×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

South of the Pumphouse
     

South of the Pumphouse

4.1 8
by Les Claypool
 

See All Formats & Editions


A dark, clever tale of two brothers, a fishing trip, drugs, and murder, this novel skillfully combines classic motifs of epic struggle and intelligent layers of imagery, reminiscent of The Old Man and the Sea, and the raw, tweaked perspective of a Hunter S. Thompson novel.

Les Claypool established himself as the most original rock bassist in the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

South of the Pumphouse 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Big Les Claypool fan and have to say i loved this book. I went into this book not expecting much and came out wondering if he wrote any more books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
With intricate details and his twisted sense of humor Les Claypool has written ne of the craziest stories I've read to date. Claypools personality is clearly portrayed in his writing style. Just when you think you have it all figured out he throws in one heck of a twist that will leave you speachless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being a Primus fan for well over a decade it was a given that I would be picking this up. Being an avid reader of snobby literature for several years now it was not a given that I would enjoy it. Thankfully I did, as Claypool's knack for clever lyrics translates well into novel form. In particular were several extremely vivid scenes, mostly the first and last chapters featuring Earl. Quite enjoyable, and if he writes another book it could really be something special, but as it stands my favorite bit of written word by the man remains Over The Electric Grapevine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
as a fan of les, i saw he had a book and rushed to the store to buy it. As a younger reader it was pretty crazy, but i still enjoyed it. You can obviously wonder if any of it was true because some of the subjects relate to songs during his primus carrier. we'll never know, but, great book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a fan of Mr. Claypool and all of his work, I was eager to read his firsr novel. The only dissapointment was the length and the font size vs. price. However the story is funny and progressive. When I finished I wondered if any or all of this ever took place or if these people are real. Would rate 4 stars, but it has a price for what is really a short story. Still recommend this book.