×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy #1: Heir to the Empire
     

Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy #1: Heir to the Empire

4.6 220
by Timothy Zahn
 

See All Formats & Editions

It’s five years after the Rebel Alliance destroyed the Death Star, defeated Darth Vader and the Emperor, and drove the remnants of the old Imperial Starfleet to a distant corner of the galaxy. Princess Leia and Han Solo are married and expecting Jedi twins. And Luke Skywalker has become the first in a long-awaited line of Jedi Knights.
 
But

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy #1 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 220 reviews.
AngelofLight More than 1 year ago
The very first book in the Extended Star Wars Universe. And definitely worthy of praise. Takes place 5 years after Return of the Jedi and plunges readers into the aftermath of the Battle of Endor. Strongly recommend reading this and the other 2 that follow it (Dark Force Rising and The Last Command) for the best trilogy in the Extended Universe to date.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this when it first came out and this spoiled me for every other Star Wars story or movie because of the depth of character and plot. Read it. Enjoy it. Relish it. We also get introduced to one of the best of the post-movie characters, Mara Jade, Luke's complex, haunted, beautiful soul mate-in-training.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If there was any Star Wars book series, post Return of the Jedi, that deserved a movie this trilogy is it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This review is coming from a starwars fanatic and i have to say that thos triolgy is one of te best starwars collections of all time. It gives insoght on the past of Luke Skywalkers wife,Mara Jade, explains one of the toughest times in new rep. History and explains many thimgs that come later in the era. Wish i culd give morethan 5 stars
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book not only has the traditional characters from the Star Wars Saga but also introduces some new, vital characters to the Expanded Universe. This book is great to those that want to see action but that is not what Zahn's strong point is. He is a mastermind in the political side of the Star Wars universe. Overall Zahn has made a great book and a great Triliogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Immense enjoyment of all three of these books in the series. Zahn is an excellent writer, one of the best that pens for the Star Wars extended universe.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am glad George Lucas let the universe expand the way he did! I don't kniw if I will ever get to read all of the books, but it is fun trying too!
Jason Cook More than 1 year ago
These three books making the trilogy should be the next three movies to come out. Thrawn is one of my favorite enemies to exist, and this series was my first to be introduced to him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like this book but I'm not sure about Episode VII I think Disney is going to ruin Star Wars.
KABrown More than 1 year ago
I have read this book before,I really like this first book of the trilogy. In my opinion it is one of the best trilogies to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I though that this was a great book. It was the book that introduced me to the expanded universe, and how it just all flows together is really great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Thrawm trilogy is better than the prequels were or the sequel trilogy will be. Read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this when I was in high school, and was entranced. Highly recommended for any true Star Wars fan.
Sith_Master More than 1 year ago
Heir to the Empire is the book that totally brought Star Wars back to life in the years since the final Original Trilogy movie, Return of the Jedi! Even all these years later, the Thrawn Trilogy remains the gold standard by which all Star Wars novels since have been judged.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this book stuffed up in my bookshelf gathering dust in late May, and didn't put it down for a week. Since then I have read 12 other Star Wars books and have made at least two new friends all because of this book. The way Zahn writes is incredible, and I wish Lucas would consider making at least this trilogy into a movie series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These books are stellar. They read and feel like a Star wars nkbel should. Zahn uses the tropes and cliches of the Star Wars franchise expertly, leaving you with the feeling that you not only read a good book but you continued the story of a galaxy far, far away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I have read.
DAAlvarez23 More than 1 year ago
The book that restarted my passion for Star Wars, and the introduction to the Expanded Universe.  After wondering what happened to Luke, Leia, Han, Chewie, R2, 3PO and other once Return of The Jedi ended, Timothy Zahn comes along and starts answering my questions. And what a formidable foe Grand Admiral Thrawn is, a cunning tactician and leader. Even years after this novel was published lots of fans are eager to see this character on film. Leia expecting twins fathered by Han, twins that represent the next generation of Jedi. We are also introduced to Mara Jade as another important character for the Expanded Universe. I will not go into plot details for those that haven't read this book, but it is definitely essential reading in the Saga. Too bad, it is not being used for film canon but will continue as part of Star Wars Legends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG i love it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. Just amazing
Anonymous 5 months ago
Odu_Educated More than 1 year ago
I recently started to embrace my SW fandom and I was told that this book was a must read! So I took that advice and purchased this book and WOW! Reading this book is a MUST for all SW fans! I was extremely intrigued by the one and only Grand Admiral Thrawn, thanks to SW celebration and various blogs.This book will grab your attention and keep it from front to back! Amazing read! On to Dark Force Rising.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
StarwarZz