×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Star Island
     

Star Island

3.5 569
by Carl Hiaasen
 

See All Formats & Editions

Meet 22-year-old Cherry Pye (née Cheryl Bunterman), a pop star since she was fourteen-and about to attempt a comeback from her latest drug-and-alcohol disaster.

Now meet Cherry again: in the person of her "undercover stunt double," Ann DeLusia. Ann portrays Cherry whenever the singer is too "indisposed"— meaning wasted — to go out in public.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Star Island 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 569 reviews.
Gybe More than 1 year ago
Carl Hiaasen's "Star Island" is a return to his core novels (Skin Tight, Tourist Season, et al), that put him in my library. For the past few years, he has written Young Adult novels plus one about his experience attempting golf. Entertaining, but not the reason I read Hiaasen. Skink, the one-eyed former Governor, and Chemo w/weed-whacker as prosthesis return in "Star Island" But, Hiaasen is out of practice after the other novels. Star Island is a good read but a bit stale for Hiaasen. Let's hope that he returns to his wacky glory days of the early novels.
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
You know what they say confession is good for...so here I go: I'm a huge fan of Carl Hiaasen, hence this probably will not be an unbiased review. He always makes me smile, and I'm constantly amazed by his imagination, his productivity. After all, this is an author who not only pens bestsellers, but popular children's books, and writes a weekly column for The Miami Herald. If he has a vitamin regime - hope he'll share it. Second, there is another admission: I'm about to become a fan of Stephen Hoye's. He delivers an apt, easy listening narration of STAR ISLAND. Would imagine that Hiaasen's works are not the easiest to read - one must have the proper inflections for all the zingers delivered and a trained voice that can easily move from character to character without missing a beat - another challenging task because as has been shown this author's characters are really outre. Hoye succeeds in all areas. With STAR ISLAND Hiaasen takes on the celebrity life - to be precise the rollicking, ruinous life of over-the-hill alcohol and drug prone pop star Cherry Pie. Quite obviously, Cherry can be a bit of a handful for her producer who still marvels at her success when she has no discernible talent. Nonetheless, it will do her sagging career no good when she's too spaced out to make a public appearance. What's her stage mom supposed to do? Solution? Hire an actress to impersonate Cherry when she's "unavailable." Of course, it takes more than a producer and mom to keep the randy, reeling Cherry in line - there are twin publicists (well,, not actually twins but plastic surgery does wonders); a big, ugly bodyguard called Chemo; a determined paparazzo; and Clinton Tyree (former governor of Florida now hiding out in a swamp). The plot is driven by a multitude of hilarious, impossible situations. Hiaasen, it seems, can make even the most outrageous funny, and he does it once again with gusto in STAR ISLAND. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke
harstan More than 1 year ago
Singer Cheryl Bunterman alias Cherry Pye began her career as a fifteen year old at Jailbait Records. Besides her lack of any talent, Cherry cannot stop her addictions for sex, drugs, and booze. Her singing career seems tanked. However, several people have a deep interest in Cherry's career remaining afloat. Her mother Janet Bunterman, her producer Maury Lykes and her double Ann DeLusia like the money. That is why Ann is seen about the town while Cherry is in rehab. Also interested in Cherry are developer Jackie Sebago and paparazzo Bang Abbott, as each sees money to be made from the crooner who cannot sing. Bang kidnaps Ann thinking she is Cherry by mistake while the former Florida governor Clinton "Skink" Tyree, who fell in love at first sight with Ann or is Ann as Cherry plans to rescue his darling. This is a superb satire that lampoons the celebrity frenzy that grips Americans. The story line rips the media for how easily they are suckered by spin doctors, and the tabloid reporters for stalking the famous even placing people in danger doing so while claming their First Amendment rights, and their readers for supporting the stalking. Also gutted is the celeb retinue and hanger-ons who are there when the money and fame are there, but vanish when the star novas. This is a winner as Carl Hiaasen leaves no prisoners in his version of "Fame". Harriet Klausner
Drewano More than 1 year ago
Another fun installment in the Skink series. If you’ve read the others then you’ll know what to expect here, but you can always enjoy it! A new addition to this series is Chemo who was previously featured in the Mick Strahan series. Well written and funny ‘Star Island’ in a fun south Florida romp.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love writer,s involved stories
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lance_Charnes More than 1 year ago
Carl Hiaasen returns to form by switching up. Star Island gives the author's despoliation-of-Florida theme a rest by providing him with another target for his considerable store of outrage: pop celebrity. The chief offender is Cheryl "Cherry Pye" Bunterman, a teenage Britney manque with a singing voice "like a sack of starving kittens" and a dysfunctional entourage that enables (and covers up) her many assaults on common sense. Her perfect foil is overweight, self-deluded paparazzo Bing Abbott. Together, they'll make you fear for the future of the species. Hiaasen has plowed this turf before (ten years ago, in Basket Case), but here he lets out the stops. He doesn't need to condemn Cherry, her clueless parents, conniving twin PR gurus, or the "maggot mob" of paparazzi; he simply gets out of their way and through pitch-perfect portraits lets them hang themselves with their own words and actions. A few stock Hiaasen characters show up -- the grotesque sociopathic thug, the venal real-estate developer -- but at least there's no obvious stand-in for the author, which relieves the plot of some of the fantasy wish-fulfillment tropes that have marred some of his more recent works. Star Island is crazy, profane, nasty fun. If you've had your fill of reality-TV "personalities" and marginally talented "entertainers", you should enjoy watching them get skewered in this book. If you're already a Hiaasen fan, you'll enjoy seeing him break out of his formula and regain his satirical mojo. Either way, enjoy the ride. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Star Island has become my favorite Hiaasen work to date. I love his irreverent take on the life of a spoiled pop princess and the lengths her entourage go through to keep the divas music selling career afloat. To me it was very easy to get through this book, filled with Hiaasens witty writing. His colorful characters always bring something fun to the table, and the cast here does no different. To me it is easy to imagine that there are numerous Cherry Pyes in todays music biz. Also loved the reappearance of Skink and Chemo. Fantastic read. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SusyBeast More than 1 year ago
I first read Hiaasen when I read Bad Monkey. It was so wild and funny, that I've started reading his other books and will continue until I read them all. Fun, wacky, fast-paced reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
donnfo More than 1 year ago
Another typically wacky story from Hiassen. This was a fast read, good for the beach. The author has a super competitor now, Tim Dorsey, who writes the wonderful Serge Storms novels. Plenty of fun to go around.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe if you can buy into an improbable premise with wildly exaggerated characters that can only exist in the author's mind, you might enjoy it. I struggled to finish the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm the kind of reader that sticks with a book. I give it time to develop....however, this was a very hard book to finish. It was exceedingly tedious!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago