×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Star Trek: Voyager: Unworthy
     

Star Trek: Voyager: Unworthy

4.0 32
by Kirsten Beyer
 

See All Formats & Editions

Freed with a thought, the greatest menace to humanity, the Borg, are gone, absorbed into the Caeliar gestalt. But are they? Can this deadly menace that has hovered over humanity for decades truly be gone? Might some shadow of the Caeliar remain? The Federation decides that they have to know, and Starfleet is ordered to find out.

The Starship Voyager leads a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Star Trek: Voyager: Unworthy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
gl More than 1 year ago
Unworthy is the latest in the Star Trek Voyager series. While I am not that familiar with the Star Trek Voyager novels, I've enjoyed watching Star Trek on TV. This latest installment, Unworthy, smoothly portrays the Voyager characters and introduces the new captain of the Starship Voyager, Afsarah Eden. Kirsten Beyer includes enough background that new readers can reasonably follow the story, although I felt that I would have benefited by having read the earlier book. The characters' internal conflicts and the tension between crew members interesting and helped move the story along. I was most interested in the women portrayed in Unworthy. Captain Afsarah Eden, Lieutenant Nancy Conlon, B'Elanna Torres as a civilian, and even Seven (Annika) were well developed and nuanced personalities whose issues and conflicts drew me in. Overall, Star Trek Voyager: Unworthy was an enjoyable read - although while reading it, you are aware that it is only part of the larger Star Trek Voyager series. Publisher: Star Trek (September 29, 2009), 384 pages. A review copy was provided by the publisher.
delcobooklover More than 1 year ago
Kristen Beyer has done a fine job re-launching the USS Voyager into the delta quadrant. The crew added to the favorites from the series mesh well. The story line incorporates aspects of the original TV series, as well as the Borg story line completed earlier this year. Captain Eden seems a thoughtful and capable captain, but certainly not a clone of Janeway, and the new counselor is a great addition to the crew. I do hope to see the new chief engineer and helmswoman fleshed out in future, but they are aff to a great start. Good "villains" are introduced, to keep the exploration of the delta quadrant exciting, without having to rely on familiar foes from the TV series. Though not my favorite of the shows, this book seems to keep the best aspects of the series, without the more troublesome plotlines.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It really carries the Voyager story forward and does nice job wrapping up loose ends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed "Unworthy". The characters that we know and love were true to character so reading the book was like watching a movie, however, the book takes you on several journeys that finally come together in the end; well almost. When you think you have everything figured out, you don't. To me it's actually one of those books you can read again and see it from a better perspective.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Justin Price More than 1 year ago
great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
UnbiddenTerror More than 1 year ago
As for STVoyager post-season books that doesn't destroy the majority of what you value in the characters, this is probably one of the top. You'll pretty much need to read Full Circle before this to get the series of events that lead up to Voyager's redeployment into the Delta Quadrant but it's also a very fine work in it's own right. It seemed to me that the villain thing was handled very similarly to how it was in the Homecoming series, but that doesn't really make it any less fun to read. The unending angst that was the main detractor from it's predecessor is absent in this book and will make most Trek fans happy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago