×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Starbound (Marsbound Series #2)
     

Starbound (Marsbound Series #2)

3.6 30
by Joe Haldeman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Carmen Dula and her husband spent six years travelling to the distant home of the powerful race known as "The Others," in the hopes of forging a truce. But by the time Carmen returns to Earth, fifty years have passed-and the Earthlings have built a flotilla of warships to defend Earth against The Others.

But The Others have more power than anyone could imagine-and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Starbound 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a total waist of hard earned money! I hate it when that happens. 10 bucks to read 200 pages diary entries about going to another star to meet aliens who tryed to distroy the earth. An alien comes out to meet them instead. quickly takes them to it's races home world were they had had a civil war then sends them home. all in about the last 10 pages! guess this is why i like libraries!!!
hm22041 More than 1 year ago
Bought it because I've read earlier Haldeman, and this wasn't up to his best. He's basically writing about a small group dealing with a very big threat, so a lot - most - of the book deals with personal interaction, and it is not done very well. The characters are sketchy, but not particularly convincing. The writing style, diary entries from each of the characters, made me waste a fair amount of effort trying to figure out who was writing which entry, and it did not add to the narrative. I either didn't believe in the characters or didn't particularly care about them. I paid the nook price of $9.99, a waste of money. $2.50 would have been about right. I would not have bought it if I had browsed it in a book store, so I'm feeling annoyed at Barnes and Noble.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Carmen Dula and her husband pilot Paul Collins met when she saved earth and Mars from the destruction of the Others (see Marsbound). However, though they were successful for now, everyone knows that the human-Martian alliance is not close to matching the military might of the Others. Desperation leads to a peace envoy to journey to the solar system that is home to the Others to try to negotiate a lasting peace. Most people felt this Hail Mary quest was a suicide mission, but shockingly the six year trip has Carmen and Paul returning home, but on earth five decades have passed. In the interim mankind has constructed weapons of mass destruction to counter any Others invasion. However, neither earth nor Mars understands just how powerful the Others are as they refuse to accept the slightest hint of a counterinsurgency. This is an almost as fast as light outer space thriller that uses Einstein's Theory of Relativity as a key underlying premise to the exciting story line. Although the plot is a middle book connecting the introduction of the Others with what looks like will be a confrontational bound finish as nothing major closes, fans will enjoy the ride as Joe Haldeman cleverly uses Relativity to tell an engaging character driven science fiction. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The descriptions of sex are...well...umm....very..err...detailed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MichaelTravisJasper More than 1 year ago
This continuation of Joe Haldeman’s story of mankind’s encounter with “Martians” and another more alien species is entertaining and thought-provoking. There are a lot of ideas to consider in this plotline, including scientific theories and philosophical concepts. (There is some sex and basic living thrown in too.) I am looking forward to reading the third (and final?) novel in the series. Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”
MarkFL More than 1 year ago
What a star ship!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first book, "Marsbound," was excellent. This, however, seems a transition story, just to continue the series. The third, to which this inexorably leads (lacking a conclusion), is very disappointing. The author could have done so much more with this, especially when the characters finally begin encountering the "Others" in their own backyard. But no. Indeed, he begins the first of his Deus Ex Machina Plot Expeditors that so plague the third book, "Earthbound" - so as to not have to deal with the effects of long periods of interstellar space flight, as if he was saying to himself, "I'm bored with this, let's just move along..and hey, it's science fiction, so let's just create something out of whole cloth that I don't feel compelled to explain to accomplish that, physics and credibility be damned!" A shame, too, because for me, this and the subsequent book definitely damage the Haldeman "brand." I will be very leery of his work after this and the third in the series, borrowing from the public library rather than purchasing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story telling but weak ending. it was if the author couldn't wrap it up. This is a trend for him, unfortunately.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
excellant..the type of story you come to expect from Joe Haldeman-perfect companion to "Marsbound".a good plot with enough twists to keep you turning the page..and an ending that will make you say "WOW"
Guest More than 1 year ago
Too much detail about the characters and not enough excitment. It is a good thing it was a shorter story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago