×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Stick Figure: A Diary of My Former Self
     

Stick Figure: A Diary of My Former Self

4.2 52
by Lori Gottlieb
 

See All Formats & Editions

An Alternate Selection of the Book of the Month Club and Quality Paperback Book Club

“Although it reads like a novel—a funny, touching, and absolutely gripping novel—Stick Figure is, astonishingly, the diary of Lori Gottlieb in 1978, when, at age 11 and all evidence to the contrary, she decided she was too fat and simply stopped

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stick Figure: A Diary of My Former Self 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the book Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb, it was great to see how her family cared about her when she struggled with anorexia. Lori wanted to fit by being the skinniest girl in the world. She decided to go on a  diet and would not eat anything. Lori’s parents thought there was something wrong with her. They brought her to the doctor, and she only weighed less than fifty pounds. The doctor sent her to a  psychiatrist; he told her if you don’t gain weight you will go to a hospital. She didn't gain weight so she  stayed at a hospital for a couple days. She did not like staying there because the nurses that helped her  would always be in there to watch her eat. She did not eat anything, so she would throw it away when  they leave. I really enjoyed this book because it helped me out with my problems, and I thought it was great how everybody was helping her out. I think teenage girls would love to read this book to understand  what she went through and how to control yourself if you feel that way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
'Reasons why I should kill myself:..No one makes you eat when you're dead..it's the only way to get out of the hospital without weighing 60 lbs," Lori Gottlieb writes in her in her stunning memoir based off of diaries from  when she was a teen (SickFigure 189). The book Stick figure:A Diary of My Former Self by Lori Gottlieb is an elevn year old girl still learning how a young lady must act, and how quickly  a girl needs to become a woman. However, that soon turns around when she takes her parents words to an extreme and starts not talking or eating. She then becomes obsessed with the idea of being  extremely thin and in her opinion beautiful. As her obsession grows her parents take her to many doctors and tell Lori to eat and drink many different things, but she never listen. Instead she threatens self-harm and to run away. Finally, she sees her self for what she has become a self medicated stick figure. I recommend this book for parents of anorexic children and young teen girls. I enjoyed reading this book because it gives you a special look inside an anorexic's mind. With a sarcastic, yet admiring tone Lori gives readers a veiwpoint no other can, while teaching them to not give up because anyone can overcome something no matter how hard.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The memoir Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb is about a girl named Lori who writes a diary about her life as an eleven year old, facing life threatening anorexia. She starts out perfectly fine with no eating disorder, but as the book continues on, she becomes very sick. Lori really explains how she’s feeling and what she’s going through. She also lets the reader understand how it is to have no one understand how she feels. There are certain parts that Lori explains with great detail. One example is when she is in the hospital and tries to cut the fat out of her stomach with a pair of scissors. This is a part that explains the gruesome event very well. Stick Figure is highly recommended to any reader looking for an inside look at a girl’s life with anorexia.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb was a fast, easy read that I would recommend. It went through her life, start to finish, of her eating disorder developing and turning into full-on anorexia. I didn’t like how much it focused on her mother; however, that fed into Lori’s disorder forming. I would recommend this for girls in their early teens as a fast read, for it has a good message, but it would be good for anyone. I would especially recommend it for a girl who was considering an eating disorder herself because it focuses on the negatives of eating disorders.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stick Figure, by Lori Gottlieb, is a book I recommend for most teenage girls to read. It’s an emotional story that takes the reader on  a journey through an eleven year old girl’s fight against anorexia. Though it was an amazing story, Lori takes a long time to get  into the plot of the story and the climax. It seemed like I had to wait till the last couple chapters before getting to an intense part of the story. I recommend this book to girls around the age of thirteen or fourteen. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the diary Stick Figure: A Diary Of My Former Self by Lori Gottlieb, 11 year old Lori is diagnosed with Anorexia Nervosa. I loved the way that she incorporates humor into a depressing diary. Even though it was an exceptional read, I would not necessarily recommend it if you were struggling with your appearance/weight. At some points, she even made me feel self conscious of myself. However instead of wanting to agree with her, it made me disagree! Overall, the book was definitely interesting and a page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stick Figure was an interesting book to read. Things I liked about this book is that it was realistic such as this really happened and can occurs in people’s life. The author had a good  tone and her writing made the story more page turning and suspenseful. However things I did not like about this book was that it dragged on and some time included things that were not necessarily important. This book was not my favorite but it made me want to keep reading and i would recommend this entertaining book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the novel Stick Figure by Lori Gottel goes through a very severe case of anorexia at only the age of eleven. Throughout the book the  author talks a lot about how she was very self-conscious about her appearance to the point where she ended up in a children’s  hospital for not eating enough. While she was at the hospital, she was still too stubborn to eat and weighed less than 60 ponds.  She didn't really realize how bad it was while she was doing it. This caused her to be upset with her parents, doctors and anyone who  told her that she shouldn't be starving herself, especially at such a young age.  During the book I was actually upset at Lori for doing that to herself and thought that it was a very dumb decision and just the way she  handled it made me just want to yell at her and show her what she was doing to herself. I recommend this book to mostly teenager’s  boys or girls. Lori wrote this memoir to spread the word about how serious anorexia really is.  In Lori’s memoir she also supports the  statement of anti-bullying and how bullying can cause many disorders such as anorexia.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No one understands me that am what Lori says in her book. By her seeing a commercial which said “If you can pinch an inch” and seeing how other people look. She thought of herself fat. The book Stick Figure by Lori Gottieb is about an eleven year old girl. The girl’s name was Lori and she is a smart girl, but she felt like nobody can understand her. She thought of herself fat, so she went on a diet. Her diet was barely eating. Her parent thinks that something is wrong with her, but nothing was wrong she would say. she is just on a diet. They would take her to a psychiatrists and she ended up in a hospital. The psychiatrists made the family vote on if she should go to the hospital. I enjoyed the book because I knew how Lori felt. I would not eat when I’m not hungry and my parent thinks that there is something wrong. I’m not anorexic at all. I would try to imagine how she is feeling and I wonder what I would do if I was in her shoes. I recommend this book for mostly for teenagers and adults: for adults to see how some children feel about their selves, for teens because of how other children feel to how much different they are or similar they are.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Imagine being 11 and weighing less that 50 pounds. The story Stick Figure is about a girl, Lori Gottlieb, with anorexia nervosa. She is sent to the hospital so that the doctors could help her gain weight. At age 11 Lori weighed under 50 pounds. The doctors wanted her to weigh at least 60 pounds before she went home.  She wanted to cut herself so she would bleed to death, After meeting a girl in the hospital who died she decides that she really does not want to die. I loved this book. Every time I had to stop reading it, all I wanted to do was pick it back up. I think this book would be a great read for teenage girls and some teenage boys who are going through this phase in life. They will learn that being skinny isn’t the most important thing in life. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the book Stick Figure, by Lori Gottlieb a girl struggles with the 4 battle of anorexia Lori the main character, she expresses her troubles and thoughts about being a women in modern times, and dealing with the pressure of being thin to fit in. I really enjoyed this book because it gave me more perspective on how insecure people are. It's very emotional, and it keeps you wondering what she will do next. While Lori was going in to the hospital, she always thinks that she could afford to lose a few more pounds. Eventually she puts her own life on the line, just so she can feel like she was what the media wanted. She wanted to like just like your friends, but what she didn't see was that she wad doing devastating damage to her self and her body. What seems to be Loris mantra is you, "can never too rich or too thin." While Lori is a very honest person she hides the truth from herself by telling herself that she's too fat or that she has thunder thighs. Loir's parents eventually made her go to see doctors, but eventually Lori draws a picture of what she look like and how she wants to look like she drew a stick figure. Sticking to her mantra. In the end Lori learns that it is good to be different.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
chocochipcrayon More than 1 year ago
I absolutely could not put this book down! The insight into Lori Gottlieb's thoughts and feelings about herself were enticing. It amazed me that this "situation", as it's called throughout the novel, happened when she was only eleven. It made me realize how poisonous the media truly is when eleven year-old children believe that they need to diet. An eating disorder is an extremely obsessive thing, and Gottlieb made that obvious. Her story was not only thought provoking, but was provoking emotionally as well. This collection of diary entries was a quick but intense read, and I strongly recommend it to any reader or book club.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Buffheart More than 1 year ago
Although some of the characteristics of Eating Disorders are there, this story is not accurate. One with an Eating Disorder cannot simply think themselves "better", and that's what the book seems to convey (in my opinion, at least).
Guest More than 1 year ago
¿This isn¿t a game anymore,¿ Dr. Katz said when he came in this morning. The reason he came early is that the treatment team is worried about my lab tests. Dr. Katz said he doesn¿t care what the chart says because I¿m obviously not eating as much as the nurses are writing down, which is why he just had a talk with them about how they should never listen to me, no matter what. Like anyone ever listens to me anyway.¿ Stick Figure is a mesmerizing book about an 11-year old girl who is living in Beverly Hills she becomes anorexic because of a bad relationship with her parents and hardly any support from her friends and family. She is absorbed with her schoolwork and is not concerned with her looks until she realizes she wants to do something with her life, and she gets the impression that doing that, requires being thin. She rapidly becomes obsessed with her weight and how many calories she consumes. And quickly starts to worry her family, friends and the doctors start getting involved with her ¿situation¿. Soon she sees herself as fat, and everyone else can clearly see that she needs to get help¿and fast. She goes to a clinic where people go when they are very sick. She then tries the unthinkable and her situation becomes more and more serious. Stick Figure is Lori Gottlieb¿s diary that she kept while was battling anorexia. Stick Figure is a national best seller and is loved by all of its readers. Lori Gottlieb still lives in California and is a journalist for many well-known magazines and NPR. This book is filled with emotions that just seep through the pages. You will come to adore Lori as much as I have and understand what she went through. This book will be adored by boys, girls, and adults due to its many inner themes that most people can relate to. I loved this memoir and I know that every other person who picks it up will too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
you very clearly do not have any knoweledge of eating disorders, how they develop, or what healthy eating habits are. Sorry, an emaciated and sickly body is NOT a result of healthy eating, sorry an obsession about your body and food is NOT a healthy lifestyle. as someone who has suffered and recovered from anorexia and bulimia, i take offense to your ignorance on the matter and suggest you educate yourself better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to dissagree a little with the review titled confusing. An ed can develop from her just wanting to not eat for attention, having an ed is a way of coping with something just not a healthy way and the girl wanted to be noticed. I know it's rare but you can become so obsessed with food that it turns into a dissorder. And food is used to replace what your feeling so you wont have to. Like her family and pressure from her mother to basically be perfect all the time. And the kids at school the popular ones she wanted to be like, that was her way of coping. I do agree that most ed's as I said don't just start out from wanting attention but there is a need for attention. I read this book once and a teacher of mine in HS suggested I read it since I was and am anorexic/bulimic. I enjoyed the book very much and would love to read it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was amazing wen my english teacher recommended it for me i read it in 2 days. It was such a great book but its just upset me alittle about how she was so young n wanted to be the thinest girl in the world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book kinda confused and upset me. Like stated before, the authors way of just not eating for attention developing into an 'eating disorder' is very unrealistic and so is the way that she just wished herself better. The chances of others having similar situations to Lori are very slim and, to me at least, it seemed almost as if she never developed an ED, just ate healthy. Not recommended if you are just fishing for tips or to find out what it's like to have an ED.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the book ~ read it in 2 days. Was disappointed with her 'getting over' her ed in just a few short weeks, because that just doesn't happen, but overall it was a great read.