×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Spillover: Animal Infections and the Next Human Pandemic
     

Spillover: Animal Infections and the Next Human Pandemic

4.8 8
by David Quammen
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0393066800

ISBN-13: 9780393066807

Pub. Date: 10/01/2012

Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.

The emergence of strange new diseases is a frightening problem that seems to be getting worse. In this age of speedy travel, it threatens a worldwide pandemic. We hear news reports of Ebola, SARS, AIDS, and something called Hendra killing horses and people in Australia—but those reports miss the big truth that such phenomena are part of a single pattern. The

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Spillover: Animal Infections and the Next Human Pandemic 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
T_inSanDiego More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. I'm a microbiology geek but haven't been around the subject for years. Spillover doesn't dummy-down the facts like so many other books. Quammen describes the facts clearly yet doesn't bog down on the details, e.g., differences between DNA and RNA viruses and why its important to know those differences. I found it amazingly informative and entertaining. I was a Peace Corps volunteer in Gabon during a couple of the ebola outbreaks. Reading about those outbreaks from a scientist/CDC persepective was especially interesting. Non-scientist will love this book if they have any interest in diseases and how they spread.
McFriendly More than 1 year ago
While this book was well written and imparted a lot of good information - especially on the origins of HIV/AIDS - some of it was a bit on the dense scientific side... that said, the author's pointing out HOW diseases cross the species barrier was scary and things got really interesting when he brought us along on his journeys to some of Africa's hot spots for a first hand look.
SongSanDiego More than 1 year ago
Even though I am not a scientist, I read extensively about biology, genetics, microbiology, etc. This book may be a little over your head if you are a complete stanger to the world of microbiology, but if you have a patient and curious mind, you will find a wonderful and scary world of germs. The writing is not hard. The content is hard. Incredible research. I've learned so much from this book. I would like to read more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
David Quammen tells engaging, first-hand stories of some of the most dangerous and exciting zoonotic viruses from around the world. Quammen has a special ability to make the reader feel as if they are experiencing the same journeys and expeditions that he himself spent years committing his life to. He provides a perfect combination of factual evidence and anecdotal side-stories to help the reader understand the significance of each virus and how it is transmitted through animals to humans without overwhelming them with unnecessary facts. This book is a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Book! Must read! As long as you can understand (and withstand) the dry scientific language throughout. Should have an interest in microbiology/infectious disease/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago