×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Spectacular Now
     

The Spectacular Now

3.4 92
by Tim Tharp, MacLeod Andrews (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

This National Book Award Finalist is now a major motion picture -- one of the most buzzed-about films at Sundance 2013, starring Shailene Woodley (star of The Fault in our Stars and Divergent) and Miles Teller (star of Whiplash).

SUTTER KEELY. HE’S the guy you want at your party. He’ll get everyone dancing. He’ ll get everyone

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Spectacular Now (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 92 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So far from what I have read in the comments most people have said that the ending is bad and has no answers, but isn't that the point of the book. There are no real answers in life, but to live in the now. If you spend to much time thinking about the future you won't see the real beauty in living. IF YOU HAVE READ THROUGH ALL OF THIS CONGRATS AND REMEMBER THESE ARE MY OPINIONS SO IT IS NOT REQUIRED YOU TAKE THIS TO HEART AND START JUDGING THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ THIS.
mkmtt More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I mean im only fourteen...considering. Regardless, the book just completely entertained me, it was too funny. I think Sutter is my new favourite character, and Ive decided I will too, embrace the weird. Worth your money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honestly, this book was amazing! Sure the ending wasn't great but it was realistic! You don't need sutter or anyone to have character developement because in real life, sometimes people don't change! This book was real and truly amazing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I watched the trailer before reading this book and was really pumped. Apparently the movie will be very different from the book.. i feel like the character was a fun guy, yeah, but it all got a bit annoying after a while. The ending mad me want to scream at the author. But i read this book in one sitting, so i guess that shows it was still pretty addicting and a good read nevertheless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At the beginning of this book I was hopeful for Sutter, and he is a very likeable character but as the book continues I realized that the way he describes and sees certain situations isn't always the truth and the way he solves his problems is in a way that benefits only him. Until the very last page of the book I was hoping he would change and start doing and seeing what's right but I finished the book feeling completely unsatisfied. The book ended with the main character just as he was in the beginning and it just felt like a waste of time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would have to agree with all of the people below about the ending but i just have a few things to add. When i finished reading this book i was insanely upset with the ending. But when i got past that and looked at the book as a whole i realized that sutter although sadly probably won't change did do something good. If sutter wasn't around then Aimee wouldn't have ever gpne to college and started her life. So sutter might be a bit hated but atleast he effected aomwone's life for the better in the long run. If you goten thus far onto reading this then congrates because most people wouldn't read this long review. This all an opinion and you don't have to agree. I just tjpught i would put it out there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's very different from your normal young adult books , but trust me it is very worth the buy and very worth the time reading:):):)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far my favorite book. I felt the story become a part of me. Mr. Tharp did an exeptional job of capturing what it is truly like feeling love for the first time. I cannot pick apart this narrative because in all honesty, it is absolutely perfect. This novel will make you feel as the characters jump to life right before your eyes. PS. Read the book before watching the movie. There are some strong differences.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just watched the ending and oh my holy cheese! I completly broke down. What happens after that. It is so beautiful.... u have no idea unless u've seen it. People who have, am i right or am i right.
Jaska97 More than 1 year ago
Very real, raw. Ending was one to think about but sadly very realistic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It only took me around two days to read it! I really liked it. Cant wait to see the movie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book did nothing for me. It was doing good but the ending left me wondering what happened.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was all hyped up to read this book after seeing the trailer for the movie, but I have to say that I am sadly disappointed. There was little to no character development and really no plot. I couldn't put this book down and finished it in one day but I think that was mainly because I was waiting for something to actually happen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AMAZING BOOK! Could not put it down. Definitely wouldve wished the ending wouldve ended differently but overall the story of two opposites falling in love really makes this book a must read. Highly recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A unique high school story. It tugged all the emotions, I laughed, I cried, & got frustrated with the characters. Overall, it was amazing. Super excited to see the movie.
Chris Neumann More than 1 year ago
amazing edition of a true novel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was really a great book! Very good reading experience!
KDH_Reviews More than 1 year ago
The characters in this book are fantastic. They are the kind of characters I love. I can see myself, my friends in them. They are real, relatable, and wonderful. Sutter, oh I just loved him so much.I loved my very own Sutter once (and for far too long). I think it's safe to say that we all know our own Sutter. He's an absolutely wonderful guy. He simply just falls short in the end. He's larger than life, intelligent in his own way, popular in that way that allows him to be friends with anyone, but he'll never be able to fulfill his full potential. He's got no long term direction and just free floats through life. And then, there's Amy. I think we all know an Amy, too. She's awkward, sweet, and soft-spoken. So much potential and all she needs is her own Sutter to unleash it all. The writing is funny, sad, messy, and really captures teenage life. Yeah, there's underage drinking and sex. It's not obnoxious or dramatic, but it's real. These things happen, whether or not people admit it. Life is messy and sometimes it's hard to navigate. We all try our best. I believe Tim Tharp paints a beautifully crazy picture. Yeah, it might not end in a way we'd like, but it works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book a lot. Wasn't completely thrilled with the ending though. It was so short I thought my nook froze and left out about 200 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it so much i accualy like the main cherector unlike some people. I like the plot as well. It is realistic and well writen. I recomend it. I also saw the trailer for the movie and really want to see it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Personally, I did not enjoy this book as much as I was hoping I would. I saw the trailer for the movie and was immediately drawn to the plot. At first, I liked Sutter. He had problems, but I felt like there was hope for him by the end of novel. I read it all in one setting, though only because I kept hoping for something 'spectacular' to happen. But it never did. Sutter ended the book as selfish and drunk as he was in the beginning. Overall, the book felt static. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is just like Sutter. It only cares about now. It doesn't think about solutions, resolutions, or even conclusions. Just the now. It is not spectacular, it ends up passed out in the bathroom with puke on it's face. I don't say this often or even lightly, the movie looks better than the book ~ The fabulous MS X
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was dissapointed in how the main character developed. Nothing was resolved and the story just went on and on without any answers. Terrible ending!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hope the movies as good as the trailor made the book seem to be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was pretty disappointed in this book. I had read reviews that said how amazing it was, and saw the trailer for the movie, so I decided to read it. I'm one of those people who will only watch a movie based on a book if I've read the book first. Sutter has no character development, there's no plot or story arc, he learns nothing, and if anything, is a less like-able character at the end of the book than he is in the beginning. It's a waste of time and money to read this book. You're almost left scratching your head at the end of the book thinking, "Really? That's it?" I hate to say this because I mostly dislike when books are turned into movies, but I am pretty sure the movie will be much better.