×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Solve Your Child's Sleep Problems: New, Revised, and Expanded Edition
  • Alternative view 1 of Solve Your Child's Sleep Problems: New, Revised, and Expanded Edition
  • Alternative view 2 of Solve Your Child's Sleep Problems: New, Revised, and Expanded Edition
     

Solve Your Child's Sleep Problems: New, Revised, and Expanded Edition

3.8 51
by Richard Ferber
 

See All Formats & Editions

The completely revised and updated edition of the all-time bestselling book on children’s sleep problems, with important new insights and solutions from Dr. Richard Ferber, the nation’s leading authority on children’s sleep problems.

Does your child have difficulty falling asleep? Wake in the middle of the night? Suffer sleep terrors,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Solve Your Child's Sleep Problems: New, Revised, and Expanded Edition 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
(I apologize for the length, but I felt it necessary for those truly in search of a book that can help them) I have four beautiful children. When we had our forth one 8 months ago, I fell into the normal routine of sleeping for 2-3 hours and then waking up to nurse my baby and help him fall back asleep. I was of the philosophy that you don't have your baby cry himself to sleep, instead you help him to sleep by other methods. I had read a book by Dr. Sears called 'The Baby Book'. Loved it and used it successfully with my three other children. But this new little arrival wouldn't sleep. I tried sleeping with him, rocking, putting him in his own bed and patting his back. I tried 'wearing' him down to sleep (those of you who don't know-that means you wear him in a sling around you until he's fast asleep and then put him down in a bed). I even tried one of those music and lights boxes you put on a crib to help him sleep. At 5 weeks of trying all of this, we put him in a mechanical swing for sleep and that worked well. I felt horrible though-it seemed a little bit wrong-almost cold. But we were all soooo tired. At 6 1/2 months old though, he got bigger and the swing stopped working as well. We tried putting him to bed with a bottle and that helped a little, but then he started waking every 2 hours to eat again. I was going out of mind-averaging 5 hours of sleep each night myself (Plus I worked M-F) and not liking my little boy very much. My husband suggested we read this book. I had heard about Dr. Ferber and his 'cry it out' method and had avoided it like the plague. But I was desperate. So I read it. I was pleasantly surprised. He explains about sleep, routines & schedules to help your child sleep. Within one week of consistently and meticulously using his method, my beautiful baby slept all night long. He even puts himself to sleep without crying. Even through colds, teething, and 3 other children running around, he sleeps so well now. If he wakes up in the middle of the night he puts himself back to sleep. No bottles, no swing, no music boxes hanging on the crib. One night he slept for 12 hours straight. Amen! It is also helping my 4 year old sleep better, and my 9 year old-her sleep problem was causing issues for her at school. It is even helping me to sleep better. Read this book, leave your fears that you are damaging your child's psyche behind. Dr. Ferber knows what he is talking about!! My advice to those who are afraid of being mean to your child if you read this book and do what it says, put those feelings temporarily aside as you read this book and follow his counsel. I think you will be pleasantly surprised and if you follow his advice you may actually get that much needed sleep so you can be the best parent to your little ones that you want to be because they will sleep too! Trust a parent who has been there. I have finally seen the light and am converted! I am starting to give this book as a baby gift to all of my friends and family. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I give this book to anyone I know having a baby. I absoluately swear by it! The Ferber "progressive waiting" method works brilliantly. It took us 2 nights and we now have a super-sleeper. People cannot believe how well our child goes to bed and sleeps wherever we are! We re-apply the methods whenever we have a set-back and it's fixed in 1 night. Plus, this book helps you understand the mechanics of sleep overall. This helps you become a better "middle of the night" parent when teething, or other illnesses wake your child. The only thing this book is missing is the 18-month sleep regression that some kids go through. Go back and re-apply the progressive waiting approach and it works great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
We had such a hard time getting our baby to sleep through the night. He is almost 1 and still getting up at least 2 times a night to nurse. I know that it's tough to let your baby cry, and trust me I tried EVERYTHING to get him to sleep through the night without letting him cry. But within a couple of nights of following this book, my son was sleeping from 7-3 without waking up. And then he slept until 6am 3 nights in a row without waking up. It was a miracle. And you don't just throw your baby in the crib and let him cry, my husband went in every 5, 10, 15 minutes to check on him and make sure he was o.k. This works, and you might have a couple of tough nights, but it's better than having another 6 months or longer of no sleep. When my son was 5 or 6 months old, he was getting up like 5-7 times a night, and I did also try the NO CRY SLEEP SOLUTION, and that did help, but it just wasn't enough to get him sleeping all the way through the night. If you want to get your sleep back, and you have tried everything, I really recommend this book.
Caroline Friedrich More than 1 year ago
I was skeptical of this book at first, since it was asking me to let my baby cry, but it has convinced me! There are real reasons why this method WORKS. Once I read the book, I realized that I was hurting my child by not allowing him to find his own falling asleep skills. Night 1 and 2 were difficult, but by night 3 of this method we saw a huge improvement in our child's sleeping. By the end of the week, he was sleeping the entire night on his own. This was an improvement over waking every hour, as he was doing before we read the book. I know this sounds too good to be true, but it is true! Our son was an infant when we started using this sleep training, but there are sections for older toddlers, children, and teens. I highly suggest this book to any parent who wants to do help their child sleep - and have the science to back up their decision.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was never a believer in any sleep training or method that resulted in letting a baby cry to fall asleep - until I actually read through the entire book and decided to give it a try. Believe me, I have read all the conflicting opinions about sleep methods and felt I would not be able to handle the Ferber method. I think the thing to remember for anyone considering reading this book and using the method is that it will work for solving your child's specific sleep problem - if your child needs to be rocked, fed, taken for a drive, etc in order to fall asleep or gets up several times a night after 6 months old, this book will help. Many of the people who criticize it either haven't read through the entire book or did not apply the method appropriately. Some children are simply better sleepers while others can truly benefit from sleep training. There will always be people who will be against it but if your child suffers from the specific sleep issues in this book, do not feel guilty for trying to get everyone in your household a better night's sleep. There is a good chance, you will all be the better for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I vacillated between "this is horrible" and "this is the only way." In the end, the process worked great for me and my little one. It only took a few days, and one bad night, for my 7-month old son to sleep in his crib all night.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was extremely helpful with helping me set up a bedtime ritual for when I returned to work post-partum. We started at 3 months and have had great results for the last 6 months.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book and method saved our family. We had a 'bad sleeper' on our hands and tried other methods including 'no cry sleep solution'. NOTHING worked until trying Ferber. All children are different so use what works for them. My little guy is an amazing sleeper now and we are all VERY happy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NikkiCA More than 1 year ago
I never write reviews but felt I had to with this book. My 6 month old baby would wake up 2-3 times a night and I was getting desperate. I tried the no cry sleep solution, and it didn't work. we read this book and she started sleeping through the night IMMEDIATELY! Here's what it looked like Night 1: put her down at 9pm, she cried for 15 min, we checked on her 3 min, 5 min, 7 min, she went to bed...woke up at 1am, we checked on her once and she fell asleep til 5am Night 2: she went down by herself, stirred at 1am and slept through the night til 5:45 Night 3: went down by herself at 9, stirred at 5:45am and went back to sleep!!! I'm an educator and my hubby is a scientist. Ferber's methods not only apply good teaching skills but is backed by scientific research. There are a lot of naysayers with this approach, but they simply are ignorant. My baby is happier now and has the tools to put herself back to sleep.
CarolineK More than 1 year ago
There is controversy surrounding the Ferber sleep method. But this book is so much more than training your child to sleep. It discusses the science behind the importance of sleep (very ease to understand) and then delves into whether or not your child actually has a sleep problem. For us, it turns out that she could sleep fine (11 months old), but our habits (moving her out of uncomfortable looking positions, feeding her in the middle of the night, inconsistent waking up times in the morning) and actions were causing disruptions for her. We changed a few things in our (adult) behaviors and although it was rough the first few nights, a week in and she sleeps through the night. There are also chapters on older children, co-sleeping, sharing a room and such.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We first read this book upon the recommendation of our pediatrician, when our son was a little over four months old and mom had to return to work. By the second night of Ferberizing he was sleeping 8-9 hours interrupted. He is now 14 months and sleeping about 11 hrs through the night. We continue to refer to the book for advice on naps. Prior to purchasing this book I had read about 5 other sleep books that were no help at all. This one worked. A godsend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this when my daughter was ready for sleep training four years ago and it worked very well for us. i am buying the nook book now to use with my son
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worked every time with my four kids!!!
Gemini_Pub More than 1 year ago
Although it may seem like a vast overstatement, I think this is the best book ever. Why do I say this? Because following the guidelines in this book helped my 5.5-month old son sleep through the night for the very first time. Every time. There are a lot of misconceptions about Ferber -- all of them unfounded. The method is neither heartless nor cruel nor will it damage your child - quite the opposite! Checking in on the child throughout the night, but allowing them to fall asleep on their own, will teach them good sleep habits that will benefit them their entire lives. If you are at your wits' end with a child who gets up throughout the night, cries at bedtime, won't nap, and is preventing you both from getting a good night's sleep, buy this book. It'll be the best investment you ever make.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago