×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Standing in the Rainbow
     

Standing in the Rainbow

4.4 82
by Fannie Flagg
 

See All Formats & Editions

Good news! Fannie’s back in town--and the town is among the leading characters in her new novel.

Along with Neighbor Dorothy, the lady with the smile in her voice, whose daily radio broadcasts keep us delightfully informed on all the local news, we also meet Bobby, her ten-year-old son, destined to live a thousand lives, most of them in his imagination;

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Standing in the Rainbow 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 82 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. This was my first experience reading a novel by Fannie Flagg. I found the scope of this novel to be quite impressive. I loved the fact that it followed this family and their acquaintances through fifty years. I found the characters to be both lovable and unforgettable. I also enjoyed that the novel was split into episodes with their own quirky titles rather than just chapters. Such a nice change of pace and just a breath of fresh air.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the 3rd Fannie Flagg book I've read and so far my absolute favorite!!! (All I have left is 'Welcome to the World, Baby Girl'). I grew up on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi and can sooo relate to small-town life, particularly in the South. Fannie Flagg captures it perfectly with all her zany characters and their crazy shenanigans. I can see many of them in my own family. LOL! I found myself laughing out loud more times than I can count. I even read an excerpt to my 12 yo son and he laughed along with me. I became invested in the characters from page one and would often find myself sneaking in the bathroom and staying longer than was necessary just so I could spend a little more time with them. I quite unexpectedly cried my eyes out when some of them came to their journey's end and still others reflected on life in simpler times. It only reinforced to me that often the things we take for granted in life are the very things we end up missing once they're gone. I will recommend this book to all my friends because this is no doubt one of the best reading experiences I've ever had. Keep 'em comin', Fannie Flagg!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't say how much I enjoyed this book. I loved the old time values. this book really makes you think back to better times where morals and values were purer and you could take in a stranger for dinner and not worry that the stanger would kill you and your family. This book gives you a lot to think about, like your place in the world and in your town and in your family, identies as a child vs. adult, our limited time on earth and how we deal with the ups and downs. A terrific story with other things to think about afterwards
Guest More than 1 year ago
Reading Standing in the Rainbow made me walk back into memory lane and enjoy the scenary of my childhood. 1946 was a time loooooong before I was born, being a college student now. But the words Flag used in this novel could touch anyone's heart to remember the days when you had suppers with the whole family around the table, a nice bed to sleep in, and a friendly neighbourhood that was filled with smiles and gossip. Flag succeeded to expend a simple story on everyday life into an ironic plot of politics, losses, and the reality of life. It's amazing how one little character could affect the whole story, how one little incident changed lives, and how one little smile brings laughter and joy. The story got me all sentimental!! This is a great story that is told in a very simple and easy-going way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story telling!
Colleen1 More than 1 year ago
As always Fannie Flagg has the ability to capture Americana. Warts and all, with humor. Love reading her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will never get enough of Fanny Flagg's writing. Here's more of the same that we've all come to expect...wonderful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book very much
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would love to see this book as a movie!!! This was a woderful book. One of the best ones ive ever read. I am really enjoyig reading Fannie Flagg!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is such a nice story, and the characters made me want to live next door. I wanted it to last and last. I am totally hooked on FannieFlagg now!
Ken Miller More than 1 year ago
Fannie Flagg is great as just about all her books are. My only problem is also her problem. As a writter myself, I want her to get what she deserves, but B&N and this ereader (which is great), but too expensive. Their books seem to get higher and higher. Retired cop and writer, they are just too expensive.
luanne613 More than 1 year ago
this was the first Fannie Flagg book I'd read and I became an instant fan! So much fun! The town folks are nuts...and very wise! I highly recommend this book for a good laugh!
smarieb More than 1 year ago
I adore Fannie Flagg. This story isn't about plot so much as it is about characters and setting. The story follows a handful of characters over the course of 40-50 years. For someone who wasn't alive until the 1980s, it helped me better understand some feelings of my parents and grandparents. As members of a small town, the characters feel they have remained much the same and the world has changed all around them. And they're uncomfortable with it. I enjoyed following someone from a precocious pre-teen age to an adult, married with kids and career. It was a peek into seemingly real lives that I have only seen in movies, which often romanticize the decades past. This is not to say that everything that happens is expected. Ms. Flagg has a gift for southern storytelling, so it's fun to read the occasional surprise. I recommend it to any reader who still likes to watch The Wizard of Oz, skim old cookbooks and gets a kick out of sifting through black and white photographs.
AmandaMac More than 1 year ago
This book was even better the second time around. The friendly plot winds its way through a small town with old time values. A must read for all who enjoy southern hospitality and the ridiculous chaos takes place in small cities all across the country.
purpleriz More than 1 year ago
This was the first Fannie Flagg book I read and absolutely fell in love with her writing! All the characters learn life lessons and get into such interesting predicaments that you can't help but enjoy the story. I thought most of the main characters were well developed, and you got to know them so well you could almost predict what their action would be in a certain situation. This story takes you through several decades in one small town and you see how the world changes through the small sliver of life in the town. Ups and downs, good times and bad, happy and sad times, Fannie Flagg leaves you wanting more from this extraordinary little town!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am from a small town in the midwest so I could identify with the characters and the small town living which I love.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Living in the Rainbow made me laugh and cry and want to go back to a time when everyone believes and lives the golden rules of neighborly love, kindness, respect for others and peaceful living as the quintessential elements of life. I felt like I was right there with the charachters each step of the way, from Neighbor Dorothy's first 'Good morning everyone' each day on the radio to Norma and Macky's retirement.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fannie Flagg fans will rejoice when they read this book that was alluded to in 'Welcome to the World, Baby Girl'.Although the number of characters is vast, it is well worth reading from cover to cover. Thank you, Fannie and keep them coming.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Standing in the Rainbow' awakens memories of the 1940's for me when the smell of the feed store in a small town and a trip to the soda fountain at the drug store was the high-light of a summer's day.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book only because I was tired of my usual murder mysteries and romances. I was prepared not to like this. Well, I was wrong! I could not put this book down. Extremely well written. It made me laugh, cry and I enjoyed it very much.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It was a wonderful read. It makes me almost wish that I grew up in a small town just like Elmwood Springs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Have so far only heard the audio tape, but it is so charming. Fannie Flagg is really a gifted writer and a wonderful reader. She invokes a kind world, with warm loving characters and a simple time. Too bad it is a world we have lost.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the type of book that truly lets you escape to, what seems to me, a better time and place. The personalities were wonderful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was my third Fannie Flagg book, and she is now by far my favorite author. I adore this book so much. I laughed and cried and grew to love every single character. Flagg writes in such a way that there doesnt have to be any certain beginning and end....just a flow of events, such as it happens in real life. Its also so great how she intertwines characters from previous books. LOVED THIS BOOK!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book - it is a wonderful story of several families over the years, and I agree with the other reviewer that it's sad to end the book. It feels like I'm leaving my own family behind! Thank you, Ms. Flagg for such a delightful book!