×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Snowman
     

The Snowman

3.8 320
by Jo Nesbo
 

See All Formats & Editions

Inspector Harry Hole tracks a Norwegian serial killer in this installment of Jo Nesbø’s New York Times bestselling series. Look out for the latest Harry Hole novel, The Thirst, coming May 9, 2017.

One night, after the first snowfall of the year, a boy named Jonas wakes up and discovers that his mother has disappeared. Only one

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Snowman 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 318 reviews.
TiBookChatter More than 1 year ago
This book was fantastic! I am loving Scandinavian crime fiction and Nesbø is a master storyteller. There's just something about the texture and mood of his writing that appeals to me. The story begins in Oslo with a young boy waking up to the first snow of the season. His mother is missing, and in her place is a snowman, wearing her scarf. As Harry is called in to investigate, another woman is reported missing and the pattern is repeated. Each time, the snowman becoming more gruesome than the last. Harry is an interesting character and constantly evolving. His personal life is always stressed in some way and he's always teetering on the edge of destruction. Sometimes he's on the wagon (recovering alcoholic) and other times he caves to his weaknesses, but this is what I love about Harry. Professionally, there is never anyone else more suited to the job, yet you wonder if he will ever pull it together and as a reader, you cheer him on and hope for the best. I can't think of any other time when I've cheered a detective on. I got my coworker to read it and he's come in here three times to tell me who the killer is, and each time he's been wrong! Nesbø is so good at what he does. If you've never read Scandinavian crime fiction, give this series a try. The only challenge is that some of the books are not currently available in the US. That's why Jill and I had to read them out-of-order, but The Book Depository has a few of them (they ship for free) and you might be able to get some of them from other sources. I am hoping that once the entire series has been released someone will publish them as a complete set. It sounds like a hassle to seek these books out but you won't be sorry if you do.
TEST NOOKUSER More than 1 year ago
Jo Nesbo writes great thrillers. I highly recommend them to anyone who enjoyed The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. In fact I would say that the characters he creates are far more compelling than Stieg Larsson's. If you don't like the price, don't buy the book and don't give a poor review because of pricing.
ezabeta More than 1 year ago
How is 12.99 not considered cheaper than the hardcover price of over 25? And publishers set pricing, bookstores merely play along to make sure they have the book to offer you in the first place. Lastly: do not RATE the books poorly because you are unhappy with the pricing. Rate them by their merit as reading material. Last year I spent $24 on a Nesbo paperback because I knew it was worth the cost of importing from Canada.
Lynie More than 1 year ago
One of the finest Scandinavian policemen, Harry Hole, is back is this new release from Nesbo. During the first snow of the season in Oslo, a young boy wakes up to find his mother has disappeared. Outside of his window there is a new snowman wearing his mother's scarf. Harry Hole and Katrine Bratt are investigating the disappearance when another woman goes missing during a new snowfall, and again, a snowman suddenly appears. But this time, the killer has added part of the woman's body to his icy sculpture. Harry received a strange letter months earlier that made reference to snowmen and a serial killer from early in his career. He realizes that the anonymous letter is connected to these new murders but he doesn't yet know what the connection is. As the investigation and murders continue, it's apparent that the killer is taunting Harry personally. With his bosses and the press breathing down his neck, the race is on to find the killer. Nesbo continues to paint Hole as an intelligent and intuitive investigator, but at the same time a lonely and damaged man. Harry still struggles with his drinking problem and his relationship with Rakel is all but over. She has moved on, but Harry is having trouble letting go, in part because of the sexual tension between them. Darker than Nesbo's previous novels, THE SNOWMAN is a stunning and complex mystery that deserves to go to the top of your reading list. P.S.: I wish people would stop leaving low ratings because of price. It's so unfair to the authors who write these great books for us. Lynn Kimmerle
TEST NOOKUSER More than 1 year ago
Great book. Nesbo is fantastic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great and absorbing read. I was able to live with the gore because the telling was so grear.
GreenEyedReader More than 1 year ago
An avid reader,I was drawn to this novel after reading the Steig Larsen trilogy. It proved to be better than I expected! I did like the Larsen trio but The Snowman was better. It is better absorbed, maybe more easily read; less characters and locations to follow. It's gripping-had me reading well into the night- and had me guessing who the "culprit" was throughout(I didn't guess correctly!) .I have suggested this to several people who have read the Larson series and am waiting for their reviews. I am definitely looking at the other novels by Nesbo.
Erin Wojciechowski More than 1 year ago
I do not spook easily when it comes to scary books...but this book paints a thrilling picture that would keep me up at night. Lost sleep because I did not want to put it down.
oSOURCE More than 1 year ago
Jo Nesbo has definitely found a place in my library, however the book was a little too long for me. I would not have minded if it had been just one long mystery, but in this book they found the killer way to many times.
LDVV More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy a complex psychological mystery that is eerie with great character development, this is for you. My first Jo Nesbo book. Now I know why so many recommended it to me.
marc-medios More than 1 year ago
Dragged a bit. Would buy it again though
legacy5 More than 1 year ago
This was a pretty good book. I am a mystery lover and there haven't been too many mysteries released lately that have held my interest. I'm interested in reading more of Jo Nesbo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whens the next part coming out
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RaeLM More than 1 year ago
Jo Nesbo has done it again! Harry Hole is back at solving crimes while nursing a broken heart. The plot is super and the details give a clear picture of what is happening while Harry is trying to solve a murder(s). Go, go Jo Nesbo!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's not often that you come across a novel so well done in so many respects. Believable, fully realized characters, intricate plotting and a truly riveting climax. A deeply satisfying read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading this book, I bought about five more Nesbo books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jo Nesbo in general writes convincing stuff. I've read a few of his books in this series with inspector Hole and haven't gotten bored yet. The character's are likable and the his stories are believable. There is a little suspension of disbelief that you have to accept just like most books of this type but it's not so bad you roll your eyes and think he went too far with it. Overall his writing is pretty tight and has a contemporary feel. I hope this helps you in your decision to read this book or not.
buttons0 More than 1 year ago
This book was great !!! Page turner big time! Could not put down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once you start reading Nesbo you'll never be able to stop!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of twists and turns
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great writer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed listening to this during my commute to and from work. I liked the unexpected twists & turns in this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic read! Keeps you guessing until the last chapter. Literally couldn't put this book down. In the very beginning I was a little confused because it jumps around a bit, but once the story unfolds you're hooked! I didn't mind that the author went into so much specific detail as some of the other reviewer have, but I just got done reading Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. The books have a very slight resemblance to one another. Terrific book, can't wait to ready more!
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
The Harry Hole series presents the reader with somewhat of an anomaly. On the one hand, we are informed that Norway is virtually free from serial killers. On the other hand, Hole is reputed to be the only detective in the nation with experience in catching serial killers, having accomplished his experience in Australia and also attending an FBI course. And then, serial killers tend to appear in the Harry Hole novels, including this one. The first of several missing persons is a married mother, and the only clue is a snowman outside her home. Shortly before her disappearance, Hole received a mysterious letter which, in retrospect, leads him to believe there was a link between it and the woman's vanishing. In reviewing unsolved cases, Harry and his team find an alarming number of wives and mothers have gone missing over some years. Once again, Jo Nesbo has written a taut thriller, one that is forceful and gripping and, this time, full of madness. His novels just keep on getting better and better. Fast-paced and staggering, always keeping the reader looking ahead to the next shift, keeping one off balance with wonder. Highly recommended.