×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Soldier
     

Soldier

4.0 355
by Grace Burrowes
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times and USA Today Bestseller!

Be among the first to discover rising star Grace Burrowes, whose searing debut, The Heir, captured awards, rave reviews, and a crusade of fans who can't stop talking about it.

Even in the quiet countryside he can find no peace...

His idyllic estate is falling

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Soldier 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 355 reviews.
LASR_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Redemption, in its most loving form, works its magic for Devlin St. Just, new Earl of Rosecroft in Yorkshire, as well as for Emmaline Farnum, even though they both think they are beyond it. Getting to share this emotional experience with them is a special treat for the reader. Grace Burrowes creates another enthralling tale just as captivating as The Heir. Emmaline (Emmie) Farnum saw her mother and aunt used by men but does not plan for it to happen to her. The old Earl, grandfather of the despicable (now dead) Helmsley had protected Emmie as best he could. He gave her a house away from Rosecroft so she would not be easy prey for the grandson. She now makes her way by baking for the town's people who do not really know her, yet think they do. She is considered a base-born woman but her beauty, intelligence, independence, education, and strength make many of the town's women envy her. They whisper that they are sure she is "no better than she has to be" just like her mother and aunt. They feel she should bow her head in shame over who she is but she doesn't. Emmie, a good judge of character, especially male character, recognizes the barbarian element under the smooth sophistication of the new Earl of Rosecroft. She also sees his wounded spirit and the strong defenses he has erected to keep people at bay. She finds he carries old hurts from childhood and horrors of war that set him apart from others-even from his family that loves him unconditionally. Emmie, just like Devlin, guards herself against others. She holds her secrets tightly, making sure they cannot hurt little five-year-old Bronwyn (Winnie), her only kin. Winnie, the illegitimate daughter of the despicable Helmsley, considers Emmie her best friend but runs away at times and roams the estate alone since the death of Emmie's aunt and Helmsley. Emmie takes care of Winnie as best she can but has no authority over her. Devlin St. Just, now Earl of Rosecroft, arrives in Yorkshire to find his "gift" from the king is a rundown earldom that had been used and abused. Devlin's post traumatic stress syndrome from his years at war makes his temper flare easily and his nightmares drive him to the edge. The 'do-nothing' steward at Rosecroft sets Devlin's nerves on edge. His rage boils when the steward says the child who acts like a little feral kitten: all, claws, teeth, and hissing anger, is Helmsley's illegitimate child and is now Devlin's responsibility. He remembers his own mother who abandoned him when he was five. Granted she left him in the care of his father, Duke of Moreland and his Duchess that loved Devlin just as much if not more than all the other children. Yet, he had always felt flawed because his own mother did not want him. He grew up the protector of his siblings and went to war to protect his country and its people, but he found no peace for himself. Devlin connects with the insecure little Winnie and works gently to tame her. Like most kittens, she responses well to cuddling and comfort. Read the full review at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Review by Desere: When it comes to Historical Romance books I read, I tend to go for the authors that I are my favorites and trying a new authors is something I need to talk my mind into. But after reading The Heir by Grace Burrows there is for me no turning back I would pick up a copy of any of her books in a heartbeat. That is why even before reading her second book The Soldier I already knew I would not be disappointed and I was so right! In The Soldier we meet a man who is torn by the fact that his estate is falling apart from neglect but worse his life is in a downward spiral because of his nightmares stemming from war. In real life I myself deal with soldiers who suffer the same fate and often I have seen that the love of a good woman can guide the soldier home in more ways then one and help them overcome their situation. In this book, Grace Burrowes takes you through the trials and tribulations of two people who need each other just as much as the next couple would, but even more so due to the secrets that each one of them hides from the world outside. That is why reading and seeing the relationship evolve between Devlin and Emmie is just so much fun and such a entertaining read! In The Soldier you step into a world of passion, intrigue, secrets and pure undulated romance with a kick! True strength of love shines through and with Grace 's delicious, sensual style of writing in this powerful story it only means one thing to me, I want more and I cannot wait for the next work of art to fall from Grace!
Larimar Little More than 1 year ago
The story of Devlin St. Just breaks my heart and then heals it. This is the second time I've read this novel and I still can't put it down. As for the writing style itself-beware! It's not your usual "sexy romance" as its tone is blunt and it doesn't just skim over the, er, messier aspects of the more, ah, heated encounters.
TomCorc More than 1 year ago
You have to like the lead characters here and the way they come together. I liked both the PTSD-afflicted leading man and the caring and empathetic leading lady. That he seemed remarkably in touch with his sensitive side for that era and that she is a bit over-the top on self-sacrifice doesn't detract all that much from a good story that develops well. The wild child was a puzzling mix of rebellion and wisdom but pretty good too. I was particularly happy to see that the Parson,her other suitor, was allowed to develop as a pretty nice guy. Too often guys who don't get the girl are clods or villains. If I had one complaint, and it is minor, it is that at times I found myself saying "Oh, for Pete's sake, get over it and marry the guy!" as the leading lady hemmed and hawed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to say this is one of the best books I've read in a long time. The emotions of Emmie and Devlin being selfless in their love always protecting what they believe will be the best course for their loved ones.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best love stories I've read in a long time...amazing that it's only the author's 2nd novel. Highly rec.
Lizzlett More than 1 year ago
Even better then her first book if that is possible. Who cannot resist an emotionally wounded soldier suffering from eight years of fighting Napoleon, being abandoned by his mother at the age of five and grieving over the deaths of his brothers? I loved the strong bonds between brothers. It is refreshing to see grown men show real affection and understanding. I shed many tears throughout. Do not pass this one up. Heroes like Devlin are not encountered in too many books. Winnie is delightful as well. I cannot wait for Vals story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chastel More than 1 year ago
Wonderful Series... Highly Recommended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For me, this book was a beautiful love story entwined with the emotions many of us mere humans experience as a result of the choices we make. I am quite sure that those readers who have lived exemplary perfect lives will not appreciate the portrayal here of the more base characterization of us mortals as we try to overcome the results of the poor choices made in our lives. Devlin's struggle to overcome his PTSD as a result of war, Emmie's in overcoming her youthful indiscretions, and even the vicar being so very honest about how he really saw himself as a man, along with little five-year-old Winnie dealing with her own feelings were thoroughly and lovingly written. I will definitely read parts of this novel again and again. LORRAINE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it up to the very last page. I needed an epilogue. the ending was abrupt and sudden. I would have loved to see several days or weeks into the future as to when Winnie knew the truth, that the happy ending and surrender truly ended up parfectly complete. loved it, just too sudden
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very long and boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ohtay
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two stars for reasonable writing, as in sentences were readable, they flowed and the plot had twists. With regards to plot sense it was a bit sketchy. Not internally consistent. This novel is certainly a romance in that the lead female and the lead male characters are attracted to each other and there is sex. However, I found NO 19th Century in this novel. None! Not in the language, not in the politics, not in the social mores described. This is a modern setting for a modern romance with any hint of a previous century as a distant green screen! Bah! Sheila Simonson and Elizabeth Roll do it better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was alright. The story limped along on Dev's slippery grasp on his sanity coupled with Em's dishonesty. I hope the next installation is as good as the Heir.
Beverly_D More than 1 year ago
Devlin has come back from the war broken in mind and spirit, if not in body. Thunderstorms scare him. He has nightmares and regrets of things he did - and things he didn't do in the war. Now he's taking over the run-down estate which belonged to his sister-in-law's family, in the hopes it will be peaceful enough to let his shattered nerves heal. The estate comes with many things that need attention - like the previous earl's illegitimate daughter, a seven-year-old wild waif called Winnie. Being a bastard himself, Devlin has sympathy for the child - and guilt, because he DID kill her father. Winnie comes as a package deal with her relative Emmaline (also a bastard). Emma seems to be dealing with a bit of PTSD herself. At times she is ultra-confident and skilled; she is the village's specialty baker and quite skilled at it. At other times she is weepy and helpless (and irritating). I was totally in love with Devlin, despite his PTSD, have met saucy imps like Winnie, but found Emma a dry mouthful to swallow. She didn't seem to know when she had it good (with Devlin), and I guessed her big secret in the first few paragraphs. Still loved the book, love Burrowes' wit and humor, and thought the passages on the issues of adoption and abandonment were tremendously insightful and moving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago