×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Steam & Sorcery
     

Steam & Sorcery

4.1 61
by Cindy Spencer Pape
 

Sir Merrick Hadrian hunts monsters, both human and supernatural. A Knight of the Order of the Round Table, his use of magick and the technologies of steam power have made him both respected and feared. But his considerable skills are useless in the face of his greatest challenge, guardianship of five unusual children. At a loss, Merrick enlists the aid of a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Steam & Sorcery 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
LiederMadchen More than 1 year ago
This book was a huge amount of fun. I love steampunk and paranormal and this book blends them perfectly. With clockwork dogs and undead creatures roaming the streets of London, an interesting new world is created. Caroline is a lovely lady who has had a very difficult time of it. Raised in a wealthy household (though she refuses to tell whose) and then working as a governess (sometimes to not very nice people) as well as her own sense of determination serve her very well in Merrick's adventurous home and make her a fun character to read. Mysterious, brave and good with children is a lovely combination in a heroine. I love Merrick. First, he is a fierce sword-wielding monster slayer. Second, he loves his five adopted children dearly, even though he doesn't admit it for a while. Third, he is absolutely hopeless when it comes to stopping Caroline from doing what she wants, no matter how dangerous, and he is always ready to defend her honour. He is very much so a knight in shining armor. The kids are great. Used to living on the streets and fighting for themselves, they have many unusual skills and hate being left behind. Each of them has different and fun personalities and abilities. I love how excited they are to have a weapon in hand. The plot was well-paced; not too fast, not too slow and with plenty of action. The romance was for the most part lovely but I disliked that they did not wait for marriage. In that time period, Caroline could have been ruined and I am not altogether happy that Merrick risked it. However, for the most part it moved along nicely from the streets to upscale mansions and crowded dance floors. Sigh, I love stories set in London. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves romance, steampunk and paranormal. It is not one to be missed.
BBsBookNook More than 1 year ago
Set in London in 1851, in the era of steam and mechanization, Lord Merrick Hadrian finds himself in a predicament. A Knight of the Order of the Round Table, a direct descendant of King Arthur's Knights of the Round Table, Sir Merrick has been tasked with a great problem. He can seek help from none of his brethren. Along the way, he receives assistance from a rag-tag group of five gifted children, and one Miss Caroline Bristol. The way in which the events unfold is truly enjoyable, and keeps the reader enthralled. For lovers of paranormal, romance, steam punk, or erotica, all will find something to love in this book. The attention to detailnis amazing! A fabulous read! **** four out of five stars... I look forward to more of this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was introduced to the writing style of Cindy Spencer Pape through her short story Photographs and Phantoms, which takes place AFTER the setting of this novel. I was excited to read this story based on my liking for the short story. This novel did not disappoint. I was quickly wrapped up in the story line and its characters. I look forward to seeing what else this author has in story for her readers.
GHott More than 1 year ago
The characters seemed so real that I miss them. I especially adored the children but, I am a sucker for any character that loves and accepts orphans.
RBtWBC More than 1 year ago
Steam & Sorcery had the potential of being a really great novel; there is a capable, smart and handsome hero, a headstrong heroine that can take care of herself, five orphaned children with supernatural abilities, vampires, werewolves and interesting gadgets one of the children creates. But when it came to the actual plot, it fell a bit flat. The story starts out at a good pace with action right off the bat; Sir Merrick is a Knight in a secret order that protects the rest of the world against the monsters. He is investigating the disappearance of several women when vampires ambush him and help comes in the package of five young waifs. When he discovers that one boy is a potential knight and the others have special abilities of his own he brings them into his home as his wards. However, he soon realizes he needs help and with the suggestion of his aunt hires Caroline as a governess. There is an instant sizzle between them, each character is interesting, but after the initial character introductions the story plods along slowly with the action dwindling. The romance between the two main characters is hot but predictable, they fight their attraction for each other and try to keep a professional distance but give in eventually. The mystery of the missing women and the congregation of vampires is weaved into the romance but the slow-going romance is the center of the plot. Merrick's Aunt added fun feminist humor, the paranormal side was intriguing but never fully developed, the steam punk aspects were in large part children's toys and the ending felt rushed. Overall though, it was still a fun little read.
Dee_avid_rdr More than 1 year ago
it was like having all my favorite books crammed into one story. it was great! the characters are unforgettable, the story line imaginative and i really can't wait for the next book. i'm actually hoping that the author makes the series about the two main characters, caroline and merrick, rather than create new stories stemming from other side characters. i guess we'll have to wait and see.
Vivre More than 1 year ago
I've never read steampunk before, but I thought paranormal steampunk would be kind of interesting and I was right. I hated to see the book end. The characters are interesting and you really end up caring what happens to them. Which is why I hope at least some of the future books will include them. I can't wait for the series to continue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tp58 More than 1 year ago
Good use of humor. Good characters and dialogue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As the norm, I do not care for romance. This is because most romance stories follow the same pattern--they meet, are terribly attracted, have too many obstacles to over come ie: not good enough, not pretty enough, not smart enough, not in the same social class, feel they have to hide their true feelings, ad nauseum. While this tale did have a romance, it was presented wonderfully and with a refreshing absence of the usual vapid angst that plague most "romances". This was a damn good story with a little romance on the side with most of the text being spent on the action, mystery, and suspense of the tale instead of spending so much wasted time on the "agonies" of a relationship that you already know how it will end. Thanks for a great time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honorable hero, self-directed heroine, five supernaturally gifted children and a supporting cast of interesting characters, all blended in a steampunk romance with vampires, ghosts and werewolves oh, my! Pape has a deft way of makingthe sometimes outlandish world of steampunk understandable and real, and her characters are so endearing that I'm committed to the series and hope it lasts long enough for the children to grow up and achieve their own potential.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BSharp More than 1 year ago
My thoughts: I enjoyed this story very much. I have come to love steampunk and this is a fabulous example of genre. The characters are delightful! Well developed, interesting, and lovable. The author has done a fantastic job of disarming the reader and depositing the children directly in your heart. Sir Merrick is a treat and Miss Caroline Bristol is wonderful. The unexpected romance is an added bonus. Social class be damned! The story flows smoothly and is filled with gripping intrigue, unusual adventures, and monsters. It is clever, creative, and well written. Well worth a read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago