×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Small Favor (Dresden Files Series #10)
     

Small Favor (Dresden Files Series #10)

4.7 472
by Jim Butcher
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE New York Times Bestseller

Harry Dresden?s life finally seems to be calming down?until a shadow from the past returns. Mab, monarch of the Sidhe Winter Court, calls in an old favor from Harry?one small favor that will trap him between a nightmarish foe and an equally deadly ally, and that will strain his skills?and loyalties?to their very limits.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Small Favor (Dresden Files Series #10) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 471 reviews.
brjunkie More than 1 year ago
Jim Butcher creates an atmosphere of Armageddon, in my new favorite book of The Dresden Files series. Mab calls in one of her favors that Harry owes the Sidhe, Queen of Air and Darkness. Harry can not refuse Mab on this one, because of the SI crime scene investigation of a building torn by ritual magic. And not just any magic, but Very Powerful ritual magic. Together, Harry and Murphy are drawn into an investigation for the missing person/Baron/criminal, Marcone. Taxied by Thomas, and with the aid of the Knights Michael and Sanya, Harry gets in way over his head, (as usual), when he must battle the Denarians, Summer's gruff brothers, and himself, (with two black eyes and a broken nose), all while trying to save the kidnapped Marcone and tortured Ivy. With the overwhelming fear of the Denarians' possession of the Archive, more is revealed about Ivy, her role, her childhood, and her parentage. Also, Nicodemus' conversations clues Harry in finding who is behind the Black Council. Harry will barter everything he has, including the sword Fidelacchius and their advantage in their collection of the silver coins, in order to try and stop the long term, destructive plans of Nicodemus. Harry shifts his romantic eye away from Murphy and onto Luccio, which I do not care for at all. Table conversations with Luccio will show a secret that Dresden is hiding from the White Council about Bob. With the realization that the war between the Knights and Denarians can finally come to an end soon, Michael sees that he can simply be a father and husband to his family. Or, will a life altering accident allow the possible archangel to continue to be a Knight wielding Amoracchius? Can Harry repay the favor to Uriel, whom his godmother has warned him about?
Guest More than 1 year ago
From demons to faeries, this book will keep you riveted from beginning to end. A witty main character, excellent plot, and nefarious villains make this book one of the best fantasy books I've ever read. I highly recommend it but beware this book will keep you reading from dark until dawn.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well I love me some Laurell K. Hamilton, Old Anne Rice, Charlaine Harris, and ALL of Jim Butcher's books! But this one has got it all! I love the characters! Harry is hilarious and still interesting after all this time.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think Mr Butcher is a genius! I love the creativity he expresses and describes, filling out and adding to the childhood fairytale creatures and folk lore I have grown up loving! The way he makes yu think that you may not have imagined those folk tales and fairy tales to the fullest extent you could have when you read them as a child. I almost believe that if I wanted to I could meet a Wizard, and become a part of a truley magical world that exists next to the mundane world I live in!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hhdl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read read all Dresden files to bad there are not any more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AVoraciousReadr More than 1 year ago
Harry is still a family favorite. This is an audio review. *Book source ~ Purchased at Audible Wizard Harry Dresden is out doing work for his other job, as a private detective, when he gets stuck in one helluva snow storm. To much snow, too fast and before he knows it Queen Mab, Faerie Queen of the Winter Court, is standing before him with a demand he make good on one of the favors he owes her. Mobster extraordinaire, Gentleman Johnny Marcone is missing and Mab wants Harry to find and protect him. Ok, find a mob boss. Harry’s an excellent PI. How hard could this be? Oh, Harry. Seriously? Guest reviewers: A ~ my 16-yr-old daughter T ~ my 15-yr-old son K ~ my 13-yr-old son Yep, still loving the series. Humor, magic, mystery, great characters; what’s not to love? As always the big finale is hit with everyone though one of our favorite characters gets seriously injured. The plot is twisty and tricky and involves the Courts of Faerie. The hated Denarians are back and causing trouble, too. Man, we really hate them.  But that means the Knights of the Cross are in this book. Yay for Michael and Sanya! Along with Thomas, Murphy, Marcone and Mouse there are some more favorites back: Kincaid, The Archive, Ms. Gard, Hendricks and Capt. Luccio. New baddies are some denizens of the Summer Court, the Billy Goats Gruff. Yowzers. Add in a battle, helicopter, Ride of the Valkyries, weapons, magic and a cool island and you pretty much have all the excitement you can handle. T does want it recorded for all time that he no longer likes Murphy due to a decision she made at the end that I will not reveal so as not to spoil. A & K don’t agree and still like Murphy. T also said he didn’t like what Harry was saying at the end of the book until the janitor walked into the chapel.  Favorite quotes: “’Likest thou jelly within thy doughnut?’ ‘Nay, but prithee, with sprinkles ‘pon it instead,’ I said solemnly, ‘ and frosting of white.’” “’You rush a miracle worker, you get lousy miracles!’” “’Ha-ha! Ah-hahahahaha! I am wizard; hear me roar!’” “’Tiny,’ Sanya rumbled to Michael, clenching a demonstrative fist. ‘But fierce.’” ~ talking about Murphy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U-265 More than 1 year ago
I want to give an in-depth review. But I find I keep giving away the best parts. So to avoid Spoilers I erased all my reviews of The Dresden Files and have put this type of lame and vague review up instead. Read the series. If you enjoy a quirky Magic User, You will love The Dresden Files.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago