×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Small as an Elephant
     

Small as an Elephant

4.7 35
by Jennifer Richard Jacobson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ever since Jack can remember, his mom has been unpredictable, sometimes loving and fun, other times "spinning," caught in a whirlwind of energy. But he never thought he'd be left alone in a campground in Acadia National Park. Any other kid would report his mom gone, but Jack knows by now that he needs to figure things out for himself — starting with how to get

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Small as an Elephant 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a sad book about a boy whose mother left him at a campground because of an argument they had. The boy sets out to find his mother and.....an elephant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so great!!! Totally recomended!!! It reminded me so much of the book the dogs of winter. Both are great books and anybody should read them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I justbstarted this book and i cannot put it down. I tell myself im gonna read a few pages and end up reading fifty!! I highly reccomend this book! :)
Heidi_G More than 1 year ago
Eleven-year-old Jack is left alone in a tent in Acadia National Park, Maine by his mother, who struggles with mental health issues. For years, Jack has protected her, not wanting to be turned over to state authorities and then to his grandmother. He realizes this is yet another time when his mother is "spinning" and vows to either find her or make his way home to Jamaica Plains, Massachusetts. He has been fascinated with elephants for years; he steals a small plastic elephant which reminds him of the stories and facts his mother has told him about the creatures. A live elephant in Maine figures into the story as well. The author writes in such a way that the reader will be afraid for Jack, afraid of the dangers of traveling by himself, afraid of being taken from his mother again, afraid that he and his mother might go to jail. We root for Jack over and over, to find his mom and the elephant, to not get caught by the police, to have his broken finger heal. This is a delightful book which might serve as a springboard to other books about teens on their own (sometimes called survival stories), such as books by Will Hobbs and Gary Paulsen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very fun-filled book that you will never know what will happen next. It is a daring adventure of a boy just trying to find his mom when she ran away while camping!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book, and to be honest, it was amazing! It is about an 11-year-old boy named Jack who is obsessed with elephants. Jack and his mom have traveled all the way up to Maine from their hometown in Massachusetts. When Jack wakes up in his tent the next morning, all traces of his mom are gone. Her car is gone, her tent is gone, the pots she left on the picnic table are gone. Now Jack must try to find his mother, while hiding from the police who are frantically looking for him. I found this book appropiate for teenagers, since I am one myself. I learned that when your parent goes missing, you can't start wandering and not tell and adult, unless you would like to work on your survival skills (haha). I would recommend this book to anyone who wants an adventure book, along with some elephant facts:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the favorites at my school and i can hardly get my hands on it! Good thing i can just buy it!!,!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome
kalyb More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome, that is why i gave it five stars. Basiccally its about a boy jack who goes on a camping trip with his mom in Maine, and it was all good until the second day in which Jacks mom left him with nothing but his tent, little spending money and a little plastic toy elephant to keep him company. It is now up to Jack to find his mom through the cities and the only way he can make money for food and water is by recycling bottles for only five cents each. Also he sleeps in the wood which is a danger for him because one night a raccoon came and stole his backpack. But anyway I loved this book but I would recommend it only for kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome book. I cried at the end. Such a great author. I recommend this for ages 10+. This is a MUST read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book! Its so touching if you want an fast-paced, sweet novel pick this book up and read it right now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By yo mama
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Middle of this book o m g this book is so good
Zadunajsky More than 1 year ago
I found the book interesting. The boys love for an elephant and also wanting to find his mom kept me wanting to read to the end. It's great young adult book; one I would recommend to others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love how you can just picture ot in ypur mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Elephant
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stuff is good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kool book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great book i love it:)
MrsO More than 1 year ago
I am not a teen...I'm a grandma who came upon this book at a thrift store and I thought it sounded interesting. Not only was the story a very good one, but I learned lots of facts about elephants that I never knew. Was hoping from page one that this young boy would place his trust in someone on his journey, and I was glad that he had the small elephant to be by his side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book should be in a series called big as a mouse!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago