×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Starling (Starling Saga Series #1)
     

Starling (Starling Saga Series #1)

4.3 9
by Lesley Livingston
 

See All Formats & Editions

Mason Starling is a champion fencer on the Gosforth Academy team, but she's never had to fight for her life. Not until the night a ferocious, otherworldly storm rips through Manhattan, trapping Mason and her teammates inside the school. Mason is besieged by nightmarish creatures more terrifying than the thunder and lightning as the raging tempest also brings a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Starling 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Buried-in-Books More than 1 year ago
I'm not quite sure how this one seems to have slipped under everyone's radar but I thought it was fantastic once I got a chance to read it. This is new stuff- Norse mythology which I know next to nothing about. Vikings, Asgard, Odin, Thor, Loki and that's about it. I don't know who is good or bad or anything else. But this was a really gripping novel! It starts with a bang with fencing practice being interrupted by a h*llacious storm and I do mean h*llacious with monsters that look like they come from that very place. And a beautiful naked man wielding a sword that can kill these monsters with one blow. He puts the fencers to shame as they cower behind him, all but Mason Starling, daughter to Gunnar Starling sister to Rothgar and Rory. When you meet Rothgar, you're going to want him to have his own series or at least have a lot more time in the story. Biker guy, very protective of his little sis and able to appease the very volatile and demanding Gunnar Starling, yeah,Fennrys Wolf was very swoon worthy, but so was Rothgar So, you've got a bunch of Vikings, actually descendants of them, stinking rich and they know how to use swords. Rory and Mason attend an elite prep school that make elite schools we've previous read about look like public school. There's a boy with a distinctly Greek sounding name and his mother and Gunnar get into a fight after the monsters attack the school. Hmmm, Vikings, Greeks....Just think on that. And then there's the Fennrys Wolf who is inexplicably drawn to Mason and she to him. The problem is, Fenn cannot remember anything before that night. He has nightmare and wisps of memories, but nothing is clear to him. And then there are the pesky monsters that are constantly chasing he and Mason, trying to kill them. I tell you, I was flipping pages so fast I wasn't sure if I had read the last words on the previous pages before I had started the next page. I've never read Lesley Livingston's Wondrous Strange series, but I am going to read it now. She knows how to tell a story. I think I was holding my breath at the end. The characters, Fenn and Mason are revealed to us and yet held back. We don't get to see what they don't know so it's hard to truly know them. But we know the mettle they are made of and they are our kind of people. I loved this book! I cannot wait for the next in the series. This one ended on a big cliffhanger, but I don't feel like I'm dangling if that makes any sense. You'll just have to read it to see what I mean. I loved the Nordic mythology. I love Valkyries and anything to do with them, though they weren't specifically in this novel, I have a feeling it's only a matter of time. There were other mythologies sprinkled in as well so the lore could become very complex. But in a genre that is full of Greek Gods and Goddesses, this Nordic mythology is a welcome addition! And definitely worth reading for the fast paced action, the family intrigue and Rothgar!
Redcingirl More than 1 year ago
This new novel/series is amazing. This auther writes is so imaginative, discriptive, and thrilling that everything she writes is amazing. I love the characters in this book. Cant wait to see how the love interest blooms with Fenn and Cal. Great book...cannot wait for the next one!!
BookSakeBlogspot More than 1 year ago
I loved the idea behind the story and absolutely love the role that fencing played in it. Mason has got some serious skills and any scene having to do with her fencing was written wonderfully. And who can resist a character that doesn’t remember anything more than his name – and what a name it is – the Fennrys Wolf. All of the characters were realistic and I easily felt as if I knew the characters personally. In some books authors will make a character do something out of character to create a moment, but Livingston kept all of her characters true to form which is the way I prefer it to be done. As this is a beginning to a series, I understand why there was so much story buildup in this book, but I wish there would have been more substance. I felt like nothing much happened after the opening. If it weren’t for the characters being intriguing I may have lost interest. As I do like the idea for the story, I will read the next book, I want to see where it goes and hope that it will go in a more fast paced direction. ARC reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.
WhatsBeyondForks 4 months ago
The world has just turned upside down for Mason and her friends. I listened to the audio version, which was narrated by the author, and she did a wonderful job. I think the mythology through this book is Norse or at least mostly Norse. The plot was intriguing with action and the tease of a romance. I'm very interested in the Fennrys Wolf. He's still a mystery to me in many ways. Many of the characters are, including Mason herself. I feel like we have much to learn about this world. Then, you have that crazy cliffhanger ending, and well... I'm just going to have to hunt down the next book in this series pretty darn quick.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some_Reading_Required More than 1 year ago
It started with a broken window, hoard of black-bluish beasties and a *hot* naked guy with a case of amnesia. Needless to say, I was hooked from the beginning. Starling caught my attention right away but unfortunately it couldn’t hold it. I may have started out with a high opinion but towards the end my happy feelings tapered off leaving me very let down. Don’t get me wrong, there was a lot to love about Starling, but there was also a lot to dislike. Mason Starling is extremely likable as the main heroine. She’s very gentle yet totally kick-ass. Mason can basically be your best friend or your worst enemy. When paired with a sword, you best hope that she’s your friend because she can be downright deadly. Heather was also a great female character. She starts out as Mason’s frenemy then quickly become one strong, loyal and protective “true” friend. Two other standout characters were Rory and Roth… two Starling brothers and two complete opposites. I REALLY hated Rory. (We’re totally meant to… at least I hope). He’s entirely self-absorbed, petty, and downright homicidal. If it would help advance his status, Rory would literally kill his own sister. As far as I know it there’s nothing reputable about Rory. Then there’s Roth, edgy and mysterious and regarded as the “golden” Starling child. He basically can do no wrong. Especially compared to Rory, Roth is placed on an extremely high pedestal. And finally the fifth character that I found rises above the rest is Fennrys Wolf a.k.a. Mr. Amnesia. It was hard really getting to know him mostly because he doesn’t know himself (LOL). But his protective and sweet-natured ways do shine through the confusion and memory loss, especially around Mason. There’s also quite a few other characters but I don’t feel they’re entirely worth mentioning. Many times I actually asked myself “Why do we need to meet this character or what purpose do they play?” Starling featured 3rd person multiple POVS. ”Oy vey.” I don’t know if it’s because I don’t read many 3rd person POVS or it was Livingston’s style but half the time I was utterly confused, not knowing who was saying or doing what. I had a very hard time keeping track and distinguishing between multiple characters. Many times I had to re-read a section. I also found the sheer number of POVS overwhelming. Just about every character introduced was spotlighted either frequently or periodically. There was just too many people to keep up with. The mythology aspect was pretty interesting and entirely unique. Before Starling I’d never read any book featuring Norse gods or myths. From the synopsis I figured we’d just be dealing with Norse, but surprisingly we also get some Egyptian and Greek god(s) interfering in the story. I personally love whenever an author features multiple mythological beliefs and paths because I’m a firm believer that all gods stand on equal footing. I know very little of Norse mythology so luckily Livingston provides us with the inside scoop to get us familiar with the Norse “tales of old”. There was also a downside to these scoops. The majority of the time I found myself waist-deep in information overload. As a newbie I was fed a bunch information regarding Ragnarok (Norse version of “the end of the world”). Many times I was confused when a character would act a certain way because of Ragnarok, especially when it came to the other gods. I felt like I was given a lot of information but couldn’t actually utilize it fully. Overall Starling was a decent book. It was an entertaining yet difficult read. Although the story and characters we’re imaginative and detailed; I just found too much fault when it came to the mechanics. I’m sure I’ll read book two but I don’t think I’ll necessarily rush to get it.