×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Spy Glass
     

Spy Glass

4.4 114
by Maria V. Snyder
 

See All Formats & Editions

After siphoning her own blood magic in the showdown at Hubal, Opal Cowan has lost her powers. She can no longer create glass magic. More, she's immune to the effects of magic. Opal is now an outsider looking in, spying through the glass on those with the powers she once had, powers that make a difference in the world.

Until spying through the glass

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Spy Glass 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 114 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Opal Cowen gave up magic when she siphoned off her blood to defeat the evil mage Ulrick (see Sea Glass). In Sitia, her mom is planning her other daughter's wedding which is driving her crazy and her boyfriend Kade is tied up with magical issues. Bored Opal wants to get back what she gave up by reversing what she previously did. However, the teen has a slight problem before she can begin the reversal procedural; someone stole the Sea Glass containing her blood. She ponders whether Ulrick might have some of her blood. Opal still can detect and deflect magic so obtains work keeping Councilor Moon safe from magical assaults. She also signs up for a spy training program that she hopes will enable her to find her blood. When she meets the head of security for the Commander of The Territory of Ixia, Vanek, he mentors her on power without magic. Now two males compete for her affection, but though she must choose between them, a desperate Opal stays focused on her quest. Using her future revealing spy glass and her beloved Quartz, Opal begins her quest to find her blood with the only acceptable outcome being having her magic restored. This is an exciting entry, but lacks the uniqueness of the glassmaking magic that Opal once possessed (though the previous tales). The quest is fascinating though at a much lower scale than the battle with Opal with the incarcerated in a maximum security prison Ulrick; as she is willing to risk death to regain what she sacrificed. With some romance as she has two males in her life competing for her affection, fans will appreciate this sort of coming of age fantasy as the heroine fails to adjust to being mundane. Harriet Klausner
Meoughkat3 More than 1 year ago
Maria Snyder is one of my favorite authors and this book was no exception. I gobbled it up in two days. I love the stories of Yelena and Opal. If you haven't read one of Maria's stories before, you need to get the book "Poison Study" first. This is not one of those series that you can pick up in the middle. With that said I'll reiterate my title. I loved, loved, loved this book. However, when it can down to the ending I was a little disappointed in the direction that Maria decided to go, but that's just my opinion.
klb008 More than 1 year ago
So i have to admit that although the first two books in the series were not my favorite this last book i really enjoyed. This book got my attention from the beginning unlike the other two. I would recommed this series because i think its a great change to magic stories. Loved the end id definetly read another Opal adventure.
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
A great story with the continuation of the series. I do sort of feel like I'm missing a little information, and certain of Opal's interactions felt rushed and not fleshed out very well. I definitely look forward to reading more stories from this world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful world to escape into!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm sorry...I just can't get into this series...and I'm so disappointed, since I just loved the Poison Study series...I think it's the main character, who just annoys me to no end...where as i loved the main character in the Poison Study books (strong, focused, funny...and not whining all the time!)...wanted to like this series, but sorry, just can't.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Probably the best book in the series, but the author was able to give the reader a good ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Masquerader888 More than 1 year ago
In this installment of the Glass series Opal is dealing with the loss of her magic and having to come to terms with her new magic immunity. In the first few chapters we learn that there may still be some of Opal’s blood left from when she was drained in the culmination of book two, and it becomes Opal’s obsession to find it. This quest takes us mostly to places already visited throughout the trilogy, and while she does go through some new training and acquires some new skills I felt that this was perhaps one of the weaker plots in this series. It did not help that the foreshadowing in the prior books was, in my opinion, kind of forced into realization in this book. I did enjoy the twists with Opal’s personal life in this book, although I felt that the solidity of a partner she could enjoy equality with came rather late in the series. While this did give the relationship a depth, it also had me juggling several different secondary characters that I didn’t get to know as well, in the process, having me lose some of the intimacy in the story. The characterization in this book was good, and several new characters were introduced who I liked including Reema and Teegan, but it seemed that too many new elements were introduced without being resolved. Perhaps I was mistaken in looking at these books as a self-contained trilogy—and indeed I would be excited if Ms. Snyder wrote more in this world—but for the moment I find the experience left me wanting. It is hard for me to truly sum up my experience with this book. I had high hopes for this concluding book in the series and while in no way was it a bad book, it did not really live up to my—admittedly high—hopes for this trilogy’s finale. It is still a good book, but for me left so many loose ends that it seems obvious that Ms. Snyder is leaving room for more books in this series; and while I don’t truly have a problem with that I would have liked in not to come at the expense of this series having a more polished ending. Overall I would give this book three out of five stars ¿¿¿
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I still think she sill should haved stade with kade he never hurt her like devlen did
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago