×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy #2: Dark Force Rising
     

Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy #2: Dark Force Rising

4.4 121
by Timothy Zahn
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Empire is dying; but like a dog near death, the Empire is at its most dangerous, ready to lash out with nothing to lose. Grand Admiral Thrawn may have found just the firepower needed to take a bite out of the New Republic: some two hundred Dreadnaught heavy cruisers, lost to hyperspace in the days of the Old Republic. Luke, Leia, Han, and Chewbacca may be up

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy #2 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 121 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved Heir and Last Command (5 stars) but this book bored me to death, however, it is a must read in the series cause a ton of info in the universe is in the book. This is the book the Noghri really strangle on. They are also the most boring race or the exciting races in the Star Wars Universe in my opinion. Their strong and hardened combatants...Where haven't i heard this before.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Zahn is one of the best wrighters, his sw books are amazing. Can't find a sw book as good as his!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Xanatos48625 More than 1 year ago
Dark Force Rising by Timothy Zahn is a great example of how the Star Wars universe continues to unravel. And Zahn does just that! Part 2 of 3 in the Thrawn Trilogy dives deeper into what it is all about! I completely recommend this book to any Star Wars fan out there!
Jason Cook More than 1 year ago
I loved this whole series. Highly recommended.
ColoradoBR More than 1 year ago
This part of the series has great plot twists. It is science fiction, but reads like a political thriller. It is like a Tom Clancy novel set in the Star Wars Universe.
ThyWickedJuggalo More than 1 year ago
yup this book is episode 8 in the star wars saga zahn knows how to change things around joruus is trying to kill luke skywalker but thrawn and joruus have speacil plans for skywalker and the rest of the star wars charecters i did not know what to expect when i got into this book i simply could not put it down zahn is the best of the best just read these books by timothy zahn hes one of the best star wars authors around karen travis is just as good as zahn
Guest More than 1 year ago
What would you do if all you had worked for was about to be destroyed? In Timothy Zhan¿s Dark Force Rising, Grand Admiral Thrawn is about to get his hands on the Dark Force, a fleet of over two hundred slave rigged dreadnoughts, and destroy the fragile new republic and all the rebellion has worked for. Meanwhile in a desperate effort to get Admiral Ackabar cleared of supposedly being a traitor, Han and Lando go out to get Fel¿ya back. They planned meet up with Luke to find out what Fel¿ya is doing in the outer systems. Instead all they find trouble. They have to find the captain who knows the location of the fleet before Thrawn does, otherwise it could be the end of the rebellion. This was one of the best books I¿ve ever read. I couldn¿t put it down. I recommend it to anyone who likes adventure or is a Star Wars fan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There's no doubt -- Timothy Zahn is the best writer of Star Wars stories. His portrayal of the original Star Wars characters is great, especially Princess Leia.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is not a weak book nor does it have a weak storyline it is one of the greatest star wars books ever written
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that Star Wars-Dark Force Rising is outstanding because Timothy Zahn is very descriptive. He lets you know every detail of the book to let someone feel like their in the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again, Timothy Zahn has written a great book. I was reading it every chance I got. My favorite characters were Thrawn and Mara Jade. This book is great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an excelent book. And like that reveiwer said if only there were 6 stars. ALL the way Man!!!!!!!! Please read this and all other SW books
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is truly one of the best novels I have ever read. I have yet to read a bad Star Wars Novel, and this book sure isn't a disappointment. Timothy Zahn does a wonderful job bringing to Star Wars universe into your home through the pages in this book!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What can I say? This book is every bit as great as Heir to the Empire. This book could easily be Episode VIII in the movie series. Non-stop action, beautiful descriptions of people, places and things and unforgettable characters. I rarely give out five stars to a Star Wars novel and this is one of the few that truly deserves it. Timothy Zahn is absolutely brilliant. How much more praise can I heap onto this book? It was just that good. If you haven't read this book yet, why not? Read it and enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Now, only if the origional star wars movies were this imperial friendly, it would been a better set of movies. This has been a great series so far
Anonymous 4 months ago
Charmed-Reflections More than 1 year ago
Full of Energy & Intrigue Star Wars: Dark Force Rising continues as the exciting sequel in the Thrawn Trilogy with well-established characters that readers will both love and love to hate. Despite the inconsistent behavior of given characters in the latter part of the storyline, Dark Force Rising is full of energy and intrigue and is sure to keep readers glued to their seats, ready for the final installment of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JLMess More than 1 year ago
The pace and storytelling style of Dark Force Rising makes Heir to the Empire feel more like a really long prologue that is needed for all of the exposition preceding this book. Each new character that was introduced from the first novel is further developed here and the overall plot moves forward a bit more. I found myself caring much more about the smaller side-stories than I did for the imminent threat of Thrawn and his fleet, which spend a lot of time simply flying through space and having conversations. Han and Leia both have very interesting stories that could definitely exist as standalone stories and sometimes feel disconnected from the larger scope. The crazy cloned jedi story arc also continues, with very little happening that is relevant to the plot at all until the very end. 
DAAlvarez23 More than 1 year ago
Book 2 of the Thrawn trilogy Will Thrawn get a hold of the Katana fleet (a fleet of 200 Dreadnaughts, similar in size to Star Destroyers) and become the biggest threat for the New Republic? A threat capable of destroying the alliance of planets trying to recover from years under the Empire. Mara Jade has been discovered as an Imperial agent, the feared agent known as the Emperor's Hand, an agent that is also Force sensitive trained directly by Palpatine. It has also been discovered that Palpatine commanded Mara with killing Luke. Pregnant Leia escaping several kidnapping attempts but some Noghri have been able to identify her as the daughter of Lord Vader, and some pledging to assist and protect her with their lives. Luke has fallen under the spell of Jedi Master Joruus C'baoth, a Jedi Clone that is falling insane, and begins training with him. To me this was a fast paced book, and appreciated Zahn's writing, it made me remember Empire Strikes Back, in the way that it was much better than the first book and let me wondering how soon I was going to be able to get the next book and complete this story saga.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
trgcfdffefuhkvgtrgreeiegerrgHdhdhhbhdvxveeddhyv n byhhwhshyfhfhfbfgfhfhcxmdjddddddhfcfbdhfhfhdbdbdbbd dnbdhdbfbdbdbdhgdbfvbudjeduhfudhfhfdyhhhffdhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhghhghggggggggfgvvvghgghjejfjhvjcjfhffjfjdhdhdbdbddhdhdjddcdchcjchfjfjffffhcjdhcchfhfjchfhchhfhchfbfjfjffbcjwjxjdjejfjfbshfbghdhhfdhdbbbbbbbbbjfhfbchxjdjhhfhfyfjfjcjffufhxhfugfxhsdhdhxhzhzhzzdffhdw 214
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Keep reading! It gets better