×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

South of Bixby Bridge
     

South of Bixby Bridge

3.7 73
by Ryan Winfield
 
2011 Breakout Novel -- About to turn 30 and being discharged from drug rehab, Trevor Roberts is sure he's hit bottom with nowhere to go but up. He soon learns that sometimes the "bottom" is just the beginning. With more twists than California's Highway 1, the intimate narrative follows a young man on a wild month-long ride to the dizzying, drunken heights of Napa

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

South of Bixby Bridge 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 72 reviews.
CameliaMironSkiba More than 1 year ago
I'm not an addict. I'm not. Never been drunk in my life. Never seen drugs in real life, let alone touching or inhaling/injecting them. I only play a few games (Scrabble, Lines, Words with Friends, Chinese Chess) and that’s if my son joins me. And yet there is something I'm in danger of becoming addicted to--Ryan Winfield's work. By the way his debut novel is acclaimed I probably won't say anything that hasn't already been said, but SOBB is by a mile one of the best books I've read. It's not as much the story, which brings to mind a dalliance between Wall Street, Limitless and Two for the Money, but the author's voice. For that alone I give it more stars than I can count. Never read anything even remotely close to it. Refreshing, engaging, inspiring, through and through pure art at its best. There are people out there for which telling stories comes natural, captivating audience in a matter of minutes. Ryan Winfield is one of them—a painter if you will, masterfully and effortlessly painting vivid scenes not by using brushes, but with words instead. Reading the first paragraph I was surprised how easily I could imagine the scene. By the time I finished the first page I was hooked. Coffee and chocolate helped me stay up all night to finish it. No way I could put it down! Unfortunately I can never describe a book without giving away the story (what can I say? I'm not perfect). But let me tell you this: as one who has never tried drugs or been drunk in my entire life, the journey addict Trevor Roberts embarks on is a riveting life lesson. It's not about where he goes, but how he makes it there. You're down, hitting rock bottom with the hero, feeling his struggle, denial, torment, and sorrow. You're up with him, high, rooting for him to get on the other side of the bridge, one step at a time. Rarely does a book embody a range of emotions such as this. There are no quotation marks in this book, but I promise you, you'll know who’s talking. It might be difficult in the beginning, but once you grasp it, you won't even notice it. The connection between present time and past memories is smoothly created, without jarring the reader away from the storyline. The book is entirely written from Trevor's point of view without one second of monotony, but rather engaging and intriguing. The story is paced, building up, until the climax with a comforting aftermath. I sure hope I won't have to wait too long until his next release...
lm4 More than 1 year ago
This book might be fiction but it is the world right now,,, it's about drugs, rehab and life. If you think it's not happening around you are wrong. great ...read!!!
agreg More than 1 year ago
Great book, you won't be sorry just buy it! I'm sorry to keep it vague, but I do not claim to be a literary critic. My review is just based on my opinion which is this is a great story wonderfully written and left me wanting to read more from Mr. Winfield!
RomanticReadingEscapes1 More than 1 year ago
Diary of an Addict This was a very fast read of a gripping account of life as an addict. Trevor has lost his job, his home, his girlfriend, and feels as though he has nothing left. He finds himself in a downward spiral of alcohol, drugs and sex...basically on the road straight to Hell. It is difficult for me to review this book without giving so much away, and this review will be different from most I have done in the way it is written...this is not a sweet story. This is a very dark read with emotional, traumatic, and sometimes shocking events that unfold in a powerful way. This is the story of a young man's journey through the pits of Hell to find redemption and come to peace with his repressed memories of a very traumatic past. Trevor is seduced not only by women, but by every sinful temptation he comes in contact with. I found myself cheering for Trevor to find his way...to succeed in his quest for rehabilitation...to find that peace in himself. I felt such compassion for this one man's story. Trevor had the world at his feet...money, the girl, the home...I mean, the man had a Porche for Heaven's sake... but his character became so depraved. His choices became those of an out-of-control mad man. I became so frustrated with Trevor through his cycle of addiction...then rehab...then fall from the wagon...then rehab; I found myself in a supporting role where Trevor was concerned. I imagine my feelings were those of any friend or family member close to someone with an addiction. I've experienced someone I love going through the pain of alcoholism, and yes, folks...it is very real and very dark. I was that invested; Trevor's story felt that real to me. I felt hatred, fear, angst, and sadness....until Trevor decided he really does WANT to be clean and sober. At that point, I was an emotional and blubbering mess. This book reads like a personal account or diary, if you will, and I can't help but think the author has experienced this himself, or has really done a great amount of research in this torrid and dark area of reality. Not only does this book give an emotional account, but it is laced with beautiful poetry. Now, with all of that said, I did have difficulty with one area: punctuation. I sometimes found myself getting confused in the dialogue, because the quotation marks just didn't exist. I'm not sure if it was just my e-copy, a [huge] oversight of the editor, or if it was meant to be written that way...again, it did appear more to me as a memoir or diary, so I choose to believe it was intentional. I will give this book 4 stars and recommend it to those who have ever found themselves forced into an ugly reality, lost a loved one, and to those who have ever felt loneliness, rejection, and fear....but, you had better have the tissues close by. Did I find myself smiling at the end? Oh, yes! There is hope, redemption, and peace to be found...not only by Trevor, but by the reader through Trevor's experiences. There are many unsavory and loving supporting characters, but Trevor's account outshines them and needs to be the focus of my review...just as it is in the book. To Ryan Winfield: from wherever this story came to you, I thank you for sharing and bringing to the forefront that ugly disease called "addiction" that we, the public, sometimes tend to hide away for fear of embarrassment or shame. Follow Romantic Reading Escapes Book Blog for reviews and more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The next fifty shades as in popularity, not content. Sometimes I wonder about education in America today. Good new author!
Froken_Victoria More than 1 year ago
Never having gone down the road of addiction, I was ignorant of the truth, the scope, the depth of an addict's pain and the twisted reasoning that accompanies it. In Bixby Bridge I learned that it is more than physical pain, more than emotional pain, more than the sum of the two. This book was an amazing insight that helped me understand on many different levels just how difficult it would be to escape such a lifestyle. The story was hard to read, an emotional roller coaster. It was draining and depressing at times. Bizarre, outlandish circumstances and characters, and yet in Ryan Winfield's telling, it all seemed plausible. For some readers it may be too graphic, too sordid, too raw, but to someone who has lived it, the story probably sounds quite realistic and honest in tone. It was compelling and I read the entire book in one day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a good fast paced read. I did enjoy the story line and how personal the story was. If you were told it was in the same line as 50 shades it is not. I would recommend this as a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful poetic journey that will have laughing, crying and shouting out loud. It's a must read. Its wortg every penny. Believe me, you won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will BN get this on Ebook anytime soon?
frogg71 More than 1 year ago
I have been through hell and back, more than once, and came out the other side. I'm a little sad, more than a little dazed, and can only throw back my head and yell YES! I LOVED THIS BOOK! Generally speaking, the story grabs you right away, refusing to let go until the last sentence (and what a good one it is). The prose flows freely, yet it can be choppy and disjointed, much like the mind it's pouring out from. Trevor is... I don't even know how to describe him. He's a total mess, and yet you're on his side the entire time, hoping today's the day he's going to pull his head out of his ass and run away from the mess in which he has immersed himself. This is a man completely at the will of his addictions, too enthralled to even question the walls of his life crumbling around him. His story begins at the bottom, and then just goes downhill from there. Oh, but what a wonderful thing a second chance can be... and sometimes, a third. Personally speaking, this story ripped me wide open and bled me nearly dry, then picked me up, dusted me off, and gave me a little hug before sending me on my way with just a little more hope than I had before. Trevor spoke directly to my past, and it was truly one of the hardest reads in a very long time. Necessary, I think, but so very hard. Read this book! Let the prose take you where you might be afraid to go, and don't let yourself get caught up on details like quotation marks or the need for a story to march forward relentlessly. Trevor reveals himself to us with both his past and present, weaving together to show us the entire picture at once. Don't be afraid of the subject matter, because Trevor can teach us all something, regardless of if we relate to him or not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Compared by many to 50 Shades, it was MUCH BETTER than that. Well written, good pacing. You will remember it long after you have read it, which to me has been the hallmark of a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, great read! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book, very accurate account of the life of an addict.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like both books I have bought.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading "South Of Bixby Bridge".  All I can say is WOW!  What a great book!  It is not a pretty story or a feel good book, but it  definitely grabs you from the first few pages. The author did it again as I  shed a few tears with this one too.  For a first novel from this author, it was great.  Didn't want to put it down.  Please read this author's work.  You won't be sorry.   
ldd6853 More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I read by this author and I normally don't read books like this. After finishing the book I'm really glad I took a chance. The story that unfolded was very believable and I really enjoyed the character of Trevor. His story is one that needed to be told and I'm very glad I read it. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very touching story of trials and tribulations, following Trevor made me understand what some of those close to me go through. Prayer is a powerful thing for all even those who don't believe.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was an incredible journey into a world that many don't know, or they choose to ignore. Addiction and desire to escape what you don't want to face. Watching someone be devoured by a need as their mind races to break free. Yet another book by Ryan Winfield I couldn't put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Not because it is warm and fuzzy-but because it isn't! It is easy to "feel" the experiences that Trevor barrels through because this book is so well written. You don't have to be an addict to identify with the character; life is hard. Pain is pain.  I look forward to reading more of Ryan Winfield's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a very true to life story, more so than some realize. Once again I was able to connect with the character. Ryan has away of bringing his characters to life, captivating you with their experiences and emotions bringing the story true to life. Once again great read.
jdoria More than 1 year ago
Found this to be an excellent read,Love ALL of Mt. Winfield's books that I have read so far, and have to say, looking forward to more from you, Ryan!
pumpkin2009 More than 1 year ago
There was one part I got lost in but found my way back. Sometimes I do that but if I have to go back and reread some chapters I do this. then I realise what I did. Missed it to begin with. He is a good writer I am sure he has other books out there too that I would like to read. I am on to Park Service now.
dyans More than 1 year ago
I was not gonna buy, for personal reasons. I'm not an addict, thought that might pop in your head. Was afraid it would be too cruel. After a chat about some honey, I started my book. Before I was halfway through ,I bought two more of his books. You, Mr Winfield, really are quite good you know! Thanks for the pleasure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book by a new author. I recommend reading it - I liked the writing style which is a change from what I usually read.
booboo2004 More than 1 year ago
Still near the middle and just bought the book so I can finish it.  Does he really want his ex back?  He keeps throwing himself into the difficult situations with no means of getting out of them. I can't wait to get the "rest of the story", as they say!!!