×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sons of Fortune
     

Sons of Fortune

3.5 43
by Jeffrey Archer
 

See All Formats & Editions

#1 New York Times bestselling author Jeffrey Archer has mesmerized thousands of readers over the years with his riveting novels and unforgettable characters. Now he returns with another remarkable novel that proves he is still one of the most gifted writers of all time...

In hushed maternity ward, an infant dies, while twin brothers thrive. By morning, one mother

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sons of Fortune 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
danky0s More than 1 year ago
This book is more of a drama then a action story though it does have its fair share of blood shed. The rivalry that the two men grow aroumd makes for some amazing story telling. Read this if you like court drama or good ol fashion politics.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading the Sons of Fortune...until about the middle. After that it spirals down, crashing in the end which seems more the easy way out for a complicated situation than an actual ending. Situations that can not possibly happen, as well as errors and a rush to finish the book left me with a sense of betrayal by the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jac11 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book from beginning to end..........A must read.
Vegasboomer More than 1 year ago
Even a bad Jeffery Archer , as a lot of reviews pointed out, is still a good read. It is pretty east to predict, but I love reading his novels. I got this one combined with Kane and Able and really thought it was a continuation of that one, but it is entirely different characters, but still similar in a lot of respect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the book. It keeps you intrigued until the last possible moment, and has some great twists and turns, some of which are unexpected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CherryBlossom More than 1 year ago
The novel is a riveting story of two men who are raised by two families, one wealthy and the other from a middle class background. Twins separated at birth, Fletcher Davenport and Nathaniel Cartwright, grow up in different worlds and they become two of the best and most intelligent of their era. As often in Archer's books, there is a villain, Ralph Elliott. Elliott is ruthless, vengeful, and will do anything to gain all the power to reach his goals in life. He is hated by those around him and causes havoc in the twins lives. Both Davenport and Cartwright have the loves of their lives behind them. Cartwright's wife, Su Ling, is a Korean with a sinister background. His profound love of his wife shows the very romantic side of this novel. Davenport on the other hand has Annie, the sister of his best friend. Annie is also the love of Davenport's life who stands beside him through thick and thin. The two powerful men help each other through a murder trial, not knowing they are twins brought together through circumstances beyond their control. Both men are running for the governor of Connecticut, one a democrat, and the other a republican. The end of the novel tells who is the winner of this political run. The reader must remember a part of the novel which they have already read, to know what the ending means to one of the men who becomes the governor. This a powerful novel and the two twins are evermore good versus evil. Everyone should read this book from cover to cover to enjoy this gifted story. Cherry Blossom
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must admit that 'As The Crow Flies' is one of my all time favorite books from ANY author. His other works, and this one is the worst, don't come close. This one is particularly bad! Poorly researched, thrown together, daytime soap opera garbage. Archer's ignorance of American law, the U.S. military, and even American English ruins the dialogue and storyline. I can only assume that the editor just wanted to get this book on the shelves because it never would have been published without Archer's name on it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not Archer's best by a long shot. His lack of simple research into American phrases, American colleges, the legal system, etc. is appalling. He puts British phrasing and terms into American mouths and it doesn't work. Also, he seems unable to track time very well. Those boys were born in 1950 or 51. He has Nat being drafted in 1967 when he was 16 or 17. A little research would have taken care of this. Really poor effort.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Archer's 'Sons Of Fortune', is a bearable tale with an interesting plot. Though Archer clearly understands the ins and outs of the legal system, poitics, and businesses of America, he focuses primarily on them to create a story that would do much better with less of them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am surprised this was not better than I expected. Don't get me wrong, I am big fan of the author and have enjoyed his earlier work. But I think he rushed this one a little bit. I am really disappointed in the way he decided to end the story. I don't want to ruin it for everyone, but expect to be upset with the ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is completely enthralling! I read the book over a two day period and was disappointed that it had to end- the way Archer makes Nat and Fletcher dance around each other is pure genius. I hope there's a sequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
First let me say that this book is a nice change of pace from the usual who done it or around the world chases that are so popular these days. But I felt a lot of this book was filler. It seemed to drag and I was wanting the brothers relationship developed earlier. Then, the thing that had me losing sleep was that I couldn't remember who tossed the coin heads up. I remember reading it but can't recall who did it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sons of Fortune reads like a Danielle Steele contrived superficial pulp fiction. Pity to see a talent being wasted.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ok, the critics can say all they want to about how this book wasn't of Archer's usual standards. But I've read almost all of his books (in the past year, no less!), and this one was just as great. Couldn't put it down.