×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires Series #1)
     

Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires Series #1)

4.5 371
by Chloe Neill
 

See All Formats & Editions

First in a brand new series about a Chicago graduate student's introduction into a society of vampires.

Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn't exactly glamorous, but it was Merit's. She was doing fine until a rogue vampire attacked her. But he only got a sip before he was scared away by another bloodsucker-and this one decided the best way to save her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 371 reviews.
Sharri_H More than 1 year ago
This was one of those, just caught my eye, books you find. I picked it up just for fun and found myself unable to put it down. I love that this story is slightly different most of the other vampire stories out there. Merit is a strong and sassy (and reluctant to be a vampire) character who you can't help but love and root for. A great first for Chloe Neill! Can't wait to read the next in the series!!
Sandra027 More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was good, not great, but it did grow on me by the end. The things that initially bothered me... 1.) While I appreciated Merit's reaction to being changed against her wishes, it took a little longer that it should have for her to come around, and her comments about it started to get a little annoyingly childish. 2.) Sometimes Neill goes a little too descriptive on clothes and 'boys', and while I appreciate a good looking man as much as the next gal... I don't need to constantly read paragraphs describing the same characters over and over. 3.) Also, I didn't feel like the plot was very strong. It seemed like there was a lot of filler, which would have been OK if it was filled with witty banter between Merit and/or Ethan/Mallory/Morgan/Catcher. But it wasn't. But like I said, it grew on me. Merit's funny. Morgan is adorable. Ethan is complicated (and don't we girls just love a troubled, complicated man). I'll definitely be continuing with the series but hope Neill develops the characters a little more so they are less one-dimensional
lyramarie More than 1 year ago
When I first saw this book, I was put off by cover. I know, don't judge a book by its cover. This book actually made me laugh, and the character development is excellent. The main character starts out slow and just your typical college girl, and we watch her transform throughout the book into a kick-butt heroine. She still keeps her bookish charm, which adds to her lovability. I thought this book was a great read, and the characters were vivid and interesting. Not the fluff I thought it would be. Read it and you'll love it! I purchased the sequel immediately after and was not disappointed. Can't wait till the third comes out! :)
NookFever More than 1 year ago
Judging by the reviews and high ratings for this book, I expected to really like this series. I also read the first chapter for free, and was intrigued enough to keep reading. However, there are some fundamental character flaws that just can't be overlooked. Merit, a few-day-old vampire, is assigned to guard and protect a Master Vampire named Ethan (who also turned Merit into a vampire). Ethan is several hundred years old, head of several hundred vampires, but is portrayed as this wuss who wouldn't know how to defend himself against a child. This was really frustrating to me. Merit "saves" him from another vampire wielding a bobby-pin as a weapon, and he then confesses that he owes her his life. I'm not making this up. It's ridiculous. Also, her roommate Mallory starts this relationship with one of the side characters. She sleeps with him the first day, on day two he practically moves in, and by the end of the week, Merit decides to move out to give them space. The timeline here is pretty ridiculous. Also, the dialogue is very immature. Merit turns 28 in this book, but her dialogue mirrors that of a 17 year-old. It was hard to relate to her. One minute she cries, the next minute she talks like a seasoned assassin. Overall, not much happens in this book. I think it covers maybe a two-week period. It was boring in some parts as the author tends to describe too many actions (i.e. she enters the house, locks the door, turns on the light, sets her purse on the floor, etc...), and the story is filled with a lot of vampire politics and strategy talk.
BookfiendMN More than 1 year ago
Cat and Bones are still my favorite vamp couple, but Ethan and Merit are running a close second. Chloe Neill has written an "attention grabber, hard to put down and get any sleep for work the next day" book. Am looking forward to reading the rest of the series!!!!!
BrandonSharp More than 1 year ago
It's always slightly worrisome when trying to find a new series, especially urban fantasy. I kept seeing this series in "Top 10" lists on different blogs and thought I'd try it! 1 month later, I'm getting ready to go on a road trip from Colorado to Nebraska for the author, Chloe Neill, book release party for the 8th installment of the Chicagoland Vampires Series. The world is so easy to see and the characters become old friends. It's in the top 5 best series that I've ever read (and I've read a lot!!!) If you're not sure about this series, read the first and second books and watch your self going back to Barnes & Noble to get the next! GREAT SERIES!!!
HilarieJudge More than 1 year ago
I could not put it down i read it in 3 hours. i love how she is independent woman. the plot was good easy flowing. Can not wait til the next book comes out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great first book to an exciting series! I love this whole world the author has built right in Chicago.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have not read alot of the vampire books that are there but this one caught my eye partly because of the location. It was different and the characters are vampires with a twist, elegant and interesting. I am enjoying the sights and sounds of Chicago that the writer describes so clearly. A great read for older teens and grown ups, it grabs your attention and hangs on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were well developed and the main character is likeable and someone a reader can connect with. Her attitude regarding her unwanted change to a vampire is believable and her dislike of her new master gives the story enough tension that you don't want to put it down. The author did a great job on her first novel. I can't wait for her next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I ready Ms Neill's story in one night it was a great read. Merit the lead character is true to life. Becoming a vampire against her will but to save her life. The attraction between Merit and Ethan is very steamy,sexually and real. Highly recommended this book to anyone who wants a good read...
Book_Sniffers_Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Merit is a smart mouthed, sassy chick who doesn't take being turned into a vampire lightly. She is livid that Sullivan turned her regardless that it was that or die. However, with that being said she cannot deny the instantaneous attraction that she has for him when she meets him. No matter how much she tries to hate him, she just cannot seem to. After rescuing a damsel in distress and giving her immortal life, Ethan isn't so sure if he made the right decision. His new initiate is not only sarcastic and has a problem with authority but she gets under his skin and for some reason he finds her irresistible. But when asked to be his consort she turns him down, the Master of one of the oldest houses. The attraction between the two of them was what made the story. They both don't like each other but they are just unable to fight the attraction. I couldn't help but get sucked into Merit's life as she adjusts to not only her new life as a vampire but her life as the Sentinel. On top of it all she finds out her grandfather is pretty much the link between supernaturals and humans and there is a war starting to brew. As if adjusting to life wasn't hard enough, poor Merit has a lot piling up on her plate.
harstan More than 1 year ago
At a time when vampires have come out of the closet to announce they are real and twelve vampire houses in the States exist, a rogue attacked University of Chicago graduate student Merit ripping her throat. She knows she is fortunate to be alive (no pun intended); her life is saved by the Cadogan House master vampire Ethan. Four centuries as the "Lord o' the Manor" has Ethan expecting the fledgling to grovel in gratitude. However, the feisty Merit is not only upset she had no choice and still irate over the assault, bowing goes against her personality especially since she can no longer sunbathe. As she adjusts to her new nocturnal existence, Merit finds she loves the nightlife until she realizes her undead life is threatened by an evil vampire who is killing girls and has unfinished business with the one who got away. With a sardonic light chick lit first person narration that ironically contrasts the true danger facing Merit, Chloe Neill provides her readers with an enjoyable urban fantasy. Loyalty and respect are big issues between Ethan who expects total reverence without regard and Merit who claims you earn both with deeds and not just a birthright passage. Fans will relish this strong opening entry as Chloe continually surprises her "sire" with her behavior even as danger stalks her. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it!!
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
After thinking whether or not to read this, I finally did and found myself wanting to read more. I didn't even realize how far into the book I got until I looked at the time. Right on the first page, it wastes no time to get the story going. I liked the setting and world building. I liked that stuff that was either introduced or glossed over was brought up again. There's some hilarious moments and quotes, especially from the characters, Mallory, Lindsay, Luc and even Catcher. Glad that Merit didn't instantly fall for Ethan or kept repeating how hot he was. Instead they sort of, kind of, start off as friends? Next to Morganville Vampires, I've found a new vampire series to read.
JayKaiAA More than 1 year ago
i really enjoyed this book as well as the series. i have to admit i definately did not fall in love with the main character merit and i dont think i do still after finishing the fifth book to this series. however i did love the twist and turns that this book took me. i did fall in love with the story line it was just absolutely fantastic and full of surprises. one thing i really enjoyed is the politics that this book takes which made it more realistic because the humans know about the vampires. i thought the author did an amazing job on the relationship between merit and sullivans relationship. it wasnt too slow but the relationship was definately not rushed. so the reader was able to connect with merit and sullivan. overall i enjoyed the book and the series very much. and i highly recommend it 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This seried is very addicte
BandNerd More than 1 year ago
A fun, funky read. I really enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is really good, if you are thinking about getting it, stop thinking and get this book! It is really good. There are a lot of cuss words in this book so don't read this book if you are not comfortable with cuss words. Otherwise, READ THIS BOOK!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series you must read it .....
Karen Florida More than 1 year ago
This is a great story for adults and teens alike, it's geared toward a slightly older target audience, not a high school setting. Can't wait to see what happens next. I'm starting on the next book in the series tonight
StephieLB More than 1 year ago
I thought this book would be full of yhe usual angst-ridden, cold, dead vampire cast but it's not. It's also not all sex-on-steroids. I liked the story of her vamps, all the characters (I have this hysterical mental image of Luc!) & the real dialogue. The only thing I didn't like is that the word "acquiesced" is used on nearly every other page. At some point, I think someone would just say they "caved" or "gave in". But, that is the only complaint & it is minor. Definitely moving on to the next in the series!
jsnip58 More than 1 year ago
There's nothing like finding a new author. I picked this up on a whim and couldn't stop until I finished all three! Be prepared, Some Girls Bite will keep you hooked to the last page. Sleep be damned!
Love0neSOUL More than 1 year ago
It pulls you from the first page, and the relationship between merit and her "master" was ome of the funniest and seexiest things I've read. This was a book I had to read alone because if I didn't my family would have thought thatwas crazy. It made me lol and jump with joy and excitment, and wanting more.
Aim More than 1 year ago
Great New Series. I highly reccomend it. I cannot wait for more. Give it a try.