×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Steel
     

Steel

3.6 71
by Carrie Vaughn
 

See All Formats & Editions

A mysterious broken sword transports a modern teen through time to the deck of a pirate ship. Stranded in the past, and surrounded by strangers, she is forced to sign on as crew. But a pirate's life is bloody and brief, and as she learns about the dark magic that brought her there, she forms a desperate scheme to get home—one that risks everything in a duel

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Steel 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
Miss_Reckless More than 1 year ago
(Contains some spoilers) Sixteen year old Jill thought that losing a fencing boute was the worst thing that could happen. She was mistaken. When Jill discovers a tip of a ancient rapier at the beach, it transports her back to the 1800s on a pirate ship led by a fierce pirate queen. Unwillingly, she finds herself in the middle of an adventure. I was excited to find out that a YA author wrote a pirate book. I thought that Vaughn's descriptions were vivid, especially during the battle scenes and when the ship was out at sea. I read the book in a day, excited to figure out how it was going to end, hoping for a twist. Problem is...nothing happened. In my opinion, none of the characters developed to the point that made me love them. I admire Jill's bravery, but her actions/ the plot of the story were also very predictable. I was also looking forward to the romance in this book, but there is barely any. The romance was an afterthought, something that seemed like it was just thrown in there. Lastly, the ending was VERY predictable and annoying in a way. It was as if the author just wanted to be done with the whole story. The pirate history was interesting indeed, but I felt that the book could have been longer and executed much better. Look at it this way...in a year, I won't even remember what this book was about.
pagese More than 1 year ago
The idea behind this one was a new one to me, and I admit it intrigued me greatly. I think with the latest Pirates of the Caribbean coming out in 2011, HarperTeen probably has a hit on their hands. I thought Jill was a great character from the opening pages. She's dedicated to her sport and shows real discipline in it. I liked the fact that it was fencing because it was so appropriate to what happens to her. I enjoyed her character even more when she's transported back to the 18th century. She keeps her head on her shoulders, becomes part of the crew, and helps them overcome their own problems. When she's transported back to her own time, she takes the lessons she has learned with her. I also the pirate story. A female pirate captain with a heart was a great thought. But, the story has enough of an edge that you know this pirate ship is anything but typical. I liked how Jill was able to learn about the bad along with the good. Plus, it was great that the author included real pirates such as Blackbeard. The story seemed short, but well-rounded. It had the feel of a dream were the character wakes up at just the right moment. It was a fast read and I enjoyed it down to the last page!
ChelseaW More than 1 year ago
While other high school girls are cheerleaders or play volleyball, Jill Archer is sword fighting. Or fencing as it's called, and she's quite good at it. At least she thinks she is. Then Jill finds an old, rusty piece of sword sticking out of the sand during a family vacation and suddenly she is transported to a real life pirate ship! With no time to dwell on where she is and who these strangers are, Jill quickly adapts to life on the high-seas. But when a vindictive pirate begins to seek revenge on the crew she's with, will Jill finally get a chance to prove herself once and for all? This is my first Carrie Vaughn reading experience, and I was so pleased that I moved Voices of Dragons up the TBR pile, and put the forthcoming After the Golden Age on my purchase list! Steel was fun and kept me on the edge of my seat with adventure. At first I thought Jill was entirely too quick to accept her fate aboard the ship, but she was still a uniquely strong female character. She never complained about having to work as hard as the others or whined about not having her modern day comforts with her. I liked Captain Cooper too, as far as nurturing-type female pirates go. The battle scenes were vivid and not over-done. Carrie Vaughn was not afraid to get bloody, but kept it to a realistic amount, which I also appreciated. She manages to choose just the right amount of words for her descriptions, providing exactly what I want to read and not over doing it. Girls will love this book because of Jill's heroics. Guys will love this book for the awesome bilge-rat pirate action. I highly recommend you give it a try!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for the pirates and the romance, and while i was more or less satisfied with the swashbuckling high seas adventure aspect, the romance was disapointing. There was no build up of emotions, just friends with benefits sort of. If ur a romantic, pass this one by. Also, alot of the characters actions were confusing because there was little to no reasoning for them. So..... ehhhh. It was okay
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crystal_Kido More than 1 year ago
This book was really entertaining with a fun plot & engaging characters that pull you into the story & make it hard to put the book down. I plan on reading more by this author, especially if she writes another book involving pirates.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stalks into the warriors den and lays down , thinking about his old life as a kittypet.
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
I finally managed to read books from my own pile! And this read was quick yet very exciting. 1. Pirates. Yup, you heard right. Imagine Pirates of the Caribbean but with teens. Freaking awesome! 2. Fighting. Lots of good fighting scenes that make your heart race. I simply adored every moment of the sword, the art of breathing in and out, taking note of every move that you make. Simply amazing. 3. Crush. There really wasn’t a significant love interest but there was a crush that made the book much more adorable. I could tell just by their grins that being on the boat with them was going to be fun. Nothing  is ever boring. 4. Pirate Talk. Let me tell you that talking like a pirate is harder than what I though. I tired talking like one for a while and instead found myself frustrated. The pirate talk is cool and it definitely inspire me to try something new for a while. 5. Short. My only gripe is that the book is short. I long to go on another pirate adventure.  I want to be on the boat. See the waves crush against the ship. Scrub the deck.  I want to search for pirate booty and claim land! Steel is an awesome read! Fierce and action-packed, Steel takes the reader on pirate adventure you’d never forget.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample is 7 freaking pages long. My friend was reading this so I decided to too. Sample=ehma-no. The book seems dry from what I have heard. I hope it is good, it will cost me 6 bucks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this story in one day, and enjoyed the action of it. However, the 'romance' just isn't there. *SPOILER!* Basically, she kisses her shipmate Henry once and decides that she loves him or something. After their kiss, there was no development to the 'romance'. There was also no real climax to the story and when I finished the book, I felt kind of disippointed with the ending. Overall, it was an okay book but I will not remember this book and I would not read it again.aa
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
franklymydear More than 1 year ago
Interesting premise, the time slip of a young fencer into a pirate past. A little reminiscent of the Karate Kid (scrub that deck, you'll learn something) but its rather slow and short. The cover is great, the story simplistic. The technical details of life at sea and barnacle scraping appeared well researched but the thing reads like a textbook rather than an adventure. The short direct sentences and fragments that give the Kitty series its stream-of-consciousness immediacy do not work as well here and are a bit jarring and choppy, perhaps partly due to the lack of First Person perspective that makes it flow in Kitty.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down for a second.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a competative sabre fencer myself, I absolutly loved this book! The decription of the feeling and presure of fencing was quite acurate, and the adventure was fast-pased and exiting! I wish that there were more books like this, staring fencers and our noble sport!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago