×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Staying True
     

Staying True

3.9 75
by Jenny Sanford
 

See All Formats & Editions

BONUS: This edition contains a Staying True discussion guide.

In this candid and compelling memoir, the first lady of South Carolina reveals the private ordeal behind her very public betrayal—and offers inspiration for anyone struggling to keep faith during life’s most trying times.

She’s been a successful investment banker, a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Staying True 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jenny Sanford was a lovely, talented young woman who felt pressure to be married, and ignored all the warning signs that she was about to marry a selfish, self-involved man with nothing to give to anyone because he wants it all for himself. This is required reading for any young woman who feels similar pressure, whether self-inflicted or coming from family and friends. Ms.Sanford's ordeal burned away the needy person who put up with the indignities and discomforts of being married to a narcissist, and has found her true, strong self.
TawandaDG More than 1 year ago
I am happy that I took this book out of the library. It would not have been worth buying. This book is written by a privileged woman, about her privileged "difficult" married life in the political limelight. She whines through much of the book, as she sits in her beach mansion, never once taking any responsibility for her marriage. Yes, her husband was most certainly a scoundrel and embarrassing to her and her boys but, give me a break lady. No one can be as perfect as you make yourself out to be on almost every page of this snoozer. Don't waste your time or money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Jenny Sanford's book, Staying True. I didn't buy and read the book in hopes of finding out details of the scandal surrounding her husband, so I was not disappointed. I read the book as a result of seeing her on TV promoting the book and the way she handled herself, as a result of the situation her husband created. I enjoy reading about triumph, overcoming obstacles and inspiration. This book was all of that. I think the title of the book is perfect and sets the stage for the story within. Her recount of what their family's life became in the political area is interesting. Yet, it's her focus to maintain her integrity and family values, through this ordeal, that is most inspiring. Her unwavering faith is refreshing; and her ability to instill that faith, charity, dignity and a sense of normality in her children is admirable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mrs. Sanford is a terrific person, and someone who I admire so much for having to go through what she did and for no thanks from her husband...I wish her the best always
Terry_Stone More than 1 year ago
Staying True is a book that people, who are curious about the signs and signals in a couple's courtship and marriage, should read. Jenny provides a good insight into Mark Sanford, at the same time providing a balanced and even caring perspective on South Carolina's adulterous governor. Her first trip to South Carolina, where Mark had left an old stick shift car at the airport for her to drive to a location in the country where she had never been--in other words, his failure to meet her at the airport and take her to Coosaw himself--reveals volumes about his cavalier attitude. I know those roads and would not want to drive around by myself at night there, even knowing the way and driving a car that was easy to handle. Further, his "usage" of her because she was "free" to run his campaign, plus the images of his self-centered "frugality" confirm what I as a citizen of the state believed of him all along. I never voted for him after he spent his first term in congress sleeping on the couch and failing to bring anything positive to the people of his state. His first term as governor was unsettling too, since his main goal seemed to be to spend nothing more than absolutely had to be spent. During his second term he even cancelled the meals on wheels program, a lot of which is funded by churches and other charitable organizations. What a cheapskate. I watched with others in this country when he was "caught with his pants down" coming back from the bed of his Argentinian mistress in June of 2009. That he would whine and fawn to the public about her being his "soul mate" and apologizing to everyone, especially his mistress, for his abandonment of duty as governor to sneak down to visit her was sickening. And, I was appalled at Jenny's account of his calling and asking her what he should say to the press and afterward asking her how he did when talking to the public. He barely mentioned Jenny and the children during the press conference. Certainly, he didn't give them the attention he gave others in his address. Jenny's book reveals her courage, faith, and marvelous resilience in the face of her husband's adultery. It also reveals (at least to me) the signs along the way that he may not have cared for Jenny as much as she cared for him. He seemed to take her for granted, often sounding like a child talking to his mother. She supported him, ran his campaign, gave birth to and reared his sons (thankfully, for Mark, they didn't have a daughter), and loved him, overlooking his stinginess and self-centeredness. Jenny consistently voiced her admiration of his high moral values. After the affair, Jenny certainly gave him every opportunity to make amends and re-bond with her and the family. But, he couldn't stop crying for his Argentinian lover. Jenny certainly is prepared to live without him and raise her sons. She has a huge support system of friends, sisters, parents, and others. Plus, she virtually lived alone during his congressional years and held down the fort well, which helped to prepare her for this season of her life. I applaud Jenny's book and recommend it to all those who have supported Mark Sanford, as well as those of us who never did. Well done, Jenny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago