×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Still Life with Husband
     

Still Life with Husband

3.3 13
by Lauren Fox
 

See All Formats & Editions

Meet Emily Ross, thirty years old, married to her college sweetheart, and personal advocate for cake at breakfast time.

Meet Emily's husband, Kevin, a sweet technical writer with a passion for small appliances and a teary weakness for Little Women.

Enter David, a sexy young reporter with longish floppy hair and the kind of face Emily feels the weird

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Still Life with Husband 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book until the ending. Thoughout the entire book, I felt like I was inside the main character's head. Which I love! I was invested in the main character and wanted to know more. The ending left me disappointed. I know it was meant to be 'symbolic' but, I am not that deep. I didn't get it! I wanted to know, 'What happened next!!!!' I would love a sequel!
EBarry More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up on the premise that it was going to be light reading, but it definitely had more drama to it, which was all right. I did like the characters and I thought they were finely done. The author is clever and I laughed sometimes at the conversations that were played out in the book. The only thing was I thought the ending was hurriedly done, and I was disappointed by it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The idea of this book is unusual: Our heroine has everything she could ask for perfect husband, security, faithfulness, etc. So what is the problem? HE wants to move to the suburbs and have a baby. Talk about the proverbial shoe on the other foot. Also, at the same time the wife in the picture meets a handsome and carefree editor. She admits she's married but that doesn't stop the affair. The end result is a mess, but happily, Fox has written so well that the situation comes off.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The plot moved quickly- there was never a boring moment in this book, never a passage or chapter to 'slog through' in order to get back to the action- I didn't want to put it down because I could never find a stopping place! Fox does an outstanding job of unapologetically revealing so many of those unspoken truths about relationships and marriage- her honesty and candor brought this book and all her characters to life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I kept waiting for soemthing to happen and when it did, it lacked drama. It just 'happened'. The ending left alot to be desired.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great new voice on the literary scene. I enjoyed the characters, the tension, and the book kept me up until I turned the last page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was pretty dark and depressing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
soniacm More than 1 year ago
This is a great read, I was hoping it was a light vacation novel, but it's not. It's warm and yet very real. The characters are developed in a great pace to provide a good bond with the readers. I enjoyed this novel so much I immediately went and picked up FRIENDS LIKE US.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
not great - started out cute and funny, then got depressing. and, then just ended abruptly. characters are not very likable and are not well-developed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book so much, but the ending was disappointing! I would've given it 5 stars if it weren't for the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago