×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Song of Kali
     

Song of Kali

3.8 34
by Dan Simmons
 

See All Formats & Editions

Think you know true fear? You don't.

Think you've read the most chilling book? Not even close.

Think you can't be shocked? Good luck!

Maybe you're ready for the most truly frightening reading experience of your life, the World Fantasy Award-winning novel that's been terrifying readers for over a decade.

Song of Kali.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Song of Kali 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy a thriller/mystery with a touch of supernatural horror (the sort where the supernatural element may be explainable via more scientific methods) then this book is for you. I picked it up after seeing a glowing review from Harlan Ellison, and his review was spot on. Oh...you're probably going to want to read the last quarter or so of the book in one sitting. Plan accordingly. I was up until three AM reading it on a day where I otherwise would have been asleep by 23:00. :)
netscorer More than 1 year ago
This book stuck with me for a long time. It was not specifically terrifying while reading, but the overall gloom of despair and hopelessness whether the action took place in India or back in States is undenyable. Dan simmons is a master of storytelling and this is one of his best.
denacochina More than 1 year ago
This book stuck with me for a long time after I put it down. An earlier review said that it wasn't scary and left too many unanswered questions - I am fairly certain that person didn't understand it, or maybe just picked up the wrong sort of book. Song of Kali wasn't written to give you a cheap thrill. Rather, it sits inside your head and keeps you awake at night. Sure, there is a scary scene with the monster Kali, but her most terrifying quality isn't what she can do to a person physically - it's what she unleashes on the world and humanity. A very good read for anyone interested in the darker side of humanity.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I have ever read. If you like supernatural horror this is a must read.
Cherry_Skulls More than 1 year ago
This book gave me chills. I have never read anything this horrifying. I think the worst of it is not the supernatural that the book hints at but the actual cruelty of mankind. This is where the horror come in. 
Eric_J_Guignard More than 1 year ago
REVIEWED: Song of Kali WRITTEN BY: Dan Simmons PUBLISHED: January, 1998 Song of Kali is a well written novel of dark fiction, though hardly “the most frightening book ever written” as heralded across reviews and its book cover. There are actually very few scenes that seemed particularly scary at all. The plot is fair and emotionally-driven, compelling and sad, with good pacing, conflict, etc. And, man!, can this author write! The technical ability of Dan Simmons is extraordinary. However, the book just felt barely “above-average,” rather than fantastic, after closing the final page. The ending is anticlimactic, i.e. dreadful (in terms of boredom)... this story had so much potential to have been greater. The backdrop and circumstances Simmons established could have led to many, many more frightening scenes than he used. All-in-all, a fine read, especially as this is the first novel he ever wrote. Note to reader: His books get much better. Four out of Five stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love his books this one was very spooky the Terror was marvellous as well Enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Scary but slow at times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago