×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Slash
     

Slash

4.4 165
by Slash, Anthony Bozza
 

See All Formats & Editions

From one of the greatest rock guitarists of our era comes a memoir that redefines sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll.

For the first time ever, Slash tells the tale that has yet to be told from the inside: how the legendary band Guns N' Roses came together, how they wrote the music that defined an era, how they survived insane,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Slash 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 165 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Coming from a suburban honor-roll student in color guard, the world of drugs, sex, and rock is almost imaginary until I read Slash. This book was crazy, insightful, shocking, and humorous. Now, listening to the music makes me think a little bit differently.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this is a great book. I loved everything about it. I liked how Slash is very down to earth. I wasnt a HUGE guns n roses fan and i still enjoyed the book very much. Now i love their music even more now that i know they story behind some of their greatest songs. I recommend to everyone!
1000031142 More than 1 year ago
The 80's werent just about guys in spandex and multi-colored outfits, there were bands like Guns N' Roses that were the epitomy of what hard rock was. This book is great because Slash wrote it. Not some journalist who only gets half of the facts right. Slash was the lead guitarist of Guns and had seen it all. Slash first starts talking about his childhood then moves on into his teenage years all the way up until now. My favorite part of the book definately is when Slash is SUPPOSED to be detoxing at this high class resort but rather injects a bunch of coke and starts to vividly hallucinate little monsters that chase after him all around the resort while he is naked. That definately blew my mind. I would definately recommend this book to anyone who is interested in Rock Gods or Guns N' Roses. This is now one of my favorite books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yo...This book will leave you asking for a sequel. Slash has got a way with words, his story had me so interested I've read it twice already, I recommend this book for everyone.
ghostgirl77 More than 1 year ago
Really raw book, kept me from wanting to put it down. Besides me being a fan, this being my favorite band growing up in the 80's. I also bought this to book to hear first hand what ended up being the demise of such a huge band of the 80's. I thought he really shared a lot with us of his high's and lows of being in the band and being brutally honest about all of it. I would really like to hear another bandmates take on things now too.
Michelle McKibbin More than 1 year ago
slash is a great storyteller......honest,after reading this i hate Axl Rose!
mygrowler More than 1 year ago
I came out of this book with a greater respect for Slash. This felt very honest and respectful of everyone involved. Compelling and insightful.
tylerdurdenSC More than 1 year ago
I expected this book to be a very good one considering the reviews I read but it was over 400 pages of him telling you how he didn't really care about anything but music. He was on drugs, then off, on, then off and it gets very hard to read because he is so repetative. Other than that not a bad book but nothing I would read again.
spicywire More than 1 year ago
I've never been much of a reader. I am, however, a fan of remarkable talent. I read 60 pages the first night, which is quite an accomplishment for me. This book hooks the reader by allowing you to sit with Slash and simply listen to who he is and the road he's paved to become who he is today. There are moments while reading, when I amuse my family with chuckling at Slash's plain and simple, yet possibly, unintentional humor. He has traveled this hectic Night Train, nonetheless, maintains a unique respect; from the consideration for his ex-girlfriends to the compliments of other artists work. In addition, Anthony Bozza has a newly acquired fan in me. I plan to pick up Tommyland, next. I've also purchased the new album SLASH, RnFnR. The compilation of artists on each individual track creates an astounding balance of grand talent with distinctive sound.
Guns-N-Roses-4-ever More than 1 year ago
Any one who reads this is gonna want to read about Axl Rose. Warning, W.A.R which is about Axl is full of some dumb lies. Only about 2 things in it is true. Slash is the best in this book. It has inspired me to play Bass Guitar. Right now, I'm gonna head out the door to Guitar Center to check out what they got. It's that good. It might not be as good to you; I love it so much because it reminds me of my childhood. Alot. But, even so, if you don't fall in love with this book, you've got something wrong with your head. Warning: The words used in this book are not, well, good.
TCtheReader More than 1 year ago
Not knowing a lot about Slash and having lived through the rise and fall of Guns N Roses I was curious what the inside story was. Wow, this book is an eye opener into how dysfunctional and chaotic the forming and maintaining of a band can be! Slash's story telling is pretty funny so it made the book easy to read and hard to put down. If you're a fan of music and have even a casual interest in Guns N Roses you'll enjoy this book. I've read the Doors books and Fleetwood Mac's story and though they were truly dysfunctional GNR were just as messed up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading Slash's side of the rise and fall of Guns and Roses. I felt that it was well written and an interesting read. I didn't know alot of the people he was talking about and sometimes it felt like he would go on and on about all these different member of different bands when you really just wanted to know about him but all in all it was a good book. Better than the other Guns and Roses books I've read.
hiii More than 1 year ago
Slash is one of those thrilling novels that gives you an inside look into one of hard rocks most influentle guitarists, Saul Huddosn, better known as Slash. This autobiography of the famous guitarist captures his feelings throughout the book. The life story of Slash starts off with his childhood and eventually turns into the rollercoaster ride of sex, drugs, and rock 'n roll. This book, personally, made me see Slash as a completely different person. He went, in my mind, from a glamorized, guitar hero. To a man with a few skeletons in his closet. I enjoyed this book greatly, but at times the storyline got rather dry, uneventful. I suggest this book to anyone that is a Guns 'N Roses or Velvet Revolver fan. -its been fun, peace
Nadeem_Muaddi More than 1 year ago
It's unfortunate that Guns n' Roses often gets lumped into the same category as trendy hair and glam bands from the 80's like Poison and Motley Crew, because in many ways they were the last real authentic rock n' roll group. Rising from the gutters of Los Angeles to world-wide infamy and superstardom, G-N-R blazed a trail of debauchery and destruction everywhere they played. Leading that charge were Axl Rose and Slash - a musical union that was as chaotic as it was perfect. Slash is the brash and uncensored story of a living rock legend that's fortunate to be alive - a real guitar hero. His story is wild, excessive and sad. He delves into detail about his private and musical relationships, addiction to drugs and alcohol, and love of rock. Only in the bizarre world of rock n' roll could Slash's combination of naivety, raw talent and reckless determination have led to success. No way will true rock fans be able to put this book down.
reptar33 More than 1 year ago
This book was GREAT, that's all i have to say!!
mothman More than 1 year ago
Slash is one of the best books I have ever read. It is all about Slash's life since he was born. He is one of the best rock stars I've ever heard of. It tells the truth about him and Guns N' Roses. He's been on drugs since he was a young boy. His mom always said she'd rather him do drugs under her supervision than him do it in an uncontrolled environment. He got to see different walks of life because he was half black and half English. The first page is about how he has a cardioverter-defibrillator because of all the years of alcohol and drug abuse. His heart can either beat to slow or to fast and the cardioverter-defibrillator will give him a shock to his heart to even it out. He originally lived in Great Britain until he was six and him and his dad Tony moved to California to live with his mom Ola. Tony was a painter always looking for inspiration. Ola was a fashion designer that was always making new connections. She designed costumes for David Bowie. Because of his mom Slash was always around famous rock stars of the time when he was a kid. He always was around people older than him, he didn't like kids around his age he thought they weren't interesting enough. He loved the inspiration he got from being around older people. They showed him the best bands of the time.
Shaylo_KK More than 1 year ago
This book made me feel apart of the Guns N' Roses era, and I wasn't even alive then! SLASH was an intense book, it has funny, sad, and thrilling parts...I was never bored. After reading this book I have become an even bigger fan of Slash and the whole Guns N' Roses band. This book was just awesome, I cannot even describe it! I will always be able to read this book over again.....no matter what my age! I LOVED this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is so addicting! I can't set it down once I start reading it! I love how Slash actually gives the details about his life, however embarrassing or bad they were. This book is better than some of the other rock autobiography books I've read! A must have!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love both Motley Crue and Guns and Roses, but this book is better than both The Dirt and Heroin Diaries. It's more real and down to earth.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i couldnt stop reading slash book and is awsome.
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG!! Since I was a little girl watching GnR on MTv, I never thought slash could speak or really even had a face!! Haha!! Well he can speak and he does have a face behind all that black curly hair!! This autobiography was fantastic...he really got down and dirty about the lifestyle of a rock god!! To be honest, I'm surprised he still has a liver...but thats neither here nor there...All in all this biography was wonderful!! I loved it very much so!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved Slash's book. I'm a long time Guns N Roses and Velvet Revolver fan, so it was great to read the details of their history. More surprisingly, Slash seems quite open and honest about events and his feelings about them. I enjoyed every second of this book: like a previous reviewer, I actually stayed home one night because I couldn't put the book down! Great pictures, too. A very interesting book for anyone who is interested in rock: I think it would appeal even to those who are not particularly Slash fans. One final note: it is nothing short of amazing that Slash and the other Gunners are still alive and playing!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow, this book provided intimate details of the hard-living and successful Slash. Whether cringing at his explicit descriptions of 'debauchery',or admiring him for not glorifying his addictions,this book is a must read for fans of Guns& Roses and Velvet Revolver. I would have enjoyed reading more about Slash's development of his beautiful solos. Every time I hear his solo in'November Rain,' I am reminded of other great works by Beethoven, Puccini etc. How one is able to create such sublime music is beyond me. Hopefully, he will stay clean - not just for his family but for his fans (like me)who selfishly want to hear more of what his guitar has to say.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've only gotten through the fourth chapter but I love the insight that it gives you into the life of the one and only Slash. Inspiring to me...too bad there's not enough stars, I would give it 10 stars...
Guest More than 1 year ago
the book is so good that i couldn't stop reading it. the pictures are awesome.