×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Star Wars The Truce at Bakura
     

Star Wars The Truce at Bakura

3.9 47
by Kathy Tyers
 

See All Formats & Editions

No sooner has Darth Vader's funeral pyre burned  to ashes on Endor than the Alliance intercepts a  call for help from a far-flung Imperial outpost.  Bakura is on the edge of known space and the first to  meet the Ssi-ruuk, cold-blooded reptilian invaders  who, once allied with the now dead Emperor,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Star Wars The Truce at Bakura 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Anonymous 24 days ago
DAAlvarez23 More than 1 year ago
Truce at Bakura Read this one several years ago. Story takes place right after Return of The Jedi. The Alliance has become aware of a distress signal from a far outpost bordering the Unknown Regions and send assistance as part of the first diplomatic missions for the new to be New Republic. Our heroes find a previously unknown alien race, the Ssi-ruuk, who drain the life-energy of sentient beings to power their ships, a technique called entechment. Bakura is an Imperial outpost but because of the Ssi-ruuk threat they agree to join forces with the Rebels and stop an invasion of a species that had not been seen before. Luke meet Gaeriel Captison, a young Bakura senator, to whom he feels an attraction (one of the first love interests for Luke in the Expanded Universe) and Gariel also feels something back but has to fight her religious beliefs that objects the Jedi. Leia also starts dealing with the fact that she is the daughter of Darth Vader who appears in spirit form a few times to ask for her forgiveness. This book opened the possibility of new threats from the Unknown Regions, something that was explored in future books, and also the growth of Luke as a character finding potential romantic interests and become a Jedi Knight/Master. Some readers might not find it one of the best books but it would be a good starting point.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jz99 More than 1 year ago
The Truce at Bakura literally picks up where we left off with our intrepid heros at the end of Return of the Jedi. Hours after the Second Death Star blows up, we find Luke, Leia, Han, Chewie, and the droids heading off to Bakura to answer a distress call. I found this a very entertaining novel and true to the characters from the films. The problems they deal with are very real and beleivable in the context of the films. The precarious status of the Alliance at this stage of the game is an important factor in this novel. They are not the New Republic yet. The realization that just because the Emperor is dead the war isn't over is a large one for our friends and it's a problem the Alliance will be dealing with for years to come. The regular cast is true to their characters, far more so than some of the SW universe books I have read. I happen to have a hard time with dialogue that I can't hear coming from the mouths of the characters from the films. Just me, I know some people are more lenient on that point than others. but if you feel the way I do, you will not be disapointed in this book as the characters are quite true to the ones we know from the films. The other characters in the book are equally well written. The Imperial commander who called for help in battling the aliens is very well portrayed. (Sorry I don't have the book in front of me and can't remember his name for the life of me.) You never can decide which way he is going to jump, because he doesn't know yet himself. I found him a very fascinating character. I did think the aliens were a bit cookie-cutter in their total evilness, there wasn't a lot of character development there. In other subplots, the Han-Leia romance is gently pushed ahead; meanwhile once again Luke loses the girl but this time she has some spunk behind her and seems to be destined for better things. I also found Leia's struggle to accept the news about Vader being her father to be very natural given that she just got this tidbit dumped on her a few hours ago. All in all the various narratives that wind through this novel are all good and keep you interested. I recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read, for Star Wars fans This is how Star Wars moves forward after Return of the Jedi. This reveals much. For starter it shows that Palpatline's lightning hurt Luke more than was apparent in The Battle of Endor. Next this shows how the Alliance still has a war to fight, the destruction of the Sith didn't end the empire. It goes on to show how some imperial citizens believe they need the empire, that the Jedi were evil. Anakin visits Leah as a ghost. Leah starts to come to terms with Vader/Anakin being her father. Luke, Leah and Han stop an invasion and liberate a whole planet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believe this book is a great sequel to return of the jedi. It really makes you believe you are in the book watching the whole thing. I GIVE THIS BOOK 5 STARS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Palmaleggera More than 1 year ago
All characters are true to themselves. The writing is easy to understand and flows seamlessly from one scene to the next. Absolutely wonderful read for any Star Wars junky like myself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ColoradoBR More than 1 year ago
I thought that the characters in this novel were not developed very well, even the more familiar ones. I thought that it was a good idea to have a story that took place the day after the events in Return of the Jedi, but this one did not have the interesting characters like the ones introduced by Timothy Zahn, Christie Golden, or Troy Denning. If you want a good Kathy Tyers Star Wars novel, read "Balance Point".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago