×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Something Borrowed
     

Something Borrowed

4.2 3924
by Emily Giffin, Jennifer Wiltsie (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Rachel has always been a good girl--until her thirtieth birthday, when her best friend Darcy throws her a party. That night, after too many drinks, Rachel ends up in bed with Darcy's fiancé Dex. Rachel is horrified to discover that she has genuine feelings for Dex. She prays for fate to intervene, but when she makes a choice she discovers that the lines

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Something Borrowed 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3924 reviews.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was my first read by this author, and I found it to be a enjoyable read. The humor was on point and the characters were so relateable. I was that girl reading on the train, smiling like a goofball, who people stared at like I was certifiably nuts. Trust me, you'll LOL or at least crack a smile to this one. I must admit I felt really guilty secretly cheering for "the other woman," but hey...each page was a guilty pleasure. I've since read Something Blue, which I liked as well. Haven't gotten to Baby Proof though. I'm still waiting to find a good lighthearted "chick lit" book that compares to this one. Suggestions?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book -- it was an addictive indulgence and read really easily. The characters came alive for me right away and the plot kept me turning the pages quickly, anxious to find out what would happen next. Maybe it rang too true for experience I've had in my own life... or maybe that's what made it. It's a great read, very light, very entertaining. Good dialog, good insight into a woman's mind... just loved it!
DivaPrincess28 More than 1 year ago
This was the first book that I read from Emily Giffin and I really enjoyed it. I bought the book on the suggestion from the bookstore. I thought the characters were good and I like that Emily got straight to the point in the beginning of the book instead on using the first 5 chapters to build up to it. I was sucked into the book and actually finished it in 2 1/2 days. This is a great read on a rainy day or a cold winter night.
DisneyAngel55 More than 1 year ago
This was such a great read. Purchased on a whim as a bargain book, I finished it in just a few days, as it was terribly hard to put down. I have been raving about it for awhile now, and have since convinced all the girls I work with to now read it! The day after I finished this book, I went to Barnes & Noble and bought its sequel, Something Blue. I was SO happy that there was a sequel, as I wasn't ready to be done with the characters yet!! Please read this book, you will NOT be disappointed!!
acb8791 More than 1 year ago
I love this book and the characters in it. Also loved the sequel "Something blue". It tells Darcy's story.
Valery_99 More than 1 year ago
This book was so fun to read. There was suspense and romance through out the book. The lies and back stabling of Darcy and Rachel is unbelievable. It makes you wonder who really deserved it the most. The books takes you from their childhood to present time experience with one another. I really liked this book and especially the ending. It does end with a twist so make sure you have 'Something Blue' ready to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cannot say that I enjoyed this book. I just didn't enjoy the characters and their views on life and how to live. Most of them were self centered spoiled people who in spite of the fact that they were pushing 30, hadn't yet grown up.
Justine-the-Bean More than 1 year ago
This isn't typically the type of book that I read, but this was given to me as a recommendation from a good friend. As soon as I finished the first one, i went out and got the rest of her books.
gabbyj188 More than 1 year ago
this book is simply amazing. emily giffin connects with the readers and you start to feel like you are in the book as one of the characters. it is intense funny thrilling and loving story. it is a very easy read. i finished it in about 3 days. this was the best book that i have ever read. it was so good that i drove to barnes and noble the same night that i finished it and went to get something blue.
MrsYoz More than 1 year ago
This book is an absolute read. If you read this, you must read Something Blue which is the follow up book to this one. These two books are the best books I have ever read. You are definitely missing out if you don't read them. I could not put them down and can't tell you enough how great they are.
Tutu10 More than 1 year ago
This book is a wonderful fast read. I laughed and cried. It is very believeable and you honestly feel like you are in the book. You feel the emotions that the characters are feeling!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books I have read in awhile. I couldnt put it down. Would highly recommend this book!!!!! Cant wait to read her other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is easily my favorite book in this genre! I first read the book when I saw John Krasinski on the movie book cover ( I LOVE him). I was not disappointed! I've read it many times since and still can't put it down once I've started. To celebrate my college graduation years ago, my friends and I went to see the movie the night it came out instead of throwing a big party! We couldn't wait another night. I would recommend any and ALL of Emily's books. They are spectacular. Every time I decide to re-read one of her books, I end up reading every single one all over again. I would also recommend following her on her social media accounts. She is so in touch with her readers and you feel like you've been friends for ages. I can't wait for what else she has coming! 
Simone3 More than 1 year ago
I've had this book on my shelf for at least a year now and must've tried to read it about 5 times but could never get past the first 6 pages. I finally did and, ugh. Well it wasn't a boring read. I didn't appreciate all of the drama the author had in the book. Thank goodness they are all fictional characters because the one, "Darcy" deserved a real kick in the pants and some. That character made me roll my eyes so many times with all of her whining, moaning, and tantrums! Ugh! And how dumb, having a friend for that long just so you can compete with her? And the weak best friend, Rachel?? Man! You'd think she'd have permanent foot prints on her body with how much everyone walks all over her. I saw and didn't like how the author tried to make Rachel and Dex's affair acceptable just because Darcy was such a pain in the neck. I think the drama was TOO much that it was unrealistic and just ridiculous to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stumbled upon this book and fell in love. Soon thereafter I watched the movie and loved the plot even more. Darcy and Rachel remind me so much of my best friend and me although we would never let this happen. Something Blue is just as good if not better, although the movie of Something Borrowed doesnt really match up with the characters and how they're described it still is so fantastic. My favorite characters have to be Rachel and Ethan and maybe even Dex. Its definitely not a childrens novel so id recommend it for ages 16 and up. It has to be my favorite book and movie along with the sequel Something Blue which is in production of the movie now (they better use the same characters- it just wouldnt be the same) and id tell anyone who loves a cute, little, romantic, best friends, mature novel about friendship and love. ~Crl <3
Sped More than 1 year ago
I bought this book based on its good reviews and now I wish I hadn't wasted my moms money. The story plot was something you would find on day time TV. Main character isn't happy with her life gets drunk and sleeps with her best friends fiancee. Throughout the book the friends fight and grow more distant and in the end they aren't friends anymore, and the other two are dating. I really don't see how anyone could enjoy reading such trash. There are enough real people in the world that stab their best friend in the back, its not something I want to read about. If you want a good love story read Twilight, if you want one of the best books ever read Down River by John Hart! I am however looking forward to the movie because it actually looks a lot better...
Ami Lowe More than 1 year ago
This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best friend's back and start an affair with her fiancee. Yes, Darcy was flawed but she was who she was. Rachel was a snake in the grass and I wanted nothing but bad things for her. The sequel (Something Blue) is fantastic. You get to get outside of that outrageously narcissistic Rachel's head and instead watch Darcy grow from an immature child to a woman.
Kasia_S More than 1 year ago
I have read "Something Blue" which is part two of this story, first about two years ago...and even though I loved it, I was pretty sure I had a pretty good grip on "Something Borrowed" and it's story line, but I'm super happy that I decided to go back and read the first novel, it gave me new insight into the whole story, and made it even more intense and entertaining in my eyes. Most readers I'm sure take Rachel's side, after all she's the humble, sweet friend who realizes that her best friend's love isn't as real as her own, and trouble is that they are both after the same guy. Darcy has always been Rachel's best friend, even though she was considered prettier, had a batter tan, hair or what not, all those superficial things that in the end make you sick and miserable because they take space away from real substance which is followed by heartache no matter how beautiful the girl. Few months before the wedding, Rachel and Dex ( the groom to be) end up hanging out at Rachel's birthday party, taking things further than either has expected that end with then sleeping together. First shock follows then new possibilities of what if...what if they were together, what if what they feel is real, more real than Darcy and her perfect life which suddenly doesn't seem satisfying enough to Dex. His feeling for Rachel have been humming under the surface for years, their friendship at law school was strong but Rachel never felt pretty or special enough to even consider a guy of Dexter's caliber to be a match for her. Pretty soon a decision has to be made, Rachel or Darcy, as time ticks away and tension builds Dex is unable to handle the situation until things get really messy, but at least fun for the reader. I was siding with Rachel, because I felt like their emotions were pure, they didn't do something bad to hurt Darcy, and she really didn't seem to be as in love with Dex as a bride to be would. Which is something totally opposite to what I felt when I read "Something Blue" where I couldn't stand Rachael and I felt sorry for Darcy the whole time. In this book I felt bad for Darcy, her shallowness and all the things she did in the past to make herself feel better in comparison to Rachel ended up hurting her in the end, but people have to go though ordeals in order to come out on top, and hopefully as a triumphant and better person. I thought that Dex perhaps was the bad guy at times, I mean come on, make up your mind, you cant have both girls and waiting till the last minute is not something a responsible grown up would do, a fool in love perhaps but still, that part annoyed the heck out of me! I highly enjoyed the book, and can't wait to re-read "Something Blue" again, in fact reading this book make me want to read all of Giffin's works, she's not only smart but also really perceptive and gives a lot of her own thoughts and soul into these little gems. The books have a lot of truth to them about people and relationships and they are really well told, the story flows off the pages and never loses momentum. - Kasia S.
Sabrina17 More than 1 year ago
This was such a good book that I had to finish it the day I started reading it. I think it hits a sensitive topic but it was just so real and really touched on people's true feelings that I just can't say anything bad about this book. I can absolutely relate to Rachel's personality and it's refreshing to read something that is so tangible. I loved the dynamics and all the twists and turns Emily Giffin provided. I would definitely recommend this book to others. Next on my list is Something Blue!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the characters, the storyline, the book sucked me in and I couldn't wait to finish and read the 2nd book, Something Blue. I was really annoyed with the character, Darcy, but then after reading the 2nd book, you felt a little compassion for her and why she behaved the way that she did. Read the books, they're good!
JackieJF More than 1 year ago
This book won't make you smarter, but it will keep you wonderfully entertained. Great for a total escape. The type of book you can read in just a few days and really get lost in.
MsOrange78 More than 1 year ago
Emily Giffin is now on my list of favorite authors. This book is fantastic!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Something borrowed is soooo amazing I ejoyed every second of the book it never gets boring or just ok at any time. The characters are relable and I was really able to feel what rachael was feeling.. I couldn't put the book down. This is the first I have read of Emily Giffin but it will not be the last. I look forward to her next release.. perhaps a follow up on Rachael and Dex and of course darcy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so great! It was very well written and such a quick, easy read. The whole time reading it, I didn't want to put it down! I read it in two sittings. It was such a great story and it truly touched me. There were parts in the book that I could actually relate to and I loved that. It was one of the best books I've ever read! Make sure you read it and I hope Emily Giffin comes out with many more novels, I will read them all!