×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Star Wars Darksaber
     

Star Wars Darksaber

3.8 48
by Kevin J. Anderson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Luke Skywalker and Han Solo, cloaked by the Force and riding with the hostile Sand People, have returned to the dunes of the desert planet Tatooine in hopes of finding what Luke so desperately seeks: contact with Obi-Wan Kenobi.  Luke is hoping the old Jedi Knight's spirit will tell him how to help his  love, Callista, regain her lost ability

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Star Wars Darksaber 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As in all star wars novels we have the leia, han, and of course luke. In this book the hutts are in collaboration with remnants of the empire to build a super weapon. Luke, han, chewy and leia must find a way to stop them as is expected. What i liked best in this book is the reintroduction of one of the characters from return of the jedi. In rotj we only see general krix nadine for the briefest seconds. In this book we find out about his background and how he came to be with the rebellion. Best of all we a privileged to witness his immense courage and undying commitment to the cause of freedom. Read as he, along with two of his fellow agents infiltrate and sabotage durga the hutt's gigantic super laser codenamed 'darksaber.' named thus because of it's uncanny resemblance to a jedi light saber it is the size of a superstar destroyer. When finished the hutts plan to use it to force the galaxy to pay for protection. In this way they will become true galactic gangsters. General nadine it captured and tortured in an attempt to find out what the rebellion knows. He endures the pain and suffering knowing he will die within minutes as will all onboard the super weapon when it explodes. Unknown to the general han solo, luke skywalker and chewbacca are on their way to save him if they can? in 'the fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.' nuff said!!!! read it or miss out.
madieraman More than 1 year ago
After reading the first couple of chapters I thought this was going to be a really good book. Unfortunately the rest of the book was pretty bad. My suggestion is to spend your money on one of the hundreds of other Star Wars books that are so much better than this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story was okay till the end and then it just got stupid.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book, but I think that there are better Star Wars Books out there. Read The Thrawn Trilogy By Timothy Zhan first, then the story line of this book makes a little more sense, and I happen to like Zhan's writing style better than Anderson's, but I would sill whole-heartedly recomend this book, it is a must-read for Star Wars fans everywhere
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you like star wars or any si-fi and looking for something good, here it is!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Years have passed since Luke Skywalker turned Darth Vader back from the Force's dark side. The Rebel Alliance has recaptured Coruscant, where Leia Organa Solo (now married to Han, and mother of three small children) leads a sometimes weary life as chief of state. Luke spends most of his time on Yavin 4, training a new generation of Jedi knights in the ways of the Force. Yet as DARKSABER opens, Master Skywalker leaves his 'Jedi Academy' for a return to Tatooine, the desert planet of his boyhood. He wants to contact his dead mentor, Obi-Wan 'Ben' Kenobi, one more time and he's desperate enough to attempt this despite Ben's warning that it cannot happen again. His motivation? Callista, the woman he loves. This former Jedi knight from the old era now inhabits a new body, but somehow transferring into it from the computer core of the dreadnaught Eye of Palpatine robbed her of her powers. Luke hopes that Obi-Wan may know how those powers can be restored, because until that happens he and Callista cannot share their lives fully. What follows is a galaxy-spanning romp, with the narrative's viewpoint switching from character to character in frequent (but never disconcerting) transitions. Sometimes we're looking through the eyes of Bevel Lemelisk, designer of both the Death Star and a new, under-construction superweapon called Darksaber. Sometimes we're inside the head of Admiral Daala, Empire loyalist commander. Sometimes we're with Luke, sometimes with Leia, sometimes with cloned Jedi knight Dorsk 81. While there were a few awkward moments for me, since I only dip into the Star Wars novels occasionally and this book is a sequel to its author's earlier Jedi Academy Trilogy, I nevertheless enjoyed the adventure. The characters that were new to me, introduced in earlier Star Wars novels but not present in the films, fit into the established universe quite seamlessly and the characters I already knew stayed true to their personalities. My one real criticism is finding some passages a bit 'over the top' in the sadism department. That's a matter of taste, but - in my mind, at least - it does mean this isn't a suitable book for younger Star Wars readers. The author does have some interesting things to say, with all the subtlety I expect from really well written science fiction, about the nature of mortality and the doubtful benefits of transcending its limits. Overall? Well worth the price of admission.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this book! Kevin J. Anderson has once again created another spectacular addition to his collection! If you are new to reading Star Wars books beyond Return of the Jedi, read this book IMMDEIATELY. I read this book for a book report for English class, and I finished my book before anyone else it was so good! The main plot throughout this book is that Durga the Hutt is building a reconstruction of the Death Star called Darksaber. Enjoy this time and time again! RECOMMENDED FOR ALL STAR WARS FANS!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don't get me wrong I did enjoy the book. Yet I agree with the comment that there was too much 'goofiness' going on throughout the story. On the positive side though, I enjoyed reading about Bevel Lemelisk. It is interesting to read into some of the unseen characters behind such creations as the Death Star (like Qwi Xux), and reading the details of some of Bevel's executions at the hands of the Emperor was enjoyable. I like this aspect because it gives you a better idea of how the Empire worked from within, rather than just via massive space vessels and constant laser fire. I disagree with the statement about the Hutt's plan to dominate the galaxy being unrealistic (not that Star Wars is actually realistic). The author made it a point to state that Durga would use the Darksaber as a tool to extort 'protection' money from whole planetary systems, just as many organized criminal groups do today. He didn't want to be the Emperor, he wanted to be a 'Don!'
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the perfect example of why more Star Wars movies should be made. I read this when I was in 5th grade. I didn't speed read, and I really didn't like reading that much. But this book was too good. I read the thing in three hours. I literally did not take my eyes off of it. I don't think that there is another Star Wars that can top this book. EVERY STAR WARS FAN MUST MUST MUST READ THIS BOOK!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It seemed to have gone by so fast (even though it took me a while to read it) because I enjoyed it so much. I like it that it had a lot of things going on at once, which all met and became one in the end. I also liked the original ways which the jedi trainees defended their temple. I recomend this book to anyone who likes SW.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is an excellent book. it tells how the hutts are building another death star
Guest More than 1 year ago
Details are amazing. Really awesome. Can't get much better than this!
Anonymous 20 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book looks so lame. What a dumb concept. Dont even bother its not worth it:p <br> 0 Stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read for laughs about funny hutts
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you must, get from the library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Luke rules the star wars galaxy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First off let's begin by saying Kevin J Anderson is quite possible the worst Star Wars author ever and this book is a shinning example why such an argument can be made. Let's begin, the Hutts build a death star, they do it quicker than the empire did, but are so fat they struggle putting there finger into a blaster trigger guard and waste most of a page stuggling to put it on just so they can personally shot the guy who tried to blow up there death star rather then just have a guard do it. This is the logic that floats around thoughout this book. Oh and let's not forget Jedi students force pushing a super star destroyer across a solar system in a fraction of a second (that's right they broke the speed of light while doing it too) but don't worry though there was a consiquence for this, the super weak jedi died but all the others where fine due to his sacrific... I mean really how does that respect me as a reader and not just insult my intelligence.
vlad63 More than 1 year ago
A young man named Luke Skywalker roams the galaxy in desperate need of help. Luke contacts his old friend Han solo to help him arrive on the planet Tatooine. With the help of the fastest ship in the galaxy, &ldquo;The Millennium Falcon&rdquo; they arrive to the dunes of the desert planet to help Luke&rsquo;s love Callista regain her Jedi power.  My favorite character is Luke Skywalker because he&rsquo;s like the ladies man in the book the one who takes his girls side, &ldquo;he smiled in a wistful sigh as he found his target. &ldquo;All right,&rdquo; he said and turned to Callista.&rdquo; Looks like we&rsquo;ll go to Dagobah first.&rdquo; Honestly if you&rsquo;re that type of person who loves romantic, sci-fi, action books this is a great book from beginning to end. The message the author is getting by is that no matter how far the journey you&rsquo;ll make it as useless as you are powerful. It was a great book but in my opinion I would have lowered the level of adventure and heightened the love behind this story spiraling from Luke to Callista. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago