×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

SQL For Dummies
     

SQL For Dummies

3.4 7
by Allen G. Taylor
 

See All Formats & Editions

Relationships are everything, especially when it comes to databases -- so if you work with them, form a relationship with this book. It helps you use SQL to build databases, protect them from corruption, store and retrieve what you need, handle nonrelational data, and even swap information with nondatabase applications using XML.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

SQL For Dummies 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought SQL for Dummies when I was handed a web project that demanded a high traffic database. Previous to the purchase I had only worked with flat text files and had no SQL experience. This book can take you from basic database design all the way up to advanced SQL issues. Thanks to SQL for Dummies I never lost pace with the project. It explained terms and issues very plainly. It also had excellent example code. I still use the book today as an excellent reference tool. If you were stranded on Database Island, this would be the only book you would need¿
MimiBKNY More than 1 year ago
I love all the Dummies series. This book is definitely a great purchase.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You really need to already know somethings about databases or programming to really understand the concepts that are in this book. In my opinion this is more for a second year student in programing or someone who has a job as DB administrator! I have taken coures in programming and that is the only way I could keep up with what the author was writing here!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sharkbyte More than 1 year ago
The example SQL queries exemplified the various available query options, and most adequately demonstrated their practicality and usefulness.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. I've never seen such a complex subject like SQL put into such simple terms. A must have!
Guest More than 1 year ago
SQL for Dummies is a dummies book that helps to explain what SQL databases are and how to set them up. The author, a long-term veteran of computer books explains numerous concepts about SQL, even starting off with the chapter on relational database fundementals and then a chapter on SQL fundementals, giving a good overview before diving further. Througout the book, numerous SQL commands are explained and the author goes into great detail about them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
SQL for Dummies is a Dummies book that helps to explain what SQL Databases are and how to set them up. The author, a long-time 'veteran' of computer books explains numerous concepts about SQL, even starting off with a chapter on relational database fundamentals and then one on SQL fundamentals, giving a good basic overview before diving further. The next chapter explains' the three SQL 'languages:' DDL, DML & DCL. The next two chapters explain how to 'build' a database, and then there are several chapters devoted to retrieving data from your new database. Throughout the book, numerous SQL commands are explained and the author goes into great detail about them. A good book on SQL fundamentals.
Guest More than 1 year ago
SQL for Dummies is alright if you already have prior programming or database experience. If you are a newbie, look elsewhere.