×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Slashback (Cal Leandros Series #8)
     

Slashback (Cal Leandros Series #8)

4.8 28
by Rob Thurman
 

See All Formats & Editions

I stopped and let them circle me, first because it was intriguing and, second, because, honestly, what could they do? Only knives, but all armed, and that made them even more interesting. Interesting. Fun.

Playtime…

Taking on bloodthirsty supernatural monsters is how Caliban and Niko Leandros make a living. But years ago—before

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Slashback 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
hlnkid More than 1 year ago
I've been a fan of Rob Thurman's Cal Leandros series for several years now and just when you think a series can't improve upon itself, along comes Slashback. I fell in love with the Niko POV in the earlier book, Deathwish. I've been dying to hear it again since. This time, we not only get the Niko POV, but the POV of a 15 year old. Finally seeing that trigger that turned Niko from protective big brother to Super Ninja. As much as I enjoyed the present day part of the story, the flashback chapters were everything I've always wanted from this series. Funny. Annoying. Angsty. Smart-mouthed. Emotional. Telling. And so much more. 11 year old Cal is hilarious, complex and honest all at the same time. And the last chapter of the Niko POV flashback...is such a heartrending scene... it'll forever one of my favorites. In present day, the last quarter of the book is INTENSE. Especially when one of our beloved characters finally loses it. That entire passes is perhaps one of the best scenes in the series. New readers NEED to start this series from the beginning in order to engross yourself in the intense co-dependency of the brothers. And you have to be engrossed in that in order to completely enjoy this books. Especially Slashback. Some might be a big sidetracked by the ending and the admission by Robin, but ultimately, it works. I don't think it changes the game either...not like something else that comes into play where Cal's Auphe abilities are concerned. Nice to see Ish getting a part to play as well in this one. I can't help but love this book. Thanks, Rob, for another intensely satisfying trip into the lives of the Leandros Brothers. And thanks VERY MUCH for allowing us to dig inside of Niko's 15 year old brain to see what made him what he has become. Oh and remember, Supernatural fans? Love Sam and Dean? You have GOT to give Cal and Niko a try.
wvyernlady More than 1 year ago
I have always enjoyed the Cal Leandros’ series form Nightlife on. Slashback continues the trend and excels past the norm for Rob Thurman. It is an intense and a revealing storyline. I love getting to know the younger Cal and Niko and some of the horrors (not the least being Sofia’s children) that made them who they are today. Cal is at his snarky best and Niko is still Cal’s “parent” and sometime conscience. Niko gets a chance to emotionally react and Cal gets a chance to prove his isn’t just lazy and uneducated and that his concern for his brother tops everything even at eleven. As you might guess Goodfellow is his ‘horndog” self and monogamous! My only tiny complaint is that I wish Ishiah background was a little bit fuller. I guess that’s what future novels are for. The villain is Spring-heel Jack who was a true terror In England. Jack has a grudge against the Leandros brother and he wants to make them pay with their life. There are some interesting reveals at the end, some already known to the reader and some not. All could have interesting outcome to the future storyline, Please write faster Rob
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was funny and snarky and scary, and even a little sweet. Great job of braiding the two plots and two points-of-view. She just keeps getting better. May have replaced Madhouse as my favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the urban fantasy in reality dark/light sides of this series! Forever a huge fan of Cal & Niko!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These books just keep getting better and better. I think this one is the best of the series so far. I like that there was flash backs. It explained alot and tied in with the boys' current predicament. The Pucks little revelation at the end was surprising, not just to Niko, but to me as well.
LITERALADDICTION_MLO More than 1 year ago
Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION’s Alluring Angel – Kathy: --Actual rating 4.5 Skulls Slashback, the 8th book in Rob Thurman’s Cal Leandros series, is a gritty, good vs. evil compelling read.  The bond shared between brothers Cal and Niko is the driving force that propels this story.   Slashback finds Cal and Niko thrust into the crosshairs of a supernatural killer unlike any that they have encountered before.  How do you fight and kill something that seemingly can’t be stopped?  Sometimes you just got to take of leap of faith and when the only thing you have faith in is each other, that leap can be a deadly one.   The action in Slashback is nonstop.  And the “us against the world” mentality of the Leandros brothers, continues to tighten the brotherly  bonds.   Slashback grabs the reader’s attention from the start and doesn’t let go until the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ObsessiveWhovian More than 1 year ago
I got this book when it first came out and it's, quiet honestly, the best of the Cal books, and definitely one of the best of Rob Thurman's (I've read all her books).  I love it so much. It takes place as much in the past as it does in the present. We get to see a young Cal and Niko. And young Cal is so incredibly cute and adorable. Niko is still his over protective self. The end of the book has a bit of a twist told by Goodfellow. Still not really sure how I feel about that... But still one of the best books I've read in a long time. I can't wait for the next one to come out. I love all the characters so much. Though this book was lacking Grimm. I'm sure we'll be seeing him in the next book or 2. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
territoo More than 1 year ago
I love the world of Cal and Niko and have enjoyed each and every novel in the series. I have to say the Thurman outdid herself on this one1 I read it from beginning to end in one day. I simply could not put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rob Thurman has done it again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Holy cow! Such an intense read, you who have read the previous books will be completely enthralled. If you thought you couldn't love Niko & Cal any more, you were very wrong. I will say that I hadn't liked the book previous to this as much as the others because I was in denial about there being a bad guy of that caliber that we were just meeting. I didn't want to think that our boys had to deal with something like Grimm. I squealed so loudly when I read that there was another book in the series that my mum came upstairs cuz she thought something was wrong! This book had me laughing, crying, cursing-in-my-head, and angrily biting my pillow to keep from yelling. I loved the way the chapters were connected. I tried to guess where the tie-in was going for about a split second before I turned the page. I literally did not put this book down long enough to forget what page I was on, or even for my head to readjust to reality before I was back to yelling encourgements to the characters. Bravo, Rob, on yet another wonderfully gritty thrill-ride of a novel. And a warning to those who are sensitive, there is definitely harsh language in this series, as well as subjects that may not be appropriate for youngsters. Such as explosions, butt-whooping on both sides, and Pucks! Blood & guts & gore, oh my!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IceprincessofNC More than 1 year ago
Awesome series. When I first discovered it, I had plenty to read because I found it with about 5 books already released in the series. Waited on bated breath for each release thereafter. Never disappoints. Highly entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another excellent offering from Rob Thurman.
Bubwolf More than 1 year ago
A wonderful read.
042409 More than 1 year ago
Rob Thurman just one-upped her self with this book and it is by far the best one. From the flash backs to the new revelations you get to really see and understand why these two love each other the way that they only can. A MUST READ!!!!! and if they decide to turn this into a movie i hope Stephen King or the director of twilight does it because all others will destroy the series. I cant wait for the next one already finished this one -_-
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TamiWS More than 1 year ago
Could not wait for this to hit stores. Didn't disapoint. Just as great as the ones before and cannot wait for the next. Have read the Cal and Niko and Trickster series as well as The All Seeing Eye. Loved them all.