×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Steamed: A Steampunk Romance
     

Steamed: A Steampunk Romance

3.4 81
by Katie MacAlister
 

See All Formats & Editions

Read Katie MacAlister's posts on the Penguin Blog.

View our feature on Katie MacAlister’s Steamed.

Katie MacAlister takes on Steampunk-and romance gets hotter than ever...

When one of Jack Fletcher's nanoelectromechanical system experiments is jostled in his lab, the resulting explosion sends him into the world of his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Steamed 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Computer research technician Jack Fletcher is experimenting with a nanoelectromechanical system in his lab. His sister Hallie, who sold him at a charity auction, accidentally moves the switches while spilling liquid helium on the connections, causing an explosion that burns the circuits and more. The boom also sends the siblings to another world; that of his favorite story Airship Pirates; a Victorian realm using steam power as the primary source of energy. . Aerocorps Captain Octavia Pye is on her maiden voyage on HIMA (His Imperial Majesty's Airship) Tesla. However, she is shock to find two stowaways on her ship. Jack and Hallie tell her their story, but she thinks they are either insane or spies for the Black Hand Rebels or one of the European enemies as the Empire is on the brink of revolt. She also thinks the hunk is cute while he knows she is the woman he always wanted. Steamed is an entertaining wacky steampunk romantic fantasy filled with humor as the computer guru with fantasies of being Indiana Jones lands in the adventure of a lifetime with the woman of his dreams. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Hallie sends them into this other realm and never slows down as Jack thrives to become a one-eyed patched first mate to the captain who has a few secrets of her own. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Katie MacAlister is one of my favorites. I have read and loved most of her books but I have to say I liked this one the least. Premise is good, got to love some steampunk. She does a wonderful job creating the world and the writing is well done. But I have to say I kind of thought the hero was an ass. The heroine was better, but I still couldn't seem to care. The side characters were pretty amusing, loved them though. A decent read to pass the time, but I would recommend her Dragon or Dark One series over this one by far.
Ktlow More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed with this book. I almost felt as if someone other that Katie MacAlister was writing it. Sorry, but I don't really recommend it.
Bidzilla More than 1 year ago
I love Katie MacAlister but this book completely misses the mark. Or maybe her editors let her down. The ideas were good but the hero guy character was COMPLETELY unbelievable. I think Katie tried to be too many voices in this book and none of them were fully fleshed out or made sense. I like the idea of a Steampunk romance but this so was not it. Save your money and get it at the library if you must read it.
nicolamattos More than 1 year ago
Zapped into the aether by a zany laboratory mishap, Jack Fletcher and his sister Hallie find themselves aboard a real live airship-in an alternate universe, at the mercy of Captain Octavia Pye and her crew of the Tesla. Grappling with the realization that they are far from Kansas and no Toto, Jack and Hallie are thrust into the madcap adventures of the Tesla, the ongoing war with the Moghuls (against the Emperor), and the revolutionary force Black Hand who are dead-set at toppling the Empire. And that's just what they have to deal with first in order to find a way back home. If they can even get home. I was endlessly grinning throughout this book because MacAlister's characterizations are engaging and fiercely funny. Always. She has a knack for writing the most amazing comedic scenes and dialogue and its not just restricted to Steamed but in all her books. With a great cast of supporting characters such as Francisco, Mowen, Piper, Dooley, Christian and others each with their own eclectic bent, you'll find yourself laughing nearly at every page. (I still want to know Mr. Llama's secret!) The mating dance between Octavia and Jack is charming, and hilarious. Jack is such an easy going character so different from other author's conception of a hero: he's affable, sexy in an Indiana Jones' kind of way, and he's not a shapeshifter or vampire. He's not laden down with any tattoos or mysterious power other than his priceless sense of humor. Just a geeky tech scientist who wants Tavey in his bed and will connive anyway to do it and while she'll protest the entire time, she wants Jack in the fiercest way. There's no stopping it. Steamed is an adventure to read and one that I enjoyed. The romance is snugly inserted into one daring event after another. Once you're on the Katie Mac express prepare for dips, turns and loop-de-loops. Make sure you're strapped in tight (and got your goggles on) because this irrepressible author will take you for the ride of your life. Spicy, zesty, with all the fat and calories, Katie MacAlister slaps you upside the head with a whammy of ginormous proportions. Who says that love can't be fun? ©Nicola Mattos www.fiendishlybookish.com
Melissa Homan More than 1 year ago
I sincerely hope Ms. Macalister never ventures into Steampunk again! I was all set for, at worst, a fun frolic through goggles & corsets. These characters don't work. They are interesting neither together nor separately & I didn't care what happened to them. This will be the first Katie M. book that I will not be keeping for my collection. All other books she's written are better. (For better Steampunk, try Gail Carriger. Imo, naturally.) If this is the first work of hers thhat you've read, please do try somethhing else if you were disappointed. They are all better than this!
DBSilverdragon More than 1 year ago
The modern time meets the victorian in this fun loving romantic novel. Action and romance as well as great funny moments make this book for a must read. It is truly unique and I read the book in only a weekend - yes, it is that good. I would suggest that you log off, get in your car and drive to your nearest B&N and get this book (or order it here).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As an avid reader of Katie Macalister's other books I was excited to see her add a new genre to her repetoire. However, that excitement was short lived as once I began reading the new steampunk romance I found myself wondering "where is she going with this plot?" There were tons of great ideas, characters and interesting locations but they never come together to make a compelling story. There could have been so much more development of the characters and their motives. It was as though they wanted to throw a bunch of interesting things into the mix but then leaves the reader wondering "why? and where is this all going?" because all of the interesting ideas and backstories that are hinted at as being so vital to the main plot are never revealed or explained. I finished this book feeling disappointed, especially so because I adore this author's other books and know what a great writer she can be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Steampunk is just not my genre and as a result, it's definitely not my favorite Katie MacAlister book--I found it odd and rather disjointed. I am a huge fan of her vampire and dragon novels, but I slogged through this volume with little to look forward to except being done with the book. Believe it or not, I almost didn't finish it. I didn't like the characters, the setting, or the plot. If you are a fan of Katie MacAlister and steampunk, you'll probably enjoy the book. I thought my enjoyment of her writing would transcend my dislike of the genre, but I was wrong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Warriors result three buti havea clan andim co leader id likemy clan to fight an protect bloodstar blacktail
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blackstar:can i rejoin and be deputy again. Coldkit:if i get back in i will be your mom. I promise i will not lie ever again. Blackstar:if i get back in i will band my clan forever and advertise frostclan. Sorry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are passages laced throughout the book which explain what Steampunk is. There is a lot of explicit language throughout the book. There is a lot of adventure too. To me this book is better classified as a science-fiction, adventure, erotic literature rather than a romance. There is quite a bit of humor as well. I did enjoy reading the book and I would recommend it to those readers that are interested in Steampunk and eroticism. The novel is essentially one long adventure along the lines of an Indiana Jones, The Gray Mouser, or Myth Inc. I would like to see more stories developed in this same genre.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tomwrussell More than 1 year ago
Jack Fletcher is a quantum-electrical engineer with a habit of getting caught up in unlikely adventures. Octavia Pye is the Captian of HIMA Tesla, a steam-powered airship in the Southampton Aerocorps with rather colorful history of her own. Naturally, these two just have to get together. A freak lab experiment blows up in Jack's face he and his sister are blasted into the alternate world of airships, corsets, aether guns and goggles, right into the hold of Captain Pye's ship. From there things get really interesting, with assassination plots against the Emperor by leaders of the rebellious Black Hand, attacks by Moghul warlords, daring rescues and of course, a burgeoning romance between Jack and Octavia. Ms. Macalister has woven a delightful, fun romp with colorful characters and her tounge firmly in her cheek. Even the intimate scenes between Jack and Olivia are done with as much humor as sexy detail. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys either steampunk or romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago