×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Song of Unmaking
     

Song of Unmaking

4.4 10
by Caitlin Brennan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Striving to save the Aurelian Empire, Valeria reached for too much power too quickly and a darkness rooted inside her. Unable to confess the truth, Valeria turns to Kerrec, her former mentor, one of the elite Riders from the Mountain, home of the gods. But Kerrec, too, is deeply wounded and his darkness may be even deeper than hers--and he is refusing to face

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Song of Unmaking 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Laurie_Ryan More than 1 year ago
A world easy to immerse myself in. I hadn’t read Mountain’s Call, and indeed, I had this story in my “To Be Read” pile for quite a while. I was digging through the pile one day and saw it. Fell in love with the cover all over again. And now I’ve fallen in love with the story as well. It was well-written, had a well-rounded and thought out world, well-characterized, and emotional. Now I need to go pick up Mountain’s Call so I can see the beginning of Valeria’s story, when she answers the call to become a Rider.
Im2sassy4u More than 1 year ago
Great series for teens and adults. Especially if you are a horse lover... then this will doubly appeal to you. I have read this series thru sooooo many times and its still fun to read over and over again. Had to get it for my nook color!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and stumbled upon it purely by accident. I read this book and then eagerly finished the other two in the series. Ms Brennan's amazing heroine Valeria is a strong and independent young woman who is the first woman to be Called to the Mountain. I would highly recommend this book to young and old, horse lovers, and fantasy lovers. Bravo Ms Brennan, and can't wait to see the next book in the series!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
ok, well, i was impressed with the first one, but this one owns all. all my friends make fun of me because of some of it's 'scenes' but, i really don't care. anywhoo, i loved the relationship that valeria and kerrec had/have. i almost cried because of what was happening. i have two other friends that are reading the book too and they said they didn't like the 'scenes' but they couldn't put it down. wait till this one! it's better and better as you read it!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Euan Rohe, a Caletanni barbarian almost brought the Empire and the Emperor to its knees during the Great Dance. Valeria, a rider of the wild stallions who are gods made flesh, finished the Dance with her own and seven other stallions and for a time war was averted. Valeria returns to the mountain for more training while Euan escapes to his homeland and allies himself with Gothard, the baseborn son of the Emperor who wants to Unmake his father¿s empire. War is coming and the Emperor, his warriors and his mages are at the border waiting for the right time to strike out at their enemy. Gothard has a stone that has the power to Unmake, once he knows how to use it. Valeria and her lover Kerrick, with their stallion gods travel to the battleground to stop Gothard before he starts using the stone¿s power to crush the Emperor¿s forces. Partners in love and battle Kerrick and Valeria perform a Dance unlike any dance the stallions performed, one that will determine the fate of the Empire. --- This is the second book in this magnificent romantic fantasy series (See THE MOUNTAIN¿S CALL) and it is full of more action, romance and drama than its prequel. The love Kerrick and Valeria feel for each other is tested by secrets he keeps from his lover and the wounds that refuse to heal, both magical and physical, inflicted on him by his half-brother. The battle scenes are magnificent, the characters are realistic and the storyline is pure magic readers will eagerly await the next book in this tantalizing series. --- Harriet Klausner