×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Sorcerer of the North (Ranger's Apprentice Series #5)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Sorcerer of the North (Ranger's Apprentice Series #5)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Sorcerer of the North (Ranger's Apprentice Series #5)
     

The Sorcerer of the North (Ranger's Apprentice Series #5)

4.7 657
by John Flanagan
 

See All Formats & Editions

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

Several years have passed since the apprentice and his master, Will and Halt, first met, and Will is finally a full-fledged Ranger with his own fief to look after. The fief seems sleepy?boring, even?until Lord Syron, master of a castle far in the north, is struck down

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Sorcerer of the North (Ranger's Apprentice Series #5) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 657 reviews.
Aki More than 1 year ago
This is an outstanding adventure tale and very well written. Okay I will admit it. I am an adult who read this book. Believe when I say I as old as I am, I got caught up in this story. The story is about a man named Halt who chooses an apprentice named Will. They soon learn to respect each other. Halt is a Ranger who teaches Will how to shot a longbow, use knives to throw, make himself invisible to others so he can hear what is going on in the kingdom. Halt's teaches Will not only survival skills, but how to relate to a bully who has pestered Will in school. Will learns many of life's lessons from Halt who has plenty of experience as a Ranger. Naturally there is an evil man who wants to take over the kingdom. Also there some creatures who will cause trouble for the Ranger and his apprentice. Halt can easily relate to Will's feelings and is an understanding man. There is plenty of action, adventure, wit, and character charm in this book. I would highly recomment it for any school library. It is an excellent teaching tool for a child who does not like to read. The story moves fast, the characters are people you care about, and the dialogue is excellent. Higly recomment for the young reader and older reader too.
imcgregor More than 1 year ago
The Sorcerer in the North was a great book in the adventurous series The Ranger's Apprentice. John Flanagan has done a wonderful job on this book as well as the others. As an Australian author his books have done very well even in the Untied States. The fifth book of his series is extremely action packed and always keeps you guessing what will happen next. Will has just become a ranger after years of training. His first assignment tests his limits as he is sent to investigate strange happenings in the northern part of his country, Araluen. Rumors of a sorcerer have spread and are causing trouble to the people. This wonderful author uses foreshadowing amazingly, but at the same time keeps you guessing what is going to happen next. This book kept me entertained the entire way through and I couldn't help but to keep reading to find out what happens on the next page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It speeds forward in time, skipping over the rest of Will's training, mentioning his past in 1 chapter. You don't hear of Alyss since The Burning Bridge, and she suddenly pops up as Will's romantic interest. Princess Cassandra is hardly mentioned, like a wisp of smoke in the sky, and I've noticed that some of Will's friends(George and Jenny) vanish from the story in The Burning Bridge. However, I think that The Sorcerer of the North is well written, and plenty of people will like it if they read the books in order. I read this book, and I would recommend this book to people ages 3-103.
devinm7 More than 1 year ago
Engageing reads, very thrilling and just the right size. I can sit down and read for 5 to six hours over the course of the day and be finished. No drawn out fillers. Great series. I recommend this book to anybody and everybody i know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the better books I've read. If you like this book i definetly recomend The Hungergames by Suzane Collins
cardinal79 More than 1 year ago
My 11-year old son read this book and thought it was great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books Ihave ever read. The whole series is awesome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put the book down! It was just an awesome read. The more you get into the book, the more suspenseful it gets, making it hard to put it down. You'll find yourself reading the next book in no time, especially with the cliffhanger ending...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Ranger's Apprentice series are great. I could not put them down.
writingenius21 More than 1 year ago
John Flanagan is a writing genius! His Ranger's Apprenitice books are some of the greatest storys I've ever read. His charecter portrayal and plot building is that of a master and his writing style is fluid and easy to read, which grabs you into the story. The only thing is, your going to want to read the next book as soon as possible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And I love them! I think john flanagan should write a series about halt... and I think someone should make movies from the ranger books the brother band series would make good movies too. But for them to be good who ever makes them has to stay close to the books...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book in the series so far i cant wait till i get numbr 6
psychedforreading More than 1 year ago
It's a good book. It's my least favorite in the series, but it's needed to introduce the next book in the serise which I love. Its still a good book though. I recommend the rest of the series and Warriors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive been reading it and its reallgoood. Cant wait to finish it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My Book Review Book title and author: Ranger’s Apprentice: The Sorcerer of The North by John Flanagan Title of review: Sorcerer of The North Review Number of stars (1 to 5): 4.5 stars Introduction The theme of this book is just because it is new doesn’t mean that it is bad. John wrote a very exciting book. Description and summary of content In this book Will, a new ranger, mysterious figures that most think sorcerers themselves, is sent to solve a case of sorcery. When he gets to the place he discovers a plot bigger than anyone imagined. Evaluation I loved this book and thought that is was well written and very clever. There was action at every turn. There are many twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Conclusion In conclusion I think that this book is very well written and I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wanted excitement and action.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books i have ever read!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book one of the best in the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really cool
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a great book that hass a lot of detail and adventure and action. You will love this book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Does will become a full ranger in this book or the one before this?