know quite a few people who refuse to even read a story that has this activity in it. I’m not one of those people… though it is tough for me to read at times. I was surprised that I hadn’t heard about the cheating in this book prior, since that seems like something people seem to focus on. So yeah, I’m just putting it out there. Overall, I did really enjoy this book. I know most people have already read (and loved!) this book, but if you haven’t yet I would surely recommend it. It’s worth the read for sure. Such a beautiful story of loss, grief, and learning to move on after such tragedy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
T_K215 More than 1 year ago
Amazing. Tragic, but amazing. Well-written and thought provoking.
Lora_Richardson More than 1 year ago
This is one of those books that will stay with me forever. Beautiful, funny, sweet. Loved it so much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having experienced the sudden tragic loss of someone so close to me it felt as tho part of my soul was lost forever I can say this book is a piece of art. I have kept it long afterreading it. It has been highlighted, pages turned down to bookmark passages. I NEVER do that! It spoke the pain of my soul, the longing, the tears. The realization that your time with them is through and u can never get it back. Don't pass this one up even if u don't understand all of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautiful character development and enthralling story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow! Wow! Wow! What a fantastic author/writer. Beautiful story that captured my heart. Not just for young adults that's for sure since I'm not young in age. Jandy I have read both of your books. Please keep up the creative, lovely, and fantastic work!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago