×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Songs Of Joy & Peace
     

Songs Of Joy & Peace

3.9 33
by Yo-Yo Ma
 

See All Formats & Editions

Imagine a party, a musical party inspired by the holiday season. A party that celebrates the universal hopes, dreams, and joys that animate seasonal festivals the world over -- Christmas, Hanukkah, Eid al-Adha, Kwanzaa, Yule, and New Year's Day. That is what brought Yo-Yo Ma together with a remarkable group of friends -- some old, some new -- to create Songs of Joy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Songs Of Joy & Peace 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
S.Hays-Lafayette More than 1 year ago
In comparison of the standard holiday music schamltz - this is stellar. The album does awonderful job of intertwing themes of Joy and Peace.
The music is well crafted. If you you are looking for pure holdiay music drivel this album is not for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...could bring together all these diverse talents and pull off such an eccletic, fun-filled album. It's all over the map (quite literally!), but it works, and it makes me smile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If your not a fan of Yo-Yo Ma, after you listen to this recording you will be. A great selection of songs and musicians. You`ll really enjoy it.
BookGirlToo More than 1 year ago
Soul-stirring cello! Highly recommended! Will make a unique gift any time of year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Most of the collaborations were very good. Yo-Yo seemed to be more inspired with the different works he did on this album.
Boulderbookie More than 1 year ago
In the midst of the horrors of American Idol and the ugliness of Rap Music, this album restores my faith in American popular music. The best description of this collection is "classy." All of the performers are top notch, and the selection of pieces is clever and original.
BrendaIN More than 1 year ago
I extremely enjoyed listing to this CD. It has a little bit of everything in it from relaxing, touching, inspiring. The duets are a wonderful combination of musical talents.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is beautiful and sincere music. I feel it in my heart everytime I listen to it.
SOMinder More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for typical holiday music, this is not a CD you want. There are selections that relate to the holidays, and there are some that do not. There are a wide variety of musical styles included, so there is not a consistent feeling from piece to piece while listening to the CD. Also, I was expecting instrumental pieces considering it was a Yo-Yo Ma CD, but some of this collection includes singing. I enjoyed roughly half the selections and did not care for the others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This purchase was a graduation gift for a friend receiving her doctorate in divinity. I have had a copy since it first came out. Uplifting, relaxing, a variety of genres. A few tracks are definitely Christmassy - but most are universal songs for peace and love and joy.
Jacqueline10 More than 1 year ago
Tantalize your emotions with the profound sounds of various artists as they perform with Yo Yo Ma. His amazing talent for cello is only one captivating piece of this CD. Listen to it year-round for it's unbelievable integration of artists instruments many unheard of. Yo Yo Ma has brought together various musicians of unsurpassed talent to bring sounds you will not hear on any radio or CD. The liner unfolds to reveal pictures of the musicians and their instruments. The unexpected originality of music takes the listener from traditional American christmas, African American spiritual, to jazz and Japanese. This CD does not disappoint but it is unlike any other as it has unexpected surprises!
WOLFRIVER34 More than 1 year ago
NO MATTER THE TIME OF YEAR THIS IS GREAT LISTENING (AND SINGING WITH). IT'S NOT VERY OFTEN YOU LIKE ALL THE CUTS ON A CD. I'VE GIVEN THIS AS A GIFT TO SEVERAL FRIENDS BECAUSE OF ITS QUALITY.
Griffenlemur More than 1 year ago
I was wandering around Barnes & Noble during the holidays, and I heard this CD. I recognized the superior musical quality (the cello of course) and had to have it. However, I would not recommend this for the person that wants the traditional holiday music. I believe you would be disappointed. That being said, I have thoroughly enjoyed this unique presentation. There are 22 tracks with several good collaborations. Personally, I appreciate anyone who is bringing Peace to the planet any way they can, and this is such a lovely sound...I just feel good after listening to it. Yo-Yo Ma has such a gift, playing the cello with such joy and spreading that to all of us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago