×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Somebody's Gotta Say It
     

Somebody's Gotta Say It

4.2 24
by Neal Boortz
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0060878207

ISBN-13: 2900060878206

Pub. Date: 02/20/2007

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

"I've come to the conclusion that roughly 50 percent of the adults in this country are simply too ignorant and functionally incompetent to be living in a free society. You might think I'm off base, but every day around half the people in this country go out of their way to prove me right."
-from Somebody's Gotta Say It

Think you've got it all

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Somebody's Gotta Say It 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
furniturerestorer More than 1 year ago
I had never heard of Neal Boortz before reading this book so I had no preconceived ideas. The book is very entertaining and humorous and has some very provacative ideas, some I agree with others I question. The author makes the point that he will lie on his radio program to keep the program entertaining so what does this say about the "facts" in his book? He is a libertarian in his views like legalization of all drugs and sites statistics that make a compelling financial case (if they are true). Like taking a rehabilitation approach to reduce cocaine abuse would cost $34 Million while intradiction costs $250 M and irradicating at the source almost a $billion. First I can' get my head around the idea of legalizing hard drugs. I simply can't envision a society where we would go into our local Coke Store to buy cocaine, so how does it work??? His ideas about a "Fair Tax" are interesting and compelling. He and a congressman wrote a book with this title that is intriquing and compelling. He seems to have considerable expertise in this area. The research doesn't have the credibility that Tomas Sowell's work does but then Boortz doesn't have Sowell's intellectual chops; conversely Sowell is no where near as entertaining and dare I say funny as Boortz. The book is a quick read and a fun couple of hours. It does make you think. I am a social issues conservative and disagree with him on those issues but he did make me think about abortion in one respect. He makes the point that he couldn't sentence a woman who had been impregnated by a rapist (or for incest) to carry the baby to term. I am torn by that scenario and would have a hard time not making an exception for that case. Realizing that it is less than 1% of all abortions performed and the vast majority are simply negligent birth control aka murder, this would seem to be a reasonable concession for right to lifers. Like I say you won't agree with him on every issue but you will think and be entertained along the way!
Guest More than 1 year ago
You can call yourself anything you wish in terms of party lines, however, to be entertained, provoked, and laugh out loud, a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EMMACAR More than 1 year ago
I wish I could say this was a fun read - it was written from a view point I happen to agree with - I have loaned it to a few believers of other views and they found it very interesting...........I'm sure if we all tried a bit harder to listen to both sides, we could find the right - sorry, the correct middle.......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Neil Boortz keeps it simple in explaining his ideas and beliefs. He puts forth valid intellectual ideas in a clear and concise manner inabling the layman to understand his philisophical stances. Both entertaining and insightful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Boortz is right about everything in the book. I am not sure his solutions would work but any attempt at a solution would be better than the status quo. Government schools for example. Boortz thinks introducing competition would make them better. I do not totally agree. The problem with government schools isn't just the lack of competition - it is a combination of many things such as: truly ignorant teachers, students incapable of learning, ignorant parents, and teaching the wrong things. School needs to be like it used to be. Teach Math, English, Science, History, and Physical Education and that is it. When the schools have to teach politically correct nonsense it takes away from the core subjects, which should be the core of what is taught. Nevertheless, Boortz is a smart and funny and I enjoy listening to him on the radio. He is much more enjoyable to listen to than the other talking heads. And the reviewer that called Boortz a conservative obviously doesn't know the meaning of the word. Boortz is not a traditional conservative. Read about his views on gay marriage, abortion, and religion and there is no way he could be labeled as conservative. You could call him conservative on some issues but then you would have to call him liberal on others. So, read the book and learn something.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Boortz has it all right in this book. Americans can choose where to live, what to eat, what acr they drive, what clothes they wear, almost everything...except where to educate their children. We have 3 choices goverment education, home schooling, or privite education. Answer this question. If you had a choice what would it be?
Guest More than 1 year ago
First, to Mr. Fontaine, we do not live in a democracy, we live in a republic. Also, there is NO RIGHT TO VOTE in the constitution. From usconstitution.net: 'The Constitution contains many phrases, clauses, and amendments detailing ways people cannot be denied the right to vote. You cannot deny the right to vote because of race or gender. Citizens of Washington DC can vote for President 18-year-olds can vote you can vote even if you fail to pay a poll tax. The Constitution also requires that anyone who can vote for the 'most numerous branch' of their state legislature can vote for House members and Senate members. Note that in all of this, though, the Constitution never explicitly ensures the right to vote, as it does the right to speech, for example. This is precisely why so many amendments have been needed over time - the qualifications for voters are left to the states. And as long as the qualifications do not conflict with anything in the Constitution, that right can be withheld. For example, in Texas, persons declared mentally incompetent and felons currently in prison or on probation are denied the right to vote. It is interesting to note that though the 26th Amendment requires that 18-year-olds must be able to vote, states can allow persons younger than 18 to vote, if they chose to.'
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unlike those above me who only read the back cover and then spouted off their own political viewpoint, I read the book. It was very funny, thought provoking and written on a level that even someone as 'intellectually challenged' as John Brayns Fontaine can understand.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book if you are open minded. Unfortunately, because Boortz is on the radio the liberals will think he is a Republican when in fact he is a Libertarian. But, if read this book, no matter what your politics are, it will get you thinking. And to the reviewer that says Boortz is against the voting rights act. Well, you know what, maybe everyone should not be able to vote. Why let a dependent ignorant person vote? Look what happens when the ignorant vote. Marion Barry D.C. Mayor. After getting caught with crack the ignorant returned him as Mayor. See, somebodys gotta say it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'if somebody gotta say it' by neal bortz is an all time classic! I really love this book cause he really puts the cards on the table and tells you not only about curuption but how it gets started and were its warning signs are . this publication I think is a real wake up call and I think if it will motivate a group of citizens to get involved and make a difference in there community thean I think this book can be a real blessing as well as a motivator I know it has greatly inspired me that with alittle bit of effort I can make difference. the arthur is to be congradulated for calling attention to certain ills that would other wise go unnoticed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must admit that I almost completely agree with this man on every issue raised. From our deficiencies in education and the reason for them, to how the tax system really stagnates and stiffles our economy. He raises great points about how our court system needs an overhaul, and why the libertarian stance on drugs makes sense. He stands with libertarians where they are right, and disagrees with them where they are being completely naive.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although the writing isn't particularily eloquent, and I don't agree with everything he says, Neal Boortz makes you step back and think about your views on this country and what's going on in it. Neal will never run for President, but I would like to see a candidate adopt some of the ideas presented in this book: allow school choice for all, pass the Fair Tax, and privatize Social Security.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Boortz¿ book is replete with insight. His assessment of the current state of affairs in this country is right on target and he conveys it with razor sharp wit. Some of his best chapters are, ¿The Democrats¿ (Secret) Plan for America¿, ¿Minimum Wage¿ and the chapters pertaining to ¿government schools¿. He correctly assesses the central problem as the powerful teacher¿s unions, which he accurately tells us are a greater threat than the Islamofascists (122). Government schools are nothing more than indoctrination centers for a collectivist society. Sadly, this is also true of higher education in government schools, where diversity of thought is not permitted and one is graded down for it. If parents were given their tax money¿s worth in the form of vouchers we would soon see kids who could pass high school exit exams, even those set at the actual 12th grade level. Overall, this is a WONDERFUL, WELL WRITTEN book by an intelligent and articulate author that examines much of the nonsense that is prevalent in our society. While making my book purchasing decisions after reading the reviews, those that resort to ad hominem attacks on the author are discredited. I would highly recommend this book for those appreciating a cogent argument, even if it doesn¿t agree with ones politics.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I believe he is a good writer and a very entertaining radio host, but he is so close minded....he is afraid of a multicultural US, he is afraid of people that do not think the same way he does.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have always thought that Neal Boortz was one of the most influential people in my education and this book was all the proof I needed. Somehow, Neal is able to fit his HUGE personality into 322 cold, hard pages full of humor and compelling arguments. The only reason Mr. Boortz didn¿t make it to #1 on the Best Sellers list is because so many radio stations refuse to play such an offensive man on the air! But hey, that¿s why we love him¿.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Boortz's views on education are absolutely deplorable. He takes the 1 in a 100 example to try to prove his case. If he taught in a public school he would be fired or quit before period 2. I have served in both public and independent schools for over forty years. From this experience I have learned that the only reason that an independent school, on average, delivers a little better product is they have a better product to begin with. The top students from public schools would do just as well as those from the independent in any evaluation. The independent schools educate only those they want, the public schools have to try to educate everyone who gets off the bus. I would go further and state that when comparing teachers from both types of schools that the teachers from the public schools would do a much better job teaching in the indepdent schools than those from the independent who tried to exist in the public schools. Boortz should look at some of the research that has been done in states that have given bonuses to those who left business and industry to teach. Most couldn't handle it, not that they didn't know their 'stuff', but because they couldn't handle the kids. He is correct when he states that the government is the problem with education only he doesn't understand why. To be truthful it's really simple. Those in government making decisions pertaining to education know very little to nothing about education. This whole NCLB and high stakes testing 'thing' is only a myth and a waste of billions of dollars in this country. Our public school systems do a much better job than they are given credit for and would do an even better job without government interference. When he talks about merit pay he has again no idea of what he speaks. Let teachers pick the students to teach and see who gets the merit pay. There is no way that a comparison between America's kids and those from other countries can be made. Other countries don't try to educate all students K-12 the way we do. Who is this guy to talk about curriculum? I am neither a democrat or republican but I believe I lean toward conservatism. This guy makes me want to be as far away from him as possible and not admit to concervatism.
Guest More than 1 year ago
All one has to do is look at 'Somebody's...' back cover to find that Boortz does not think Americans have a right to vote. He actually opposes the Voting Rights Act. Which makes one wonder how many other aspects of Democracy Boortz despises. Then again, Democracy has had many enemies. Hitler detested it because he thought that it was created by the Jews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Boortz is completely out of touch with reality. He apparently comes from the school of 'All I have to do is say it, and it becomes the truth.' He is sadly confused in many areas, but none more than his ideas on education (see the review titled 'Out of Touch with Reality'). The good news is, thanks to knuckleheads like Boortz, Bush, Chaney, Coulter, etc. our country (most of it) is figuring out that we need intelligent leadership.