×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Still House Pond
     

Still House Pond

4.0 13
by Jan Watson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Lilly Gray Corbett loves living on Troublesome Creek, but she would much rather play with her best friend than watch her little brother and the twins. Her mama, Copper, is often gone helping to birth babies, and Lilly has to stay home. When Aunt Alice sends a note inviting her to visit in the city, Lilly is excited to go, and Copper reluctantly agrees to let her.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Still House Pond 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
SelaBear More than 1 year ago
This fifth book in the Troublesome Creek series was a nice "vacation book". Nothing too heavy, yet thoroughly enjoyable. The author provides good character development and an easy-going plot. The book summary is a bit misleading because the train scene doesn't happen until about 2/3 of the way through the book. But thinking about the book as a whole, I think it's as good a synopsis as any because the story mostly just meanders through the three main characters' lives; Copper, Lilly, and Manda. I did not know when I started reading it that it was in a series, but it didn't make that much of a difference. I plan on reading the other ones now that I know because I think they will add depth of character and the book was a nice light read. I give this book a 4 stars. Light, engaging, and good characters. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishing as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Virginia76 More than 1 year ago
Lilly likes to play with her friends and not help her mother with her younger siblings. When her aunt invites her to visit the city, Lilly is excited to go. A train crash causes her parents to rush off to search for her. I took this book out at the library without realizing that it was book 2 but I had read another series by the author, so the characters were familiar to me. Overall, I liked the book and it was rather interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book must read the series!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AAR More than 1 year ago
STILL HOUSE POND by Jan Watson is an Inspirational Historical Fiction set in 1896 Troublesome Creek, Kentucky. It is a continuance of The Troublesome Creek series but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with details and depth. The plot and characters are easy to follow.It has faith, pride, survival, family, community values, midwifery, mountain people, twists, turns, family, melodrama, and trust. It brings back characters from the other Troublesome Creek books. This story actually goes between Copper, Lily, and Mandia.Copper, the midwife,mother, doctor of sorts to the mountain people, educator of the people toward health issues and above all the wife and mother of four children. Lily, Copper's eldest daughter, who is eleven, her father died several years earlier.Lily seeks adventure, loves her step father as her own, rescues animals, gets into serious trouble by rescuing injured animals, wants to go to visit her wealthy aunt by train, and is finally allowed to by her parents. She misses the train, which happens to have a horrific train wreck. Her family is not aware she didn't get on the train, but is kidnapped by a neighbor. Her mother, and step father go in search for her, soon learns she isn't there and get a search party going. Mandia, the hired girl for the Pelfrey family, wants to fall in love and have a family of her own, is attracted to a traveling singer, who is trouble. Mandia doesn't listen to want people try to tell her about this man. She soon learns her lesson the hard way and must face the consequences of her actions. You will see several of the characters are have been in the other Troublesome Creek books. Overall this is a well written story about about the era and living in the mountains of Kentucky. It is a good Christian read showing family and community values. If you enjoy sweet, easy to read, easy to follow the plot and characters and good Christian fiction you will enjoy this one.I would recommend this book, I have also read the others in the series,although this one does not bring the story of Troublesome Creek to an end, it leaves questions. Just as Copper is pregnant again, what happens to Lily and Mandia. This answers will probably be in the next installment. This book was received for review from Tyndale Fiction and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More.
Jennifer_Bonds More than 1 year ago
Still House Pond is about the life of a young girl, Lilly Gray Corbett, her mother, Copper, and their hired girl, Manda. The book preview tells of Lilly being invited to go visit her Aunt Alice in the city. The train crashes on the way and Copper goes to the scene in search of her daughter. This scene does happen in the book but the preview leads you to believe that this is what the book is about and I didn't find that to be the case. I did enjoy the book but felt a little bit mislead by the preview. Copper is a busy woman who helps with the births of babies in the community. Lilly is an eleven year old girl that helps take care of the younger children of the family. Lilly's birth father died when she was younger and her mother is now remarried with other children. Lilly has an aunt in the city that requests that she come to visit and sends the train ticket for her to come. Copper does not want to let her child venture out on her own but realizes that she is growing up and agrees to let her go. Manda is the hired girl that helps take care of the house chores. Manda is still a young girl that is trying to figure out her place in life and with love. She is just as much as a main character as Lilly. We go with Manda as she learns some valuable life lessons and that the effects of her actions ultimately affect others around her, something that took the endangerment of Lilly for her to learn. News of the train crashing sets everything into motion. The characters evaluate their actions and learn from their mistakes while trying to find Lilly. The unexpected twist was a nice surprise, only proving more that the things that we choose to do, whether good or bad, have an effect on other lives. This was the fifth novel by Jan Watson. She did a great job of showing her readers the lives of these women and the consequences of their choices. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it as a good read. Still House Pond was provided to me by Tyndale Publishers free of charge for review purposes only. The opinions expressed are my own and have not been influenced.
quilldancer More than 1 year ago
Jan Watson's writing style is absolutely charming. I very much enjoyed this story. It started out sweet and engaging and then slowly morphed into a can't-put-it-down, spell-binding read. This tale has an amazing set of twists and turns but each flows naturally into the other, pulling the reader along in their wake. When the tension was at it's greatest, I actually had to stop reading and remember to breathe! Still House Pond held my attention from beginning to end. Furthermore, I had no idea that this was book two in a series until I started looking for more books by this author. The story stands alone well. I highly recommend this book.
NCgramof2 More than 1 year ago
Having missed book 1 in this series I wasn't quite as pleased with this book. I think, had I read book 1, I would have enjoyed this one hundred percent more than I did. That being said, I didn't hate this book. It is one that has a powerful story line with characters that are created in a way that come to life when you read about them. The author writes with the strength and ability of a seasoned author who's hands are guided by God as she writes. I would defintely read more books by this author. I would also recommend this book to others, only if they have read book 1 in this series. I do plan to go back and read the first book in this series sometime in the near future, followed by this one again so I can enjoy this one more. ~Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review~ ~I do not receive financial compensation for any of my reviews. I do however from time to time receive complimentary review books to read and post HONEST reviews, positive and negative. The acceptance of a book does not guarantee a positive review.~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LovenGod More than 1 year ago
Lilly Corbett Gray, loves pretty things, and animals. Always on the lookout to rescue a hurting animal or to spring some evil traps, Lilly is a little girl with a big heart. However that rescue mode is what leads Lilly into the biggest mess of her life. Excited about her month long visit to her Aunt Alice in the city, she is anxious to go. Waiting for Manda the hired girl to finish her chores, and walk her to the coach, that will take her to the train, Lilly hears a dog who is hurting. Unable to leave it be, she goes to investigate and finds her neighbor throwing a sack of puppies into a pond, and the crying she heard was the mama dog frantic with worry for the pups. While rescuing the pups, the neighbor catches her and locks her up in a moonshine shed. Finding Lilly gone, Manda figures she just walked to the coach alone. And Manda has her own troubles, the no good middling man from the band at the barn dance, has tried to take advantage of her in the barn and has beat her up pretty good. Manda runs away to her sisters, not wanting anyone to see her like this. The train that was supposed to be taking Lilly to her aunts, has a horrible crash, killing and injuring many people and sending Lilly's family and friends into a frenzied panic of worry. Will they find Lilly in time? Will they discover she isn't on the train and find her in the shed? What will happen to Lilly Corbett Gray? This story, set in the late 1890's is a great story. I missed the first of the Copper series (this is number 2 in that series), but I totally loved these characters. Copper, Lilly's mother would be a woman I would love to have known, you could totally feel her character leap off the pages. I enjoyed the writing style and the story very much. A great afternoon read. Due to release from Tyndale in August 2010. 376 pages US $12.99 4 stars. This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review