×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Stepping on the Cracks
     

Stepping on the Cracks

4.4 107
by Mary Downing Hahn
 

See All Formats & Editions

Margaret and her best friend Elizabeth both have brothers fighting the war against Hitler and, like everyone else they know, they are filled with feelings of patriotism. But the girls are also involved in their own personal war at home. Gordy Smith, the worst bully in sixth grade, teases and torments them, and Margaret is scared to death of him. But when Gordy and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stepping on the Cracks 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 107 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was assigned this book in a 6th grade reading assignment. I laughed, I cried, the whole shebang. There are parts of the book you may not want to read involving Jimmy, the main character's brother, if someone close to you is fighting in the war. There are some bad words, but I hear worse at school. The others who were assigned this book LOVED IT! I have yet to read the 2nd book, but its pretty hard to find in my small town. I love to read lots, so check out my EXTREMELY SELECTIVE book list below. The listed books are le creme of de craup! In other words, the best! TTFN!!! -P
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in class and I LOVED IT!! The first couple of chapters are boring but after you get over the boring part it turns into a really great book!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Set in WWII Era Maryland, the story begins with Margaret and Elizabeth who are good friends, and both with brothers in the war against Germany and Japan. They are constantly harassed and bullied by Gordy Smith and his two friends. To keep the girls away from his secret hut in the woods, Gordy tells the girls a tall tale about a crazy man living in the woods. Margaret believes him, claiming that she did see a man walking in the woods before. Soon, Margaret and Elizabeth find out the true identity of the mysterious man, and uncover a dark secret of Gordy¿s. As the story progresses, the girls¿ opinion of Gordy changes from hating him to feeling sorry for him. As the girls try to help Gordy, the book comes to a shocking conclusion. Stepping on the Cracks is the first book in a series of three novels written by Mary Downing Hahn. It is an excellent book, and keeps your attention. I personally liked everything about the book, which kept my eyes glued to the pages. The story is easy to relate to, and you get to know the characters well for a large part of the book (the first 80 pages), before diving into the plot. Mary Downing Hahn has written a great book, and I would recommend this book to fans of Hahn¿s books and to fans of books in general.
Honestreaders More than 1 year ago
Great novel to introduce upper elementary students to the effect of World War II on average American families. The main characters, Margaret, Elizabeth, and Gordy are engaging as they have typical childhood conflicts and confront what war is really like as each of these 3 has brothers fightiing in the war. Also, the book is excellent is showing authentically what life in the 40s was like in the United States.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a young girl at the age of 11, Margaret, misses her older brother who is overseas fighting World War II. She shows a lot of courage when she is faced with the schools biggest bullie, Gordy. She then discovers he has a secret that takes her on a wild adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I GOT ADDICTED TO THIS BOOK!!!! I JUST FINISHED THE SECOND BOOK IN THE SERIES AND CANNOT WAIT TO READ THE THIRD ONE!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS GREAT! It makes you laugh at some parts and cry at others. this book is one of my FAVORITE Mary Downing Hahn books! It is truly great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read it last year. All the characters were wonderful, and i loved the story and the "big secret". Gordy forever!!
monksbread More than 1 year ago
This book is my daughters favorite book. She read it several times and it sounded like a book for me to read. Well she is right. It is a good story about WWII and what a lot of Americans were going through at home while our men and women were fighting overseas. It will open your eyes as to what they went through during the war. It really gave me something to think about. Nice story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not the best book I've ever read, but it had humor and kept me reading. Everyone can relate to the charachters. The end was very touching.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Stepping on the Cracks is a great book. It occurs during World War Two. I recommended it to one of my friends and she loved it! This has been one of my favorite books for a very long time. Mary Downing Hahn is a great author! Anyone who gets the chance to read this outstanding book should!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book growing up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and I'm only in third grade! I scored 100% on my AR test.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like and no it is sad & happy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked tis boook it was an project for class and we did activitys with this book it was nice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book soo much!!!! It tells an amazing story!!!!! Its my favorite book out of all of her books!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the oaf
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reply to gbj_@#18.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this in 5th grade with my class. Usually, the teachers make reading novels boring, but this was my favorite teacher so she made it SUPER FUN AND INTERESTING! I love my fifth grade teacher! She's my favorite and always will be. I miss her now that I'm in sixth grade!-Kate
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I havent read this book. But i am about to. I adored her book "All the Lovely Bad Ones" and i hope this will ne just as good as that was.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read most of Hahn's books but she really outdid herself here. This book if very realistic and I can't wait to read her other 2 books that go along with this! (Following My Own Footsteps and As Ever, Gordy)