×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Star Wars Rogue Planet
     

Star Wars Rogue Planet

3.7 89
by Greg Bear
 

See All Formats & Editions

MASTER AND APPRENTICE

The Force is strong in twelve-year-old Anakin Skywalker . . . so strong that the Jedi Council, despite misgivings, entrusted young Obi-Wan Kenobi with the mission of training him to become a Jedi Knight. Obi-Wan? like his slain Master Qui-Gon?believes Anakin may be the chosen one, the Jedi destined to bring balance to the Force. But

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Star Wars: Rogue Planet 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 89 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the summary on Wookiepedia... Save yourself time and money. Meh.
Johnny3 More than 1 year ago
It wasn't the best book, but it did enough to keep my interest throughout....
Sibylla More than 1 year ago
While Rogue Planet embodies a bright idea: Show us Kenobi and Skywalker early in their relationship, during Anakin's troubled early adolescence, against the backdrop of an exciting mission, the pacing and somewhat pedantic style get in the way. The book tells us about the characters' emotional responses to various stimuli without actually showing us. The author's perspective hovers somewhere between third person limited and third person omniscient, too distant to allow us to see through any particular set of eyes--or into any particular mind or heart--without actually providing a bird's eye view of any scene. This book will be most appealing to readers who want more "trivia" or background information on the political situation in the Old Republic preceding the Clone Wars and the relationship between Obi-Wan and his misfit apprentice in particular. Readers hoping for insight into this or any other developing relationship will be disappointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'd say if you're not into the Star Wars saga it rates a 3-Star. If you are it rates a 4-Star. I thought the storyline interesting and character development good but somehow it lacked enough gripping scenes involving the two main Jedi characters. This trait isn't completely absent but I wasn't completely satisfied with it either.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This offering isn't too bad. It does a good job handling a potentially volitile area -- the book goes as far as it can so that it doesn't get rendered obsolete by Episode II. Characters are handled OK, but there are some cheezy names (Blood Carver? Come on...). Obi Wan is a little too clueless at times so that Anakin will shine brighter. The concept of a planet with intellegence seems more at home in a Star Trek book than in Star Wars, but it is handled well. A pretty good read.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is cool but can definitely be skipped
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been reading thorough all the "legends" continuity books in chronological order, dreading this point. Young Anakin is just as horrible as he is in episode 1. It's not the author's fault, he just used what he was given. Unfortunately he was given one of the all-time crappy characters. The second star is a pity star for this poor author forced to use Lucas's abortion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ryan1234500 More than 1 year ago
I liked the parts of this book that dealt with Obi-Wan and Anakin's developing relationship as master and apprentice in the years following Episode I. The entire living planet storyline though was somewhat confusing to me. I know this is a prequel to something from the New Jedi Order storyline, which I haven't read yet, and it seemed like I didn't get everything I was supposed to from the book because I didn't really know the NJO story yet. Even allowing for that this was a pretty good novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It gives you more information about what happened between the movies. I would recommend this book to people who like starwars and have seen the movies. Not to long of a book and keeps you intreastead .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It has action in the beginning and at the end. I did like the discussion into Obiwans feelings regarding Anikin's training. After Qui Gon forced it upon Obiwan. It is a book of explanations that you will find interesting after you have read through the New Jedi Order19 book series - The Vong Invasion. For info - YES? For action - NOT SO MUCH
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very good book bacause it gives more insite into Anakins training inbetween episodes one and two. It also shows how more intune with the force he is than with most people by subtle hints inside the text.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago