×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Steve Jobs
     

Steve Jobs

4.2 1700
by Walter Isaacson
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the author of the bestselling biographies of Benjamin Franklin and Albert Einstein, this is the exclusive biography of Steve Jobs.

Based on more than forty interviews with Jobs conducted over two years—as well as interviews with more than a hundred family members, friends, adversaries, competitors, and colleagues—Walter Isaacson has

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Steve Jobs: A Biography 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1700 reviews.
bulbrandt More than 1 year ago
I bought this book after seeing a promotional interview with Walter Isaacson and this book. I didn't know much about Steve Jobs or Apple. I have not been an avid Apple products devotee. This is a wonderful book! I found it to be a compelling read and had a hard time putting it down. Mr. Isaacson is a really good writer and I now plan on reading his biography of Benjamin Franklin. I now know that Steve Jobs was a very interesting individual following his own head and heart. Isaacson writing is SMOOTH. It is succinct, but not boringly so, treating Job's sometimes not so great personality characteristics as honestly as he treated his very good traits and his genius. And apparently both Jobs and his wife wanted it that way which was very wise on their part. To do otherwise would have been a mockery of his life. If Isaacson had an agenda while writing this book or about Jobs it doesn't come out in the book. I felt no tug pulling me toward or against Jobs. This is one of those books that stays with you. Fascinating man! It made me feel that I/we may be missing out because of the mediocrity that is so prevalent in this country. There just are not a lot of Jobs's around, we discourage them. One thing I wish Isaacson had given us. Some sense of what it was like for Jobs to grow up in his rather conventional family without having his unconventional genius squashed. From what little was said they sound like they were suppportive, but I would like to hear some details. Can you imagine if some little boy like Jobs was in your child's elementary school? How many of these creative geniuses are molded into conformity? Excellent read - buy it!
Ahmed Raza More than 1 year ago
The only Steve Jobs biography which exposes Steve Jobs completely in terms of his work and personal philosophy. We finally know Steve as a mortal through this book.
Kuasol1 More than 1 year ago
This is a very comprehensive book that details all aspects of Steve Jobs life and work bar one. Details about his formative years are sketchy. Walter Isaacson did not interview the one living person, adopted sister Patty Jobs, who could enlighten him more about interactions in the Jobs household that helped form Steve Jobs. Living relatives of Paul or Clara Jobs, his adoptive parents, were also not interviewed. Isaacson places more emphasis upon his biological parents. It seems that the literary works of Mona Simpson, Jobs biological sister, over influenced Isaacson. Even when there is a strong father figure in a home, mothers do help to form their children's personality. Clara Jobs gets no more than a few lines in a 600+ page book. Patty Jobs is mentioned only once or twice in passing. Research shows that she is still living and works at De Anza College in the payroll department, a position similar to that of her late mother. Hopefully a later biography will delve more thoroughly into Steve Jobs formative years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really anticipating reading this biography. We all know about Steve Jobs' claim to fame and he has been idolized by so many young, hip and technologically aware people. As a visionary, he deserves the hype. What a surprise when you read the book and see the real person behind "the stare". As I depressingly read each chapter, the only words that seem to come to mind are kook, somewhat insane, nastier than hell, manipulative, misanthrope, and disloyal to friends. He is a one-man study in what an ambitious but mentally disturbed, amoral person is capable of. He is NOT a model person but a great example of self-absorbed egotism run amok. However, he was in the right time and place and has earned billions for his technological designs and ideas including some he stole or finessed from other companies and his employees; so he was well rewarded. But that is all he was. As a human being, he was a FAILURE!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Isaacson maintained his objectivity throughout the book, with only rare - and refeshing - comments indicating he actually likes Jobs. The book is better for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have never been much into autobiographies. I had to read them when I was younger, and never enjoyed them. Walter Isaacson however, has written an autobiography that I am still thoroughly enjoying. I just can't put it down! Mr Isaacson has written a very interesting, deep, well written book, about one of America's modern iconic entrepreneurs!
Mac_Man More than 1 year ago
Fascinating, well-written if a bit selective... I had the pleasure of reading the biography on the day it was out. I've read it a few times since then. I'm one of those who's had the good fortune (curse?) of sharing the space inside Steve's RDF many times. During my years at Apple I had many discussions with Steve, and I'm proud to say that for a time once he used to stop by my desk to personally inquire into some of the stuff I was doing. I can't explain the feeling when this happened - a mixture of fear and flattery'd sum it up best, from someone who I remember to have both praised and trashed my work, unpredictably I'd add. Once I'd developed a rather cool algorithm for audio enhancement which my colleagues spent a lot of sleepless nights to put together into a demo. I still remember the day when Steve stopped by, listened to less than 5 seconds of our demo and instantly trashed it with words that dare not repeat here, and berated me for having wasted my time. It was one of my bitterest experiences, but in some years, strange as it is, I got to relish it - call me a masochist. I think I took pride in the fact that Steve took the trouble to actually check out what I was doing, even though he was totally [ reworded the previous word :-) to keep the review PG13 ] insensitive in his reaction. I know many colleagues who had similar experiences and I would have thought that incidents like these would make excellent anecdotal reading material for the book. I looked for them and couldn't find a single one in the book, even though I found many other anecdotes that were discussed in unwarranted depth which do less justice to the picture of Steve the complex man. There are also folks at Apple who I hold in very high regard and by who Steve was also influenced highly. But I don't find them in the book. And then there's Tribble (coiner of RDF) who's been at Apple since god knows when, and Steve trusted enough to assign to one of the most important early projects. He figures in the book in a few short sections, but is not mentioned in the cast of characters. I guess you have to be selective when it comes to writing a voluminous work like this. Its definitely interesting. Still I think it'd have been better if it was more inclusive and described all the juicy experiences that more of us can remember. I mean, if you're gonna write a big fat book, what's the problem with adding a few more pages? I recommend this book highly to everyone, whether Apple employee or not. It's worth many reads and for those of us like me, it brings back many memories, fond ones and not-so-fond-ones. But eventually the fond ones win over.
Matty_H More than 1 year ago
This was a much better book than I expected it to be. It was interesting where the author chose to delve into extraordinary detail and where he flew over what seemed like big pieces of the Jobs puzzle but all-in-all the book was a pragmatic retelling of a great man who was deeply in pain for his entire life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not know much about Steve Jobs before reading this book and in fact the only apple products I have ever owned are ipods. It is a great read and perhaps a great marketing tool as I now want am interested in more apple products :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was well writen but I felt Mr. Isaacson was too emotionally connected to his subject. It wasn't outright Steve Jobs/Apple propaganda but it did skirt a fine line at some points. The book spends most of it's time trying to make you like a complete jerk. People like Steve Jobs because of the success of Apple. I do agree that he refocused the company, got rid of the excess projects and provided much of the inspiration for the great products that Apple makes but he was a jerk and you can't explain away the manner that he treated people. Especially the way he treated his daughters. The authored seemed to want to spin his actions so that we would want to rationalize his behaviour and eventually accept it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a first year doctoral nursing student. Suffice to say I am no computer whiz....;) Couldn't put this book down, and as a matter of fact, read it over the course of three days. What a complex, fascinating human being. My hat goes off to you, Mr. Jobs. You changed ALL of our lives......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Steve Jobs was an American genius, someone who changed all our lives, innovating like none other, an inspiration to the business world. This books reveals his human side and more personal aspects as well, maybe not as complimentary as the rest of his accomplishments. A wonderful book of a unique individual
hunternoel More than 1 year ago
It is impossible to deny the fact that Steve Jobs had a great influence on our current way of life. Though, as one may expect, there are many varying opinions about what kind of a man Steven Paul Jobs really was. Many make up their mind about Jobs based on what they hear online and from the people around them, and I believe it's not fair to judge a person without first getting a solid idea of who they are. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson is a wonderfully composed biography of Steve Jobs that one absolutely must read before drawing conclusions. Tying in interviews from a great deal of people who were close, and not so close, to him, Isaacson goes into depth about Jobs's life from the beginning to end. The biography gives the great, the not-so-great, and everything else about Jobs while not attempting to sway the readers' mind. Jobs himself ordered Isaacson to write accurately about him and never read any of what was written. In typical Jobs fashion, however, the only part he played was in the look of the cover. This level headedness is clear throughout the biography and makes it a pleasure to read. As a result, I would recommend that anyone who wants to know more about Steve Jobs ,or anyone who thinks they don't want to know more, read this book. I would also recommend it to those interested in the evolution of technology within the last few decades. Not only is it fascinating to learn about Jobs's behavior at work and with his family, it is surprising how much of an impact so few people have had on our everyday life right now. As a whole, Steve Jobs's biography by Walter Isaacson would satisfy Steve's expectations, which is all that really needs to be said.
mwdv More than 1 year ago
Very interesting, warts-and-all biography of a very important and complicated character. The author is respectful, but not flattering or fawning - just honest.
Tough_critique More than 1 year ago
This brutally truthful book is written with care and touches every essential detail to create a great picture of Steve Jobs and his era in development of the computer and software business. It takes the reader from the early computer development we (older readers) all remember and had some involvement, as a developer, builder or a (unfortunate) user. While reminiscing, reader understands why one had to struggle through the slow development process of both Macs or Microsoft based (IBM PC) computers. We all paid our share of $2000 from our small budgets to get a somewhat working computer in our homes to realize that it was obsoleted in mere one to two years. While some of us needed to build our own from a kit purchased through the mail. Meanwhile it draws an honest picture of Jobs as a ruthless manager and an effective leader from the original Apple I computer to the LISA to Macintosh to iPod and iPad.. At times it hurts to continue reading about his nonsense behavior which is depicted with honesty and clarity. I highly recommend it to all ages to understand how the computers and the computer industry developed, what was Apple's and Microsoft's roles and contributions, road-blocks. It did not happen overnight!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific & really well done.....history lesson as to how it started & where we are today....amazing....top 10 reads this year....Jobs was & is everything as advertised....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Before reading this book I knew very little about Apple and Steve Jobs. This book has changed that and the way I look at business and the people I have working for me. Plain and simple... Read this bo ok or settle for less in life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not only did I learn about Steve Jobs, but I got a wonderful lesson about branding your product. Fantastic book. I could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best biography i've ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book tells you everything about Steve Jobs and his company I recommend this book to any one who likes the iphone, ipod,ipad,imac,ect. This is also a great book for anyone at any age.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like I said it's quite good bio, when I was reading the book I felt that I am a friend of Steve. Firsty I want to say that Steve an incredible man with his all bad behaviors. Okay maybe you think he is a jerk but he is absolutely a special guy who giving direction to technology. He had different vision in technology and of course art so he founded two great company, Apple and Pixar. Secondly if I return to the book, it is a wide book you can read every moment of his life. I really like style of Walter Isaacson and I'll read his other biographies. Finally I think all technology lovers like me must read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just a fantastic account of the driving force behind all the neat little gadgets we get to enjoy today.
Dr_Wilson_Trivino More than 1 year ago
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson is a must read for those who want to get insight into a man who has transformed the world. Jobs influence has changed the computing, music, and movie industry. Isaacson’s past works on center on individuals who merge creativity and science. This book received Jobs blessings and also is a candid assessment of his short life. Isaacson traces Jobs from his biological parents and growing up in the loving home of his adopted ones. Jobs comes away as much more complex character than his turtle neck public persona. Here was an individual who lived as an Zen Buddhist way to be detached from material things, but create products that individuals coveted as an extension of themselves. Jobs was relentless to push the envelope and force the world to view itself through a different lens. This book is also revealing in his personal relationships and the pain and joy he experienced from them. Even though the book is a bit over 600 pages, you glide over the material and are left with a better appreciation form
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did not expect Jobs to have such a bizarre personality and disrespect for others My image of his greatness has changed His failures are drawn out too long for the average reader. Maybe tech folks will enjoy the details. I found the characters difficult to remember throughout the book. First on Jobs good side, then later not , then back in good graces. Overall, not what i had hoped for.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one weird, eccentric and compulsive men i have ever read about. Yet one of the most brilliant and creative minds i have ever read about as well. This was our modern day Henry Ford or Benjamin Franklins. Highly recommend reading this book if you like business, technology or just find peoples lives interesting.