Customer Reviews for

Song of the Lark

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Singers

Willa Cather's The Song of the Lark is a highly decorative novel that provides a detailed account on the growth of a young girl, Thea Kronborg, who has an exceptional talent in singing. The book goes over Thea¿s modest upbringing to her career as an opera singer with a...
Willa Cather's The Song of the Lark is a highly decorative novel that provides a detailed account on the growth of a young girl, Thea Kronborg, who has an exceptional talent in singing. The book goes over Thea¿s modest upbringing to her career as an opera singer with an in-depth look at her maturity as she refines her talent. However, the book seems to focus more on Thea¿s surroundings than on Thea herself. There are lengthy descriptions of the landscapes and the important people in her life, but you never truly get to know Thea. Therefore, you often get a picture of what Thea is like through her interactions with other people and the affect that she has on friends, such as Dr. Archie and Fred Ottenburg. During the novel, I expected something huge and horrible to happen to Thea, but I found out that the novel isn¿t much of a roller coaster ride in terms of life-changing events. Though it wasn¿t action-packed, the novel was satisfying because of Cather¿s literary genius. From the beginning, it is already confirmed that Thea is uncommon, a theme that is constantly emphasized throughout the novel. Yet, the beauty of this book is that it describes Thea¿s musical gift in such a way that it allows you to experience her uniqueness: by imagining the tone and richness of her voice. The description leaves it open to interpretation so that you can be swept away by her strong personality even though you haven¿t really met her. The vast descriptions of the Midwest landscape is so captivating that it makes you cherish it on the same level that Thea does. Overall, this book appealed to me because I love to sing. I felt a personal connection to Thea because I wanted to be like her. I would definitely recommend it to those who are interested in opera or singing because it¿s one of the few novels out there that includes such a deep text in singing and opera.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Poor Quality

There are so many typos in this copy that I couldn't get past the first 3 pages. This should be an excellent book. Whoever did the copy of this book should be fired.

posted by 6019789 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Poor Quality

    There are so many typos in this copy that I couldn't get past the first 3 pages. This should be an excellent book. Whoever did the copy of this book should be fired.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Average Read

    The book was good but not my favorite. The book is slow. While the illustration on the front cover is nice, I don't see how it fit the book. I spent lots of time trying to figure out how it related to the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    An Unusual Lark

    Willa Cather paints us a picture of a very unusual girl. From the first we see that Thea is a little different from others just as Willa was a little different from contemporaries of her sex. Other characters in the novel can see that Thea is gifted, often distant as dreamers often are and destined for greater things than most. As I was reading the book I tried to focus on just what made her different. I appreciate Willa's imagery. The sandhills, Chicago, and the cliff dwellings in Arizona stand out like paintings in the Novel. Willa Cather certainly deserves high praise for the works she has left us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    read this book

    'Nothing is far and nothing is near, if one desires. The world is little, people are little, human life is little. There is only one big thing- desire.' This is only one of the many poetic lines in this excellent novel by Willa Cather. The book is a tale of a young girl, Thea Kronborg, that has many experiences on her journey to following her dream of becoming a successful opera singer. The character actually represents Cather and her struggles to achieve artistic recognition. Throughout the book I felt compelled to relate myself to Thea's experiences. I believe this book is not only the story of a person's desire taking them out of the little town they grew up in, but it creates a new world for the reader to explore in. The minor characters in the novel add on to the intensity and love Thea has for singing. As she grows up and learns what it takes to make it big, the reader can not help but grow attached to the distinct setting and characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who feels passionate about a certain talent they have. The Song Of The Lark teaches you that it is possible to achieve your dream.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    Great for Singers

    Willa Cather's The Song of the Lark is a highly decorative novel that provides a detailed account on the growth of a young girl, Thea Kronborg, who has an exceptional talent in singing. The book goes over Thea¿s modest upbringing to her career as an opera singer with an in-depth look at her maturity as she refines her talent. However, the book seems to focus more on Thea¿s surroundings than on Thea herself. There are lengthy descriptions of the landscapes and the important people in her life, but you never truly get to know Thea. Therefore, you often get a picture of what Thea is like through her interactions with other people and the affect that she has on friends, such as Dr. Archie and Fred Ottenburg. During the novel, I expected something huge and horrible to happen to Thea, but I found out that the novel isn¿t much of a roller coaster ride in terms of life-changing events. Though it wasn¿t action-packed, the novel was satisfying because of Cather¿s literary genius. From the beginning, it is already confirmed that Thea is uncommon, a theme that is constantly emphasized throughout the novel. Yet, the beauty of this book is that it describes Thea¿s musical gift in such a way that it allows you to experience her uniqueness: by imagining the tone and richness of her voice. The description leaves it open to interpretation so that you can be swept away by her strong personality even though you haven¿t really met her. The vast descriptions of the Midwest landscape is so captivating that it makes you cherish it on the same level that Thea does. Overall, this book appealed to me because I love to sing. I felt a personal connection to Thea because I wanted to be like her. I would definitely recommend it to those who are interested in opera or singing because it¿s one of the few novels out there that includes such a deep text in singing and opera.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Skylar

    "You shouldn't have read that," she frowns, biting her lip.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Harry

    :c Unsatisfactoryyyy. *he threw his arms up around her and pinned her to his chest, kissing her nose, chin, and mouth with giggles of delight.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Treble the Second

    River is Eleven's wife.... you haven't seen the Smith era yet?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Myrracle

    She covers her eyes and bows. "I must go. Good bye."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Treble

    ((Same here. Baiiiii~))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Myrracle

    With her congratulations done, she stepped aside so thers can have their turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Cloud

    Watched, barely able to contain herself. [B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Chord

    I'm goung to bed...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Harry

    "Oh, I don't think so," he growled quietly, smirking as he hauled her upright and pinned her back against the tree, sneaking his lips to her neck and kissing her softly all over her throat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Hush

    *she grins at Chord, eyes sparkling with tears already.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Theta

    ((Nuuuuu!!! Bai Lyne D:))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Lyne

    She grinned. Caedence beamed, babbling happily and asking for Ava. ((Gtgtb. Meh. Bbt.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Lyne

    "Good." She laughed, letting go. "I'm so happy for you."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Lyne

    She stepped in line after Swag. :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Chord

    ((Sorry, I'm just waiting until everyone else gets here...))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4