×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Starters
     

Starters

4.5 183
by Lissa Price
 

See All Formats & Editions

A riveting sci-fi dystopic thriller and series launch from the author of ENDERS.

Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Starters 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 183 reviews.
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
Starters was definitely different. I wanted to read it as soon as I found out it was a new dystopian, and you all know how much I love dystopians. The world Callie lives in right now is split in two. The starters (people younger than 20) and the Enders (people older than 70). Most of the people in between died from an epidemic. The Enders now don't die by the age of 80-90, they live up to 200+. The story starts with Callie wanting to rent her body at a body bank to get money for her and her young brother. The body bank "Prime Destination" is a secretive organization that only a few selective people know about. Enders get to have their choice of bodies and relive their youthful days, literally. On her third rental trial, Callie wakes up, takes full control of her body and finds herself living her renter's life. The luxury cars, designer clothes, and the fake name. However her renter isn't just out to have some fun, she has her own plan, a plan that might ruin Callie's life, if it didn't already end it. Callie would do anything to protect her brother, she was brave, rational, and a headstrong protagonist. The book had a plot, a mystery, an evil character, but I just felt that something was missing. I would have loved if I got a better glimpse at their dystopian world. I liked the build up of the story. Right from the start you get tidbits of information to unveil the conspiracy of Prime Destination and in just how much trouble Callie is in. You're not left in the dark for long, and when one question is answered, another one pops up. Especially towards the end, so many gasp moments occur and secrets are revealed that leave you hardly able to wait for the release of the second, and final book in this dystopian duology.
Lou4 More than 1 year ago
I love it! Loved Callie. Loved Michael. Then didn't want to love Blake...but I did. Then the Blake twist! And a race to stop a murder! What's not to love?!? The world is so divided, but feels so real. The poor orphans! And the Old Man plotting against them is so frightening; he gives me the shivers. I can't wait for book 2! I want Callie to rip the mask off that Old Man!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOOK AT THE AMAZING COVER!!!! I MEAN WHO WOULDNT WANT TO READ THAT!!!! Anyways this book is and was wonderful and you CAN judge it by its cover! Callie is someone many people wish they could be like as she goes through the story she finds herself out on the street running from the fuzz ( ha i just wanted to put that in there it means the police), dealing in the black market, having brain surgury multiple times, havin her body took over by someone at least 100+, pretending to be the older person thats suppose to be inside her, being in love wih two people, murder, a sick brother, and 100+ year old evil people followin her, while being in car recks fights and basically jail... JUST READ THE BOOK!!!
Hnossi More than 1 year ago
Starters is a great book. I won’t say that the first part was too slow, or that the ending was too fast, because really, its pace was even with mine all throughout the book. I didn’t want to stop reading because I had nothing else to think about except what was already written. There was nothing useless in the book. Everything that was written is important to the story and made me feel like I was a part of their world. This book is so much like the Hunger Games, minus–you know–the Hunger Games. It had that evil mastermind, loved ones to take care of, with the whole country in jeopardy, or at least the young ones in the country. Just like any dystopian story. But the similarities didn’t end there for me. See, sometimes there are series you need a break from. This summer, I needed a break for the Wicked Lovely series so I read Starters. Last summer, I needed a break from the Kiesha’ra of the Den of Shadows and so I read the Hunger Games. Anyway, Starters was like a cup of coffee minus the caffeine. I didn’t feel sleepy one bit while reading it or simply just thinking about it. I wasn’t just not sleepy, I was wide-awake. It’s a book that you would want to read even when you’re doing something else. I couldn’t stop going back to it even if I just left it for a couple of minutes. If there’s one thing I don’t like about this book, it’s that the evil mastermind is call the Old Man. Seriously that is getting old. I remember in Witch and Wizard, the dude is called The One. It annoys me that they don’t have proper names. I do have a wild guess as to who the Old Man is but after what happened in the last few chapters, I scrapped that thought. You know, it was impossible for him to, you know, and yeah… Anyway, with that ending, I found a new theory as to what is really going on with the Old Man. Read Starters to find out. My life was full of excitement as I read this book so I guess some of my feelings had been exaggerated while reading, but I’m not exaggerating when I say this is a great book. I can’t wait for Enders! I want to read it ASAP but it comes out in December. Oh man I can cry now. Lol. Anyhow, read this book. It’s a good dystopian book, much like the Hunger Games and Uglies (and Divergent I think. I can’t say for sure because I haven’t read it yet). The only difference is that I don’t know if Enders will suck (I know it won’t but I didn’t like Catching Fire) and that the pacing isn’t slow (I remember Uglies’ pace was slow. Still a good book though!) Some notes on new terms here. Starters are the kids and teens, and Enders are the old ones. Friendlies are basically friends or someone who wouldn’t hurt them, while unfriendlies are the exact opposite. Marshals are the cops, I think. I’m not sure if I left anything out but I think this might be helpful for other new readers. I know it took me awhile to figure out what the heck the Starters were even though it was so obvious from the start.
Stephanie1313 More than 1 year ago
This was a good book. It's not "edge of your seat" suspenseful, but the story is interesting and the main character is likeable. I'm curious about the next book. There's no gratuitous violence, profanity, or sex, so I would recommend it for teens, tweens and adults.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so amazing that I didn't want to put it down (and pretty much didn't for about 3 days!) After reading the entire Hunger Games series last summer, I was looking for a similar story in the dystopian genre. Then, I found Starters, began reading it, and didn't stop until the very last page! I CAN'T WAIT FOR ENDERS!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
“Starters” is not just your daughter’s (or in my case) granddaughter’s novel. Lissa wrote an exciting page turner and did not “dumb down” to attract younger readers. I was fascinated by the cover and was curious to learn this cover girl’s story. It’s an intriguing concept…young people called Starters left to fend for themselves due to the Spore Wars that wiped out everyone between the ages of 20 and 60. Callie, the main character, is orphaned and left to not only fend for herself but to also care for her younger, sickly brother. She’s scared, desperate and makes a decision that ultimately takes her to a frightening place. Prime Destinations hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders – seniors who want to be young again. Romance, intrigue, murder…who could ask for anything more? Well, I can. I’m anxiously awaiting Lissa’s follow up novel, Enders. Highly recommend!!!
MeredyxD More than 1 year ago
Starters was one of the best books I've ever read. It was the first book I've ever come across that i couldn't predict what was gonna happen next. It didn't have elements of cliche and i remember gasping at some points to how twisted the plot got. I really liked the main character, Callie. Though i didn't always agree with her actions she was overall a smart and a strong character. It might not be suitable for little kids because the book talks about the after effects of a war, deaths, etc.. and those may be too harsh for children so young but overall it's great. But the fact that the after effects, the poor state of the young people, the differences between the rich and the poor have been written so truthfully has been one of my favourite parts about the book. I advise everyone to read this book :) Especially if you were a fan of The Hunger Games trilogy, you're going to love this book too :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was great. Its different and though not suspenseful the whole time the parts that are are great. The main character is so likeable and caring for her litttle brother. Can't wait for the next book
thtarabgrrl16 More than 1 year ago
When i read this book i thought of it as an adventure that i could live. the suspense, feelings and action protrayed is extremely real! the twists that travel with your mind creates a love for the plot and the likable characters are perfect for the story. although the suspense until the next book is a bit too much and the things that are left to be explained in the next book seem important. over all my friends and i thought this book was amazing and the author did an outstanding job of captivating the readers, and we definitely can't wait till the next book is released. 5 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blew. My. Mind. This is one of those books where you think you've got it all figured out and then you get busted upside the head with a twist so crazy all you can do is sit and watch your brain explode. It's not hardcore action packed but it's got enough that it's never dull. And not only that but it's a very interesting take on a future society and I think the author gets it dead on of how certain people would act in a setting like this which helps you to really get more involved with the story.
bookwormftw More than 1 year ago
Okay, I am not a person who would come back and comment and rate a book. However, this book was by far one of the best dystopian book (next to Divergent of course). I thought this book was so intriguing and kept me on my toes the whole reading! On the other hand, the beginning of the book was a bit bland but as the story continues, it becomes much more interesting! I would definitely recommend it to dystopian readers/Hunger Game readers.
Icecream18JA More than 1 year ago
Could you imagine living in a world where everyone between 20-60 are dead? Callie is trying to support her younger brother with the help of their friend Michael, unfortunately, all people under the age of 19 are not considered citizens and have no rights. They are not allowed to work, own a house, etc. Out of desperation, Callie turns to a corporation that rents the bodies of teens to the elderly population. The mind of the renter controls the teen’s body and the teen’s mind is asleep during the rent. On her third shift, something goes wrong however and Callie comes to consciousness. What is happening to Callie? This book was a great read. It was hard to put down because I always wanted to know what was going to happen next. Callie is very capable and dedicated to her family. She is a fun, admirable character. This book was written with twists and turns that made sense and left the reader trying to decipher situations and occurrences. Starters is a good book for teens and any fans of science fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Absolutely impossible to put down. Read it. You will like it. There are twists, action, strong characters, great dialogue. Very very well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the creative twist and turn in this book. A must read if you love sci-fi books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I actually read the book after seeing it in the public library. I haven't gotten to buy it on here yet, but this book is amazing. I remember that. It's a worth while read, but if you try to discuss it with ANYONE who hasn't read it... Good luck. You get strange looks. It's a great read though! I recommend it to anyone who loves books that are based on unique ideas.
charlie5 More than 1 year ago
i saw the trailer for this book whilst watching the hunger games and was instantly hooked to it and knew that i had to find out more. i was disappointed to find i had to wait a week to read this book but when it was released i read it and on that saturday night i read two chapters and proceeded to read the rest of the book the following day i loved the concept of the book and although i cannot pin point the reasons why i was hooked it has you hooked within the first few pages and you need to know what happens next, each chapter more intriguing and interesting as the last. i would definitely recommend this book to everyone and i cannot wait until the next installment and as for lissa herself? i think shes a fantastic writer who takes the time to talk and reply to her readers and i hope she continues to amaze us with her talents ps BUY THIS BOOK tags: adventure, science fiction, thriller, dystopian
EdwinR More than 1 year ago
The world is now only populated by elders and teens after a spores war broke out killing all those that had not taken the vaccine. -- literal meaning of children and elderly first. Callie, our protagonist, is a strong female character who lost both her parents in the war and is now in charge of her younger brother. In order to provide for him she decides to become involved with a company that utilizes teen bodies as rentals for elderly folk. While in her contract, Callie's body encounters technical difficulties that sporadically bring her back to her body when she shouldn't be in it and finds herself involved in a quest to uncover something greater about the institution she now works for and a conspiracy that affects her and all the other teens whose bodies are being used. The premise is great, the story compelling and the end product magnificent. Although hazy in much of the background details pertaining to the new world created by Lissa the story is fast paced and evolves quickly. There is a major revelation at the end of the book that will leave you wanting the sequel. Fast read perfect for dystopian lovers
Perry-the-Ducktipus More than 1 year ago
So cool! SO SO SO COOL! Such a different take on a dystopian world! LOVED IT. Callie was awesome! Tyler was sweet! Blake....well i *thought* he was amazing....(dun dun dun!!!!!) Super cool book! A must read! :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like it!
ShannonODonnell More than 1 year ago
This book deserves every bit of the acclaim it has received. The storyline is riveting. It took me a few chapters to get hooked, but then I was totally caught in the story's clutches. Callie is an incredibly appealing heroine. She is strong, courageous, clever, and a little stubborn, yet at the same time vulnerable and endearing. After losing both parents, she is determined to protect her younger brother at any cost. I loved her devotion to him. The plot is incredibly original, especially for those who may be tiring a bit of the dystopian genre. I think fans of Divergent and Delirium are sure to love Starters. It's everything I expected such a highly acclaimed novel to be -- and more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. It was fantastically written and wonderfully imaginative. A great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome and i can not wait for the next book to come out
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book rocks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. Once it got going i could not put it down. Don't pass this book up. It is good!