×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Speak Softly, She Can Hear: A Novel
  • Alternative view 1 of Speak Softly, She Can Hear: A Novel
  • Alternative view 2 of Speak Softly, She Can Hear: A Novel
     

Speak Softly, She Can Hear: A Novel

3.7 25
by Pam Lewis
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this “gripping psychological thriller” (New York Post), two best friends at an exclusive Manhattan girls’ school make a pact: they will lose their virginity before graduation.

Carole is a shy, overweight scholarship student who finds herself under the spell of the charismatic, pedigreed Naomi—it’s an unlikely friendship

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Speak Softly, She Can Hear 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Negative stars. Do not waste money on this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
suezang More than 1 year ago
I purchased this thinking it was going to have suspense and something to keep my interest. The only interest I ended up having was reading further to see when it was going to get good. All of a sudden, all the "action" happens and then the book is over. SO, I gave it three stars for potential, but definitely would not recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was excited to read this book; purchased it over what I had intended to buy for reading on an 8 hour flight, and was sorely disappointed. The back cover was interesting, the first few chapters maintained, and then it just nose dived. The ending? Very predictable!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this as a clearance book and am glad it only cost $4.98! It's supposed to be a psychological thriller. But there wasn't anything thrilling about it. One person said it kept you guessing. Not true. It was formulaic and easy to figure out. It's been done before. No depth to the characters except maybe the main one but she was really written stupidly for someone supposed to be so smart. A straight A prep school student on her way to Vassar would have figured her way out of this mess within the first chapters. Read The Secret History by Donna Tartt. Several reviewers compared this book to that one. Boy did they get it wrong. Just read them both and you'll see the difference. I'd only recommend this book if you have nothing better to do. And personally, I would consider housework something better to do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! For those who enjoy a twisted plot, this book is a must read. Was exciting from front to back. Only unsurity is why the vilain did the things he did, other than the fact he was purely psychotic. Also great for fans of forensic fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book began okay. Then it slowed down and got pretty boring. I wanted to see how it ended so I skipped through a lot of it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. I like the authors writing style and enjoyed the storyline.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed with this book. It starts out pretty good, all though a little strange. From there, it is just plain boring. The ending was predictable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm trying to figure out where the good reviews came from. The story was an okay story, but I quickly became frustrated with the main character. She allowed herself to be walked on by every body she met. In addition, she was someone that I simply couldn't relate to and I didn't belive that this story could even be plausable. I was bored from page one. The writing was a bit simple and didn't grasp me as other books have done. If you're thinking of reading this - either buy it cheap or go to a library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book starts off where you may ask yourself why am i reading this but it turns into a great story full of suspense.It has a great twist at the end that makes it worth reading.I was very satisfied with the outcome of the story.I definetly reccomend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I started reading the rather raunchy first chapter, I wasn't quite sure this was the type of book I would enjoy, but once past the details of that night which sets the tone for the story, I had a very hard time putting it down. Although with Carole's intellegence and as the years pass and she became older, she should have figured out what really happened that night, I did find the book very captivating and it really held my interest. Very well written and I highly recommend it for those that enjoy psychological thrillers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
...continues the page turning pace throughout. Put me in the mind-set of A Simple Plan where circumstances and subsequent decisions have far reaching, unforseen consequences.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put the book down! Excellent writing and reading
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once this story of a raunchy weekend gone bad gets underway, it's carried irresistibly forward by the author's sheer narrative power. Once shy, overweight teenager Carole is convinced by her two companions that she inadvertently killed a strange woman during a drunken sexual episode, she is their victim for years to come. Running away seems to make no difference. One or both of these smarmy characters manages to show up on her doorstep to torment her further. The only issue I had was with credibility - it was hard to imagine a woman of Carole's intelligence not figuring out from a more mature perspective what must have really happened that night. Nonetheless, this is an absorbing story with a sympathetic heroine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
while I had a hard time putting it down because I was curious to see where the story would lead, I didn't feel it was worth buying...it was interesting however I'd advise to wait for it in paperback if you must purchase it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In 1965,Carole is a shy,overweight,naive 16 year old girl.Attending an all girls academy,at her parents insistence,she is quickly shut out by the snobby cliques that dominate the school.Enter Naomi,a rebelious outcast who quickly become Carole's 'Best Friend',giving a whole new meaning to the the term 'With Friends Like This You Don't Need Any Enemies.' On a skiing trip during spring break,where Carole and,supposedly Naomi,are determined to lose their virginity,Carole is introduced to Eddie,a 26 year old sociopath.Carole and Eddie's tryst is interupted by a third person,Rita,showing up and that's when Carole's living nightmare begins.Without giving too much of it away,starting and ending with a ski trip,the story takes the reader through the next decade where Carole has made a life for herself but the past won't stay buried.Although there are a few unclear parts in this book,such as who was Rita?,how did Naomi and Eddie meet?,why did Carole let herself continue to be such a victim?,the story was very good,I thought.Once I started reading,it was hard to put down.For a first novel,I think Pam Lewis did a good job and hope to read more from her in the future.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1965 New York City Carole, an overweight shy student is determined to lose her virginity before she begins Vassar. Her best friend Naomi arranges for Carole to meet twenty-six year old Eddie in Vermont so he can teach her about sex. Carole gets very drunk so that when Rita appears for a ménage a trois she does it. Caroline remembers little except that Rita is dead and Eddie claims she broke her neck. From that day forward, Caroline¿s life is never the same. Eddie blackmails her for money and her parent¿s valuables. She runs away to San Francisco and lives in a commune with her friend Rachel and her son Pepper when Eddie once again shows up to terrorize Carole and even hits Pepper, scarring him for life. The small family relocates to Montpellier, Vermont where Carole opens a restaurant and moves in with the love of her life. She thinks she is safe until Naomi and Eddie arrive and their unholy triangle explodes in violence leaving two people dead and one severely injured. Carole is a vulnerable and frightened person but readers won¿t feel sorry for her because she allows herself to be a victim, first by letting Eddie intimidate her and then by causing her parents¿ untold grief when she runs away. Eddie is a true sociopath a remorseless stalker who enjoys tormenting Carole; he also keeps tabs on her so he can hurt her some more. Pam Lewis¿ debut novel is a chilling thriller, full of non-stop action that grips readers so much that they will finish this novel in one sitting. Harriet Klausner