×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Smooth Talking Stranger
  • Alternative view 1 of Smooth Talking Stranger
  • Alternative view 2 of Smooth Talking Stranger
     

Smooth Talking Stranger

4.4 360
by Lisa Kleypas
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jack Travis leads the uncomplicated life of a millionaire Texas playboy. He makes no commitments, he loves many women, he lives for pleasure. But no one has ever truly touched his heart or soul. Until one day, a woman appears on his doorstep with fury on her face and a baby in her arms. It seems Jack is the father and this woman is the baby's aunt. The real mother has

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Smooth Talking Stranger 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 360 reviews.
poosie More than 1 year ago
Ella has been so determined to be her own woman and not live her life according to what man and society dictates. When her toxic mother disrupts her plans, Ella has to come to terms with hurdles, one of which is to get her unexpected newborn nephew or he goes to foster care. Within moments, she's handed the second, don't come home with a baby. Where is her sister? Ella has accepted some beliefs that are more about what she doesn't want than what she does. Well worth your time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved Jack and the way he takes care of Ella. It is really touching and the love scenes a bonus. I will recomended to everybody, because make you believe in good people (especially rich people.)
Carly73 More than 1 year ago
What a great read! This was my favorite book out of the other 2. I have to say, that the cover did not appeal to me. But finally picked it up and read a little bit of it and was hooked. I love that Lisa doesn't repeat!!!!!! She describes the characters ONCE and moves on with the story. Love Jack.....I wish there was more of him. Who doesn't love to read about a millionaire hunk? Lisa, we need more of Jack!!!!!!!another book perhaps. Totally loved this book!!!! Hope Lisa will write more books like this one......
marshaK More than 1 year ago
the emotions I felt as I read this book. After reading Blue Eyed Devil, I eagerly looked forward to the story of Jack. I knew it would have to really reach high to meet my expectations, and it certainly did. What I love so much about Lisa's characters are the true to life dysfunctions that many families experience. She doesn't paint them as perfect - more like imperfect just searching for something that makes meaning. Ella is probably one of the best heroine/protagonist I have come alone in a long time. Smart, independent but insecure on the inside due to family pain and a mother who was there, but not there. So many of us could relate to that parental situation in some way. As for Jack - all I can say is that I was literally wishing he would jump off the pages and just smile at me. Wouldn't any of us just love to meet a Jack? This was by far my favorite of the trio so far. It just "zinged" for me on so many levels. And what I love about her stories is there are no implausible plots with so many avenues in different directions. Just normal people trying to find their way and while the wealthy quality is something out of my realm, it certainly is nice to dream. On a rather funny note, I did have a few moments where I just wanted to reach inside and smack Tara. I don't want to read more about her....I could never like her now - but it's hard to not want her to 'wake up and smell the coffee."
gina-bookjunkie More than 1 year ago
Ella and Jack were the perfect couple who didn't fall into the usual "romance-novel" scenario. Ella knew something was missing in her world and Jack knew it was him. I loved how Jack just took over and forced his hand. Ella was caught up and too late to turn back, she realized she was where she needed to be. This addition to the Travis family was a great story of not just romantic love but also that deep, soul binding love that allows you to conquer all. And I loved getting to see Liberty and Gage and Haven and Hardy again. These characters never loss their shine. Kudos to LK.
tko122885 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book!! I have read the complete series. I liked this book and "Blue Eyed Devil" better than "Sugar Daddy". Should read the other 2 books first for this one to make more sense. Hope she is going to write a book for "Joe" I loved the characters and the plot line. I have turned my niece unto these books. She loved them also. Have recommend the series to friends.
lwilkie More than 1 year ago
Lisa Kleypas is awesome! I love her characters and loved this book! She puts REAL emotions to her characters and you can totally relate to them and what they are going through. Not some sureal emotional abilites that no true human person would have. Jack Travis in this book is to die for and his romantic side has you sizzling! Ella is strong and is a great match for Jack. This book is going to be one you can't put down. It's a great read!
TheodosiaIngrid More than 1 year ago
Smooth Talking Stranger is a winner. The chemistry between Jack and Ella is moving: I just love Jack; he's so smooth. The love these two show the abandoned baby is delightful. The story is real, and the plot is great. I also liked the use of first person point-of-view. Yes, this novel warms the heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book ... loved Jack and Ella, and Luke.  I wish Lisa Kleypas would write more contemporary and less historical romances.  She is a very talented writer.
violetta6 More than 1 year ago
This was my first Lisa Kleypas read and I was not only pleasantly surprised, but impressed. She's a great story-teller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glad I randomly picked up this book. I love the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If your looking for a great read this is it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it sooo much! Such an adorable story! This book has lots of the reasons I read romance novels! I agree the cover is weird, but the book is awesome! Love Love the hero! I want one! Buy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of her best books. Loved Jack!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED THE SERIES! BUT, Lisa can you PLEASE write Joe's story...I miss the family and all the wonderful, vivid characters! VERY heartbroken that you haven't come out with the last brother's story! Faithfully awaiting....one of your biggest fan's! MML
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I randomly picked this up at the library after reading some of Kleypas's historical romantic fiction. I'm not a fan of Texas or the cover but I read it anyway. I'm glad I did! I really enjoyed this book. It was interesting and not mundane and as predictable as romance novels can be. I was quite taken with Jack. I went right out and read the two other books in this series. I enjoyed this book so much that I have actually ordered it which is saying a lot since most of the fiction I read, I read once and am done. This is definitely a book for your collection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Lisa Kleypas and I have already ordered the next one. I can't wait to get it!!
celestedillongordon More than 1 year ago
I love Lisa Kleypas. This 3rd book in the series is amazing. Nothing like an alpha male to throw you off your game. If I met Jack I wound't be able to breathe around him and Ella gives up a good fight. Lisa's writing is sexy, romantic, sizzling, touching and so well-written. I have the series in hardback but got this for my Nook to read again and again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it well enough to go find the books leading up to it. It was a book I enjoyed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very nice story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great reading
Wildfall More than 1 year ago
I really love this book. I actually read it before and I loved it so much I bought it. It is really good and easy to read since it just flows together. You probably know the expression "how time flies" but with this book its really true. For the people who haven't read it, if you like a book with a strong female character, kind, compassionate, and willing to take over to get what she wants and help others then this is probably a good romance novel for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this series, and this was the best by far! Lisa Kleypas NEVER disappoints.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
could not put it down.
MaryTerryMZ More than 1 year ago
You think you know Jack when the book opens, but he's so much more than it appears on the surface. He opens his heart; she learns to commit and what it means to allow yourself to depend on someone else.