×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Stir of Echoes
     

A Stir of Echoes

3.9 29
by Richard Matheson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Tom Wallace lived an ordinary life, until a chance event awakened psychic abilities he never knew he possessed. Now he's hearing the private thoughts of the people around him-and learning shocking secrets he never wanted to know. But as Tom's existence becomes a waking nightmare, even greater jolts are in store as he becomes the unwilling recipient of a compelling

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stir of Echoes 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Returning to his home in Hawthorne from working at the North American Aircraft plant in Inglewood, Tom Wallace sees the car of Philip, his brother-in-law a psych major at Berkley. That night Tom, his pregnant wife Anne and Phil go next door to attend a party. Phil offers to hypnotize any volunteers, but no one steps forward so he informs ¿brother man¿ that he is the chosen victim. Phil successfully hypnotizes Tom.---- That night while unable to sleep, Tom begins hearing voices of people he knows and impressions in his dead culminated with a ghost in his living room. Suddenly, Tom¿s middle class American dream lifestyle seems meaningless as the hypnosis has aroused psychic abilities that he never knew he had. He hears the intimate most confidential thoughts of those around him and learns secrets that shake his existence, but worse is the visits from the murder victim demanding he help her find her killer.---- This is a reprint of a 1950s thriller (and a one degree Bacon movie) that combines an amateur sleuth subplot within a fast-paced paranormal story line containing a ghostly element and psychic abilities. Tom is a terrific protagonist as readers observe the contrast between his lifestyle and his new ESP abilities. The support cast adds depth to Tom¿s travails as he tries to solve a homicide and regain his former existence without ¿hearing¿ the thoughts of others. Richard Matheson shows why he is one of the masters of the thriller genre as this ¿historical¿ piece ages nicely.---- Harriet Klausner
ColeJustify More than 1 year ago
This was one of my favorite movies because it was realistically scary compared to most other movies. So, I decided to check on here one day to see if a book was ever made out of this movie or vice verse. This is when I found out all about richard matheson and the fact most of his books were eventually turned into movies. Including my favorite all time movie "what dreams may come" (which I am currently reading right now), and the not so infamous movie "I am legend". This book was by far much better than the actual movie. Stir of echoes is one of the greatest books ever written, in my opinion. I also love the fact that most of Matheson's books are mostly under 300 pages which is all the more enticing to everyday readers who dont always have the chance to find the time and read. Anyways, the book is almost completely different and much better than an already great movie. Matheson is Mr. Original..
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Stir of Echoes' is a wonderful novel. The movie of the same title did it some justice, but the book is, as with most cases, better. It focuses on a man who has, after a hypnotic incident, the abiltiy to read thoughts and see things in the future. As it turns out, the precognition he possesses may just be his downfall. A real page turner. As with many Matheson books, it is a shorter book, making it an easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy a good ghost story and a mystery. Watch the movie version with Kevin Bacon. Somewhat different from the book but still good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dforman6 More than 1 year ago
Good book, as always, better than the movie. Kept me riveted
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
zvirgoz More than 1 year ago
Another great work by Matheson. I love how he keeps the suspense building so I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DeDeFlowers More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! I was a huge fan of the movie, so I figured I would give the book a shot. I knew Richard Matheson was a really influential writer, but I had never picked up one of his books. I'm so glad I did though! This novel is way different than the movie. It is not better or worse, just different. It was a super fast read and always fun. It was terrifying and thrilling. I could not put it down. It is hard to believe such a modern feeling book was written so long ago! I cannot wait to read more of Richard Matheson's stuff :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
The pairing of best-selling author Matheson and award winning narrator Brick is a formidable one. Together they have created a unique, chilling tale guaranteed to produce goose bumps and maybe even nightmares. For openers we hear: "The day it all started-a hot, August Saturday-I'd gotten off work a little after twelve. My name is Tom Wallace; I work in Publications at the North American Aircraft plant in Inglewood, California. We were living in Hawthorne, renting a two-bedroom tract house owned by one of our next-door neighbors, Mildred Santas." Tom sounds like an ordinary guy, doesn't he? Don't be deceived (remember Matheson's The Shrinking Man and his television work on The Twilight Zone?) Arriving home one day he finds that his brother-in-law, Phil, has come to visit. After supper their conversation turns to hypnotism with Phil claiming he can hypnotize Tom. At first Tom shies away from this and then agrees, saying, "What have I got to lose?" The answer to that is everything and more. Quite suddenly he begins to realize that he has psychic abilities, qualities he never imagined he possessed. He can hear the thoughts of other people and learns things he could have gone all his life without knowing. But, even more shocking is a message he receives from beyond the grave. Unimaginable events follow. Matheson's book is the inspiration for the popular film starring Kevin Bacon. Listening is even more pulse pounding than seeing - enjoy! - Gail Cooke
Anonymous More than 1 year ago