×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Stitch Me Deadly (Embroidery Mystery Series #2)
     

Stitch Me Deadly (Embroidery Mystery Series #2)

4.1 27
by Amanda Lee
 

See All Formats & Editions

Marcy Singer owns The Seven Year Stitch, an embroidery specialty shop in the small town of Tallulah Falls, Oregon. Trouble strikes when an elderly woman brings an antique piece of embroidery into the shop-and promptly dies of unnatural causes. Now Marcy has to stitch together clues to catch a crafty killer.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stitch Me Deadly 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
All my favorite characters are back in this second installment of the Seven Year Stitch embroidery shop mysteries.  Shop owner, Marcy Singer, has survived the investigation of a dead body in her new shop and is continuing to make friends in the small town of Tallulah Falls, Oregon.  She's still undecided about her feelings for  shop owner, Todd, or the handsome detective, Ted.  Her Hollywood costume designing mom is visiting too. All is going beautifully until an elderly lady comes into the Seven Year Stitch with an antique sampler, wanting to "find ivy ".  No sooner had she sat down and made her request, then she fell over, was taken to the hospital and died.  Now Marcy must get herself out of being a suspect in another murder .  This time she figures she must "follow the money" to see who benefits from this nice old lady's death.  She's sure that the sampler holds the solution to the crime. I really enjoy the needlework references, Marcy's Irish Wolfhound, and the interaction of Marcy and her two suitors, in these stories.  Especially interesting in these mysteries are the references to old movies and TV shows.  After all, the shop's name comes from a play on the movie, The Seven a Year Itch, and her shop's mascot is a full sized mannequin named, Jill, who looks just like the movie's star, Marilyn Monroe.  Especially fun in this book is Marcy's mom.  Good clues and a fun mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved and really enjoyed the first book. Just started on the second in the series. Light and enjoyable reading.
Michelle1948 More than 1 year ago
The "Embroidery Mystery" series is just wonderful to read. The main character Marcy, her friends and fellow business people and even the character of Marcy's mom are a true "find" in this wonderful mystery series. I have read #1 and #2 and have added #3 in the series to my "must read" book list. The murder mystery is interesting. The conversation between characters is well written. And there are good twists and turns within the story. It is a quick and smooth read. Very enjoyable!
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Marcy and her Irish wolfhound, Angus are making themselves right at home in Tallulah Falls, Oregon. She loves running the Seven Year Stitch, making new friends and reconnecting with her old friend Sadie. Things are going well until an elderly woman comes to the shop to ask for Marcy's help and shows her a wonderful, antique, embroidery sampler. Before she can tell Marcy anything about the sampler she dies suddenly of an apparent heart attack, right there in one of the chairs in the "sit and stitch" area of the store. It doesn't take long for the authorities to find out the elderly woman, Mrs. Ralston's, heart attack was caused by a very unnatural cause. She had been murdered. Marcy thinks the sampler holds the key to who and why this nice, sweet woman was killed. She also finds out a very tangled web of clues must be sorted out to solve this crime. I LOVED IT!!!!! Marcy has such a big heart, she can rarely say "no" to anyone and her character is wonderfully written as are all the other characters in this series. I feel like an invisible person perched in the "sit and stitch" area watching this story unraveling before my eyes. Every small town has a place like the Seven Year Stitch, a place where the local people go to catch up on gossip and find out what's happening with their friends, foes and neighbors. It may not be an embroidery store, maybe a local garage, tavern, coffee shop or bookstore, but a true gathering place. That is what makes this series and this book so relate-able. This story was a pure delight for me to read, making my brain work to untangle the mystery right along with Marcy. Holding my breath as she figures it out and putting herself in danger. Pages turning fast and furious to the very end. While these stories have a needlework theme, set in a beautiful town, they are for anyone who enjoys a good mystery. A story that touches all of your senses, from the feel of the floss and yarn, the view of the Oregon coast, the smell and the taste of the goodies from MacKenzies' Mochas, the sounds of the falling rain, it also engages your mind with the cleverly written mystery. This is a book that should definitely be on everyone's must read list. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Obsidian, a Division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good light read! I have already bought the next book in the series!
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
You know you found a good series, when you put aside the other book you're reading and just want to read the next book in this series. So yeah, one of my favorites so far in the series. And its only book 2. I couldn't put this down. I just kept reading, following along with Marcy as she and co try to solve the mystery. Though it seems this time she doesn't want to get involved. But at the same time can't help it since well, it happened at her shop...again. Also the hinted at love triangle, I kind of like but at the same time kind of don't. You like all three characters, Marcy, Ted and Todd but I feel there should be some communication there you know? Either way, I'm curious as to where it will go in the series. The mystery itself was also pretty good. Been in a cozy mystery kind of reading mood lately. Hope the next one is just as good as this and the first book.
Debb23 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I love the characters, Marcy is likeable and someone that I would like to hang out with. What really surprised me was how much I liked Marcy's mom. Other cozies that I have read, I usually find that I'm not too crazy about the mother, aunt, etc. but I totally enjoyed Marcy's mom, she' not overbearing, she backs off when she needs to but is there when needed. I did figure out the murderer pretty quickly and a couple of times I did think maybe I was wrong, but enjoyed the book so much that I really didn't mind that I figured it out too soon. I will continue on with this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable as usual.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CJ-MO More than 1 year ago
"Stitch Me Deadly" is An Embroidery Mystery, a follow up to "The Quick and the Thread". Marcy Singer has moved from San Francisco and is spending her first winter in the small town of Tallulah Falls, Oregon. She owns Seven Year Stitch, an embroidery specialty shop. Her best friend Sadie MacKenzie owns a nearby coffee shop and café. Another important character in the book is Marcy's mother Beverly, a movie industry costume designer who still lives in San Francisco, but visits Marcy often. The book opens on a rainy January day. Louisa Ralston, an elderly customer comes into Marcy's shop and shows her an antique embroidered sampler and then asks Marcy for help finding "ivy". Before Marcy can ask what she means, Mrs. Ralston collapses and doesn't recover. It's murder, and Marcy soon becomes a suspect. She begins her own investigation to clear her name. She also does some research to try to explain Mrs. Ralston's last words. "Stich Me Deadly" is quick, fun read with an interesting mystery. With the clues from the author, I was able to correctly guess the identity of the murderer, but not all the twists and turns the story takes. Therefore, the book was enjoyable and kept my interest until the very end. There were a couple of "loose threads" that weren't tied up at the end of the book, and that was a little frustrating. The strength of the book is the potential triangle between Marcy, Todd, and Ted. It's interesting and refreshing, since both seem to be truly nice guys and good matches for Marcy, unlike in some series when it's obvious to everyone but the heroine that one guy is by far the better choice. For the most part, I like the character of Marcy. She shows she is determined and brave enough to leave her hometown and start a business on her own in a new state. However, there are a few times when she seems immature. For example, from Marcy's early descriptions of her mother, I was expecting to meet a bossy, domineering woman. However, seeing Beverly in action with Marcy and other characters, I really admire her take-charge attitude. She supports her daughter in a loving way, without being too pushy, so Marcy's complaints about her mom seem like the exaggerated gripes of a teenager. Later in the book, Marcy appears either very naïve or very careless in her interactions with some of the characters on her short list of murder suspects. Meeting suspects alone and believing total strangers' stories about who they are without ever asking for an ID or business card is not wise when you're tracking down a murderer! The book is the most fun when Marcy is conducting the actual investigation. She often gets help from her mom or Ted, and either pair makes a good detecting duo. On the other hand, for someone who is supposed to be her best friend, I don't think Sadie is very supportive of Marcy. Sadie comes across as a bit childish, pouting because Marcy is interested in Ted along with Todd, Sadie's choice for her friend. I prefer Beverly or Ted as a partner for Marcy's investigations. Both Beverly and Ted seem to bring out the best in Marcy's detective skills and help to make this book a great choice for a rainy (or snowy) day inside. While this series is lighter in tone, fans of Debbie Macomber's Blossom Street series will enjoy "Stitch Me Deadly." This review was originally written for the "Season for Romance" E-Zine. The book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago