×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Sound of Waves
     

The Sound of Waves

4.0 25
by Yukio Mishima, Meredith Weatherby (Translator), Yoshinori Kinoshita (Introduction)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Set in a remote fishing village in Japan, The Sound of Waves is a timeless story of first love. A young fisherman is entranced at the sight of the beautiful daughter of the wealthiest man in the village. They fall in love, but must then endure the calumny and gossip of the villagers.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Sound of Waves 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a vey good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U hybbyb y uyu Piy h I U.Yy bpuwy uzniuhbhyynl n u uhj Noyu l
2_Many_Movies More than 1 year ago
Mishima obviously isn't for everyone. I've read almost everything he has written that has been translated into English (I wish there were more to read), the reviews that say "the teacher made me read it" and "this is boring" don't surprise me, today's younger set are too immature for slow reads (yes this is slow but that doesn't mean boring) and in a world of iPhones and instant gratification, this kind of reading is a lost art. The characters are well drawn, the plot basically is a loving relationship between a young boy and girl on an island, a small fishing village where people are bound to talk. This is one of Mishima's lighter works, many of his books are complex and revolve around death. Sound of Waves is a great read if you are mature enough to understand it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wencer More than 1 year ago
This book has something for everyone. For those who want a light read, The Sound of Waves offers a warm love story. For those who want to analyze things to death, this book asserts the theme modernism vs. traditionalism and exposes the corruption of industrialization. Nice book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi.Mrs.Till.Pr.5.Rachel.k More than 1 year ago
Instead of the modern love themes (a big tragedy, playboy falls in love with a stern girl, etc.), The Sound of Waves, by Yukio Mishima tells of a simple yet whimsical love story between a boy and a girl. It is a love story that shows the innocence and purity of true love. The novel takes on a light and cheery tone throughout the book while quickly entrancing the reader to turn the page. The Sound of Waves does not have many scenes that include dialogue. However, it is compensated by the marvelous descriptions of the scenes of the island. ¿As Shinji rounded Woman¿s Slope even that small wind died away, and there was nothing left in the dusk but calm shafts of radiance pouring down between the clouds.¿ (Mishima p.50) The details given by the author could be literally painted on a canvas. The characters also make The Sound of Waves a worthwhile book to read. Each character is scrutinized to every detail, vividly and uniquely. It allows the readers to fully explore and understand the characters while appreciating their value to the plot.

Although this story is not for the deeply analytical, it does bring a somewhat satisfying feeling as you read through the plot. The only cons of this book were that there could have been more suspense for the building of the climax. It did not seem to really leave an impression on me as a reader. Basically saying, it was too short and needed more thrill. Also, there were a few mildly-graphic parts in this book. I felt fine reading it, but to those who are younger or immature, I do not recommend this book to you. I personally think that this book weaves a beautiful love story together using a rather poetic language. The words that are used throughout the story are of a high level vocabulary. I recommend this book, The Sound of Waves, by Yukio Mishima, to anyone who wants to experience a lyrical love story and a happy ending that makes a person smile and feel warm inside.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a simple book and I thought that although nothing happened in it at all, some of the descriptions were well-written (although the descriptions were mostly unnecessary and random). The characters were one dimensional and the more I read the book, the more I wanted Shinji to die. Of course, I found nothing interesting about the book and only read it because my teacher made me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was the most boring book I've ever read. My teacher made us read it, and went into great depth about the symbols and it completely ruined my outlook on this type of book. Do not read it. It was simply random, going into great lengths about out of the blue stuff that makes absolutely no sense. Teachers should not make their students read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Sound of Waves is the Japanese Romeo and Juliet, with lyrical, elegant writing. Like the pearl divers in the novel, the reader discovers treasured insights into another culture with the timeless conflicts and emotions of first love. Who will Hatsue marry? Who will her father permit her to marry?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book if you are looking for a short book to read. The tale of this dedicated love is pure and is different from any other love story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the nonel yet at certain tiimes it was to indepth, causing some confusion. I woul have to agree with it being considered a Jappeneese version of Romeo and Juliet. Some brief dicustion, it was ok over all
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was great. It showed the indepth view of Japanesse Culture. I recomend this book to all the people who love to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It gives great insight on Japanese Culture. It is a great read and I recommend it to all!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought that this was a nice love story about two young japenese kids that fall in love. I picked this book out because the title appealed to me. After I got into the book I was hooked from beginning to end. In conclusion, this is a great book with something for everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you loved or even just like Romeo and Juliet, this story will be a great read for you. It has the same amout love lost and differentiantion in family.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was an intriguing literary masterpiece that delves into the mentality its characters, as well as accurately portrays the cultural aspects of rural Japan. This timely love story has been written many times, BUT Yukio Mishima's literary style develops new aspects to an age-old theme. Also, the author is as interesting as the book. Highly recommended and an overall good read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought (in chapter 13) where they talked all about their breasts, was quite revealing. I did not mind it but some crazy parents might find it crazy though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It starts out learning about the island. Then Shinji the main character runs into Hatsue the daughter of a rich person on the island. It is pretty much a Japanese version of Romeo and Juilet. Only there is a happy ending in the end instead of death. So you should read this book
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the most intellectually written romanctic stories ever created is The Sound of Waves. It was written as if it was acted out on a film. Mishima's Sound of Waves certainly is a can't-miss-out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was way too boring and, for lack of a better word, disgusting. Nothing exciting ever happens and it was just sick. Do NOT read this, I do not recommend this at all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book wasn't that great. It was boring and so horribly detailed about the most minute things I could barely get through it. Teachers, if you want kids to stay in school then make sure that this book is not on the reading list.