×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sorcery and Cecelia or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot
     

Sorcery and Cecelia or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot

4.6 41
by Patricia C. Wrede, Caroline Stevermer
 

See All Formats & Editions

A great deal is happening in London this season.
For starters, there's the witch who tried to poison Kate at Sir Hilary's induction into the Royal College of Wizards. (Since when does hot chocolate burn a hole straight through one's dress?!)
Then there's Dorothea. Is it a spell that's made her the toast of the town—or could it possibly have something

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sorcery and Cecelia or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer first published Sorcery and Cecelia under that that title in 1988. In recent years, thanks to reprints with shiny new cover art by Scott M. Fischer in the case of the edition I read as well as two new sequels, this book has regained popularity and visibility. Aside from that, one of the most important things to know about this book is its alternate title: The Enchanted Chocolate Pot: Being the Correspondence of Two Young Ladies of Quality Regarding Various Magical Scandals in London and the Country. Wrede and Stevermer wrote this book as a writing exercise of sorts called the Letter Game. Patricia C. Wrede wrote as Cecelia while Caroline Stevermer responded with Kate's letters. They did not plan the plot before they began writing. Almost every review I have found online describes Sorcery and Cecelia as a cross between the books of Jane Austen and those of J. K. Rowling. The comparison does make sense, but I might venture to say I liked this book better than any of the Harry Potter series. The year is 1817 in an England where magic is as much a part of life as letter writing. The latter is of particular importance to Kate and Cecelia as the cousins spend the novel in separate parts of England. While Kate and her more glamorous sister Georgina are in London enjoying a proper Season, Cecelia, much to her consternation, is left to languish in the country with her brother Oliver for company (at least until he's turned into a tree). Problems begin for both cousins when Kate accidentally intercepts a rather nasty pot of chocolate in a London garden that was, apparently, meant for the eccentric Marquis of Schofield. If only he would explain exactly why. Meanwhile, in the country, Cecelia finds herself following a shady figure spying on Cecy's new (and surprisingly popular!) friend Dorothea. When Cecelia repeatedly catches him in the act of spying, James Tarleton repeatedly refuses to offer any information. As the girls learn more about these mysterious men, and the mysterious events, it becomes clear that something big is happening--big enough that evidence of the plan can be seen in both London and the country. The only question is what, exactly, is going on and if Kate and Cecelia can stop it in time. Being an homage to Jane Austen, this novel has not one but two romances. Which couple is better has been a hot topic since the book came out. The librarian who recommended the book to me feels very strongly that the Mysterious Marquis and Kate are a more enjoyable match to observe. For my part, I preferred Cecelia and James. This novel avoids all of the traps that can make an epistolary novel awful. There is no repetition, there is dialogue, the narrative reads like a, for lack of a better word, normal book in that the narrative flows in a fairly traditional way. There is neither too much information nor too little. And, most importantly, the novel is filled with suspense, action, humor and romance that shines through both Cecelia's and Kate's letters. But then from two talented and well-known fantasy writers, what else can a reader expect but perfection? Sorcery and Cecelia is the first in a series of books featuring Kate and Cecelia. Their stories continue in The Grand Tour (2004) and The Mislaid Magician of Ten Years After (2006).
L-space_Minder More than 1 year ago
If the phrase "Pride and Prejudice with magic in" intrigues you, read this book. It's whimsical, occasionally hilarious, and phrases from it will mysteriously appear in your mind the next time you watch a Jane Austen movie. Highly recommended if you enjoy Jane Austen, Susanna Clarke, or Patricia Wrede's Enchanted Forest Chronicles. (Also, if you like it, check out the sequels.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lolitaraven More than 1 year ago
I didn't like this book in particular. The writing is great, and the way the book is set up is very unique, but this book was just not my cup of tea. The story wasn't that interesting and I had difficulty getting into the book. The book itself might be interesting to someone else, but it just seemed boring to me. I couldn't remember most of the secondary character either.
NovelReaction More than 1 year ago
Sorcery and Celia, or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Patricia Wrede and Caroline Stevermer is the first book in a trilogy. The book takes place in Victorian England but magic exists. Most of the book is told through letters between two cousins, Celia and Kate. It took me a minute to get used to the writing style since both characters speak in first person because they are personal letters that are written but once I got used to it the story flowed easily. Kate is in London partaking of the London Season while Celia is in the country which is why the women are writing to each other. Right after Kate arrives in London she is mistaken for another character and is almost killed by poisoned chocolate. Kate and Celia spend the rest of the novel trying to figure out why she was almost poisoned and as they get closer to the answer both their lives are threatened numerous times. During the investigation both women meet men who start to play a large part in the mystery and in their own lives. I love the friendship the two women share and the bond that exists between them that is evident in their letters. It is nice to see such a friendship between two strong women. I also love the women's attitude toward their family members. It reminded me of my own crazy family, where an aunt drives everyone nuts but you love them anyway. The story brings to light the foibles and weaknesses the two women have in addition to their strengths and I couldn't help but think of the saying that we admire people for their strengths but love them for their weaknesses. It is the way the women handle their weaknesses, while acknowledging them, that make the characters so endearing (in addition to their great wit). This is one of my favorite series and I have read it several times. I highly recommend it the entire series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dholland08 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Sorcery and Cecelia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot. The whole story is told by the letters the two main characters write to each other during the course of the book. These characters are the cousins Cecelia and Katherine, who happen to be best friends. Kate and her younger sister Georgy are off to London for a glittering first season while Cecy is left home in her family's estate in Essex. The mischief begins when Kate goes through a portal, is mistaken for someone else and is almost poisoned by an evil witch. Back in Essex, Cecy has befriended the beautiful Dorothea Griscomb, who's ability to make men fall in love her is just like magic. Both cousins are caught up in magical intruige, all during the backdrop 1817 England, the only difference being magic exists and is acknowledged. Sometimes humorous, sometimes suspenseful, and sprinkled with romance, this novel is a witty engaging tale that I would definitely reccomend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book rocks!!! If you like magic, Adventure & Romance this is the book. it's great i can't get enough of it. i've read it a least 20 times over.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It took a few pages to really get into the story, but once I did, I had fun reading through. The blend of friendship and magic is wonderful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a great book for any young adult interested in magic, romance, and mystery. Is definitly a must have!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of my favorites because I didn't want it to end. It's crazy, but in a good way. The way things are expressed is quite the times, and very interesting to hear gossip of society put in with the plot. This book is very interesting with a sense of humor. The book keeps you hooked, it doesn't move slowly!!! The magic put in adds some unpredicablilty, too. It's hard to believe that the authors didn't plan what they were supposed to do together!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Kate and Cecelia rush into the thick of things and make their own trouble before sorting everything out. I am intrigued by the idea of writing letters back and forth in character in a 'letter-game.' I first read Wrede's Enchanted Chronicles a long time ago and this has been a very nice return to her stories. I am definitly looking forward to reading 'The Grand Tour.'