×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Spirit of Sweetgrass: a Novel
     

The Spirit of Sweetgrass: a Novel

3.9 18
by Nicole Seitz
 

See All Formats & Editions

Essie Mae Laveau Jenkins is a 78-year-old sweetgrass basket weaver who sits on the side of Hwy. 17 in the company of her dead husband, Daddy Jim. Inspired by her Auntie Leona, Essie Mae finally discovers her calling in life and weaves powerful "love baskets," praying fervently over them to affect the lives of those who visit her roadside stand. When she's faced

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Spirit of Sweetgrass: a Novel 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
FreedomInk More than 1 year ago
What if our ancestors really did look over us? What if heaven is real and sometimes we're given a second chance at life? What if we each have a destiny to fulfill and the Creator ain't calling us home till the mission is complete? Nicole Seitz has weaved a beautiful tale of family, love and forgiveness. As a native of south east Georgia, I'd like to research my lineage. I wonder if Gullah/Geechee blood courses through my veins. I'd certainly be proud to be related to the likes of Essie Mae! Amazing book. Great read. Beautiful flow. Kudos to the Author on a job well done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
very good story line. Keeps you wondering whats going to happen next. Okay read, nice homey feel. dragged a bit towards the middle of the book. but ended on a good beat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found "The Spirit of Sweetgrass" inspiring & capivating. I was touched by the interactions of the family and friends. When we think about our spirit, mortality and life we often forget the purpose and joy our lives have to offer others. We forget how intertwined our lives are with those around us. I was thinking the story would have a certain ending then it surprised me with an ever better ending! Hurray to the author that brought this new awakening to life!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an easy read if you like fantasy. There was a plot twist that lost me as well as some members of my book club.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a soothing balm for the soul. The Low Country setting and the characters in this faith-filled book will speak to you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a sweet book, and gosh, I loved the character Essie Mae. She has the heart of an angel, and I would love to think that she is a real person, and I knew her. I laughed so much because she gave new meaning to heaven. Buy this one.....you'll feel renewed and refreshed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read other best-selling lowcountry novels, and this book was so entertaining, easy-to-read, was educational and has Christian integrity. Nicole talks about heaven and the spiritual realm in a very palpable way and with God's sovereignty and great sense of humor! I laughed out loud and I also teared up when Eliza's character was revealed. [I miscarried last summer so that hit very close to home, in a good way.] On a ligher note, whenever I see a sweetgrass lady on the side of the road here, I want to stop & ask her if she knew Essie Mae and have to remind myself that she's not really real. I can't say enough good things about this book and have recommended it to many girlfriends. It makes a great lowcountry gift and an educationl tool about the Gullah culture. Please visit Nicole's website for the latest about her book's success!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book after hearing Nicole Seitz speak. She was delightful, so I began the book thinking it would be something to pick up for a few days. Being familiar with the basket ladies on Highway 17, the book initially appealed because of familiarity, to some extent, with the subject. I could not put it down. I read until I couldn't focus, slept a few hours and got up at six to finish. Essie Mae's unconditional love for her family, and her determination to live her life as fully as possible regardless of the problems involved are an inspiration to anyone. I look forward to Nicole Seitz's next book...and the next...and the next...
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Spirit of Sweetgrass was such a delightful, thought-invoking story. I lost my husband to cancer in September, 2006. As one can imagine, I yearned for my husband to contact me as Daddy Jim did Essie Mae. Since we had visited Charleston and experienced the basket ladies in the market, {Essie Mae is right, they are not all as friendly as she}, many memories were brought to the surface such as that narrow bridge and blue ceilings on the porches of the houses on the Battery. Nichole's imagination is a joy and right-on with human emotion. I anxiously await her next novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book on a monday and finished reading it on a wensday night Ive never lived in the south and Ive never had a close family and that'ssomething i want really bad when i read this book it just made me feel like Essie May was part of me All i can say is its a great book if u dint like the book so be it but point out some good things about the book for other readers so they can give it a chance
Guest More than 1 year ago
Reading this book was so enjoyable. I laughed and I cried. The characters are so real and likeable. They're people I wish I could really meet. The story has some great twists that made me not want to put it down. I'll read this again and again and recommend it to friends.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the author's talent in allowing the reader to feel so close to Essie Mae. The book will leave you feeling satisfied and hopeful. The book is very well-written. Read if you need a lift.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book reminds me of Mary Alice Monroe's 'Sweetgrass.' Pick up a copy of that and you will see that the storylines are very similar. Monroe's is much better written and with a more effortless style. I haven't lived in Charleston since I was 24, over 10 years now, and the voice in my head and heart of Charleston, the south, and the basket weavers along 17 North is not found in this book. I recommend to readers that are looking for exceptional stories from the south to pick up books from Caron McCullers, Pat Conroy, and Anne River Siddons.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a spiritual man and this book takes advantage of that theme and the theme of the aging clearly for market driven purposes. I finished the book only because all books deserve to be read cover to cover - a courtesy to books in general - not to the author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Put it back on the shelf. Enough said.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Nicole Seitz enters the head of 78-year-old, South Carolina, Sweetgrass-basket weaver, Essie Mae, for an exciting look at the Charleston lifestyle. At the basket stand on Highway 17 in Mount Pleasant, her home on Rifle Range Road, on the old bridge, and at Hibernian Hall on Charlestons¿ Meeting Street, The Spirit of Sweetgrass works in mysterious ways to ease her struggles with rising taxes and urban sprawl. The book weaves a story of love, friends, family and faith, in Gullah dialect that brings the novel to life, and adds a page to East Cooper History.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From page one, I was engrossed and intrigued by the character of basket weaver Essie Mae. I was drawn in by her lowcountry dialect and strong love for her family and those around her. What a wonderful story of love, loss, and the pure joy of heaven and the feeling of home!